Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by MG from Seoul

Know What You're Getting

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Aside from the discolored water (which is still clean for bathing) the bathroom was very nice and until another guest checked in, we had good wifi.
Cons: 1. Install ceiling fans 2. Provide a dehumidifier 3. Install some sort of light blocking window covering system maybe Roman shades/curtains
Location: Stay in Kona and just book a day trip to the Volcanoes. Hilo is boring and depressing. The town of Volcano only has a couple of restaurants.
Contrary to all of the favorable reviews/experiences, we were very disappointed with At the Crater's Edge. First of all, the location is essentially rural and residential, approximately 27 miles from Hilo. They only offer 2 rooms. The one we were given faces the dirt/unpaved circle driveway. The room is essentially a glorified gazebo with 50% of it full length sliding glass doors/windows. The can be seen in the pictures, however, only a couple panels of the curtains actually block any light, the rest are sheers. There are no blinds or shades or anything to actually block sunlight. So plan on waking at sunrise. The rooms have no air conditioners, and admittedly, even in June, it remained cooler than I expected. However, there is no ceiling fan or any way to circulate the air, or pull in cool breezes. Upon requesting one, we were given a small (desktop) electric fan which did help. Perhaps the biggest problem with this place is the barking dogs. Because this is in a rural, residential area....apparently people need guard dogs. They seem to bark (or cry) all the time and it is much more noticeable when the doors are open which is necessary to bring in any cool outside air. I think they tried really hard to (as apparently many of the locals have begun doing) convert a house into some sort of a lodge, but they just fall short. Some of the shortcomings are outside of their control (their neighbors' dogs) but other are things they could and should do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by N. from San Francisco

Peaceful Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Location: Volcano national park
Very peaceful BnB hotel). About 3-4 miles from the Volcano city center and the park. Surrounded by tropical vegetation and a wrap around deck to enjoy the peace. Cold cereals and coffee etc. available. No services and except for a brief interaction with the caretaker (?) on the logistics, no other human interactions. Great for getting away from the city hubbub, but not so great if you feel hungry and need quick gratification.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david h

interesting place to stay

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: I got to relax a bit
Cons: Fix the jacuzzi
Location: The Volcano and Orchid Farm seemed just about all to do
I was relaxed. I was a bit shocked that there were only 2 rooms and they made it to Expedia.. I would go again The extra food and beverages included in your room price was very appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ES from Houston

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jane from Wisconsin

Luxurious!

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was peaceful, quiet, beautiful, very comfortable and the perfect spot. We would have like better directions for the fireplace as it was cool and wet during our stay. But we figured it out. We needed a crib and they went out and bought one for us! In the morning there was homemade banana bread and fresh fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by The Klipps from Key West, Florida

A real Gem

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay in the relaxing, comfortable Craters Edge. I wasn't sure what to expect for a small Inn with only two rooms but our place was gorgeously designed and decorated. It was fully stocked with fresh fruit, baked goods and a mini-fridge with juices, milk etc. A coffee maker and microwave was all we needed. I loved waking up to the beauty and sounds of paradise. It felt very private as we looked out our floor to ceiling glass doors. And I loved that they are so eco conscience. Bonus was being near the Volcano and surrounding hikes. Highly recommend this place for a Volcano visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AJ from Delray Beach, FL

Welcoming Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Volcano

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Location was great if you plan on making the volcano park a core part of the experience. The room was cosy, lots of windows and a very comfy bed.
Cons: We had issues with intermittent hot water. The onsite property manager switched out the showerhead which helped, but didn't solve the issue completely
Location: Volcano National Park (obviously), Lava Rock Cafe, Volcano Winery (go early morning and ask for a tour) local art galleries and a black sand beach.
At the Crater's Edge was a great little B&B at the outskirts of volcano national park. The property is lush and private with only a few beautiful rooms. It was easy to find after our arrival in Hilo. The Nahelelani room was beautiful and clean and had two full walls of windows that provided a great view of the landscaping. Overall I was very impressed. As others have noted, there isn't really a "breakfast" at this B&B other than some fruit, cheese and cereal... but for us that was enough. Good to know: All water comes from treated rain water and is heated on demand. We were only able to get hot water in the shower rarely at first and intermittently after the property manager switched out the showerhead. Also, cell phone reception is poor and the wifi was slow and cut out often. Be prepared to be off the grid!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David from NYC

Great room and location

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location for visiting Volcano National Park. Beautiful room, surrounded by nature (felt like we were in the middle of a rain forest) made for a memorable stay. Jay/Jason provided useful information on surrounding area, sights, restaurants, things to do. Loved using the jacuzzi. Available internet access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from iowa

Jungle Oasis

Posted Jul 2, 2013
The b&b is in the middle of the rainforest just 5 minutes from Volcano National Park. You get smacks and goodies as part of the stay that include fresh bread, fruit, and juices. Very nice room. The bed is comfortable. I cannot stress enough how nice this facility is. You also get usage to a hot tub and sauna, as well as whirlpool tub in the room.