Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The beachfront location is superb. The villas are excellent, and very private. The staff not only provide outstanding service, but are some of the friendliest hotel staff that I have ever encountered !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by wanderluster from New York

A Piece of Paradise

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you want a getaway where you feel like you're far away from all of your worries, LaLuna will take you there. I'd recommend the deluxe cottages for privacy. The semi-detached ones are separated from the property by a small road, which is quiet and used by the property I believe. The food in the restaurant is hit and miss on some dishes, but the service is lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kim from san diego

Hawaii in the 40's

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband who was born and raised in Hawaii felt as if he was being transported back to his childhood. This hotel reminded him of Waikiki before it got so built up. The hotel staff is very friendly and it has a very family style to it. The rooms are beautiful bungalows each with beautiful views of the ocean. There is a wonderful restaurant walking distance on the beach from the hotel. The food at the hotel is good. The beach is wonderful. We will stay here again!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Evc from Nyc

Definitely not a four star hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Service is ridiculously slow. The concierge is not friendly or knowledgeable. The front desk told me they only clean their yoga mats once a month. Disgusting. Housekeeping left dirty glasses in our room. Many things around the hotel are in disrepair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eat, Pray and Love at Laluna

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Not sure you can find a better location than this.
Absolutely spectacular in every way...the ambience, the staff, the food....
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff is wonderful, and the food is very good! We would return another time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from london

a wonderful low-key luxurious treat!

Posted Dec 7, 2007
This is an expensive hotel, but for a couple of days at the end of our trip it was a fabulous treat. The cottages & beds are large and comfortable & the private verandas and plunge pools a lovely touch for a quiet evening in. My favourite part of the hotel was the palm-frond-covered bar area, with loads of big comfy day beds, where you can drink cocktails, play backgammon or any of the games they have there - or just lounge and read in the shade when the sun is too strong. It's right by both the pool and the beach, so you can flit between them all. Staff are very friendly and helpful without being overly 'in-your-face' or pushy / intrusive and the hotel overall is barefoot luxury at it's best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Donna-Marie from Stuttgart, AR

lovely hotel, but bring bug repellent!

Posted Aug 23, 2007
the hotel was beautiful, clean, restful and the staff were all very attentive and friendly. The rooms were all detached or semidetached villa. The view of the ocean and the landscaping was wonderful. My only complaints were the bumpy road and THE BUGS. The road to LaLuna was filled with craters from the many large onstruction vehicles that had damaged the road. Originally, the road was good. but when other surrounding properties weree developed, the road was damaged. Bus drivers will charge you extra to go to and from the hotel. The restaurant was also open allowing flies to enter so we had plenty of companions joining us for meals. The room was constructed to maximize exposure to the ocean breeze. This left the room clean-smelling and airy. But also allowed bugs to enter. I was bitten at night by mosquitos and something called sandflies that were tiny but voracious biters that left welts that itched like crazy. Don't get me wrong. I enjoyed the hotel stay. I just could have done without the bumpy road and all those bugs. Its a lovely place to relax on the porch or to go for a walk on the beach or a swim in the ocean. Just bring some bug spray or the staff will gladly provide some to you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Perfect for a couples getaway

Posted Jul 25, 2007
Laluna is a relaxing retreat on a small secluded beach it shares only with another restaurant. The grounds and cottages are well maintained and absolutely beautiful. The staff is awesome - they are happy to do whatever they can to make your experience a memorable one. If you are looking for a "white marble" resort this is not your place; however, if you want to get away from it all and just relax in beautiful surroundings while being taken care of by a small attentive staff then Laluna is for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Off season this place is a dream for couples

Posted Jul 30, 2006
The peace and tranquility, the food and service as well as tyhe beautiful private beach makes this a perfect romantic and restorative getaway.