Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Raina Yum from Singapore

Foreign Tourist unfriendly

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Their breakfast and dinner buffet are good but no daily variation.
Cons: Improve on the experiences describe above.
Location: It's next to the main water stream and walk along the direction of this stream can lead you to the Hakone Yomoto Station, it is a 15 to 20 mins walk.
Hotel staff can hardly understand simple English. All TV channels are cater for their local Japanese. Tourist information brochures in hotel are all in Japanese. Most hotel provide free shuttle and this hotel doesn't. The only public bus transport (100 yen fare) to and from hotel is always fully pack, we tried and could never get on to it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by WL from SG

spacious room and accessible outdoor onsen

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The outdoor onsen in sister hotel - Yunosato Onsen is very nice, 3min walk away and unlimited visits to the onsens included in the room price. Although the hotel is only accessible by shuttle service (100yen one-way) from Yumoto station, there are accessible restaurants at the hotel and Yunosato Onsen. The room is spacious with ample space for family get together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from San Francisco, CA

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our family, parents and one 13 yr. old son, very much enjoyed our stay at Hotel Okada, it was a great Japanese immersion experience for my son and husband who were traveling for the first time to Japan. We stayed in a tatami room, with private outdoor soaking tub and slept on futons which were extremely comfortable. We also ordered the in-room Kaiseki dinner, which was very good. The onsen in the hotel next door was very nice, which was free to patrons of Hotel Okada. I would agree the Hotel could use a little freshening, but for the price we all thought it was a very good experience. The Hotel is about a 5 minute taxi ride from the train station and cost appr. 1,000 yen ($10), there was also a shuttle for 100 yen ($1). Overall a great experience. The staff was extremely courteous, two thumbs up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lin from Fremont, CA

The dinner wasn't very impressive

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff was very friendly, our room was very clean and comfortable. The only thing we were disappointed was our dinner which was not very tasty. It was only so so. I would skip the dinner next time and just pay for the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ckk from Hawaii

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel location is a bit out of the way but the 100 Yen shuttle service just outside of the train station makes it more reasonable. Hotel Okada allows you to also use the Onsen and Steam room in the next hotel which gives you a larger variety of onsens to enjoy. The Shiseido shampoo and other bath products were great. We also went to an onsen in Hakone, and this hotel and their onsen was much better. We did not eat the food provided by the hotel but was able to get a reasonable priced meal at the ramen shop in the basement. The hotel is a little older but we enjoyed our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MintD from Ko Pha-ngan, Thailand

Comfortable room with delicioius meals

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Onsen
Cons: dated rooms
Location: Easy access with the Ryokan bus route A starting from the Hakone Yamoto station for 100 yen per person.
Our rooms were the Japanese style rooms, which were lovely and clean. It was slightly dated, otherwise it is ok. Public bath or private baht facilities are vailable and at very reasonable price (only private bath has fee). Breakfasts and dinners was delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good Japanese experience

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Okada is an onsen hotel. Although the hotel is not accessible, there is a 100 yen shuttle bus service which picks up guests from Hakone station. The room we got was a traditional and quaint japanese room. They helped to lay the futon while we were in the Onsen. The stay at the hotel made the day trip to Hakone a pleasant one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by TJ from Ontario

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is great. We would fully recommend it. We stayed at a Japanese style room, which is quite an experience. The facility looks a bit old, but very clean and quite comfortable. If there is anything to complain about would be the food. The buffet for breakfast and dinner is not as tasty as we would have expected, though the variety is quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Teresa from US

Go for the onsen after seeing Mt Fuji

Posted Jun 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is older but we had nice views from our room and we really enjoyed the out-door onsen (Yunosato Spa) located in the next building. There's also an indoor onsen within the hotel which has better amenities such as Shisheido shampoo/conditioner, foot scrubber that is also worth checking out but the other Spa has more variety to their pools. I also liked that the room was spacious and gave us the choice of sleeping on tatami mats or on western beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ezer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com