Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great hotel but room types a little misleading

Posted Jul 20, 2014
So the hotel is beautiful and amazing. My one issue was selecting the room. I decided to upgrade to the Ocean View room instead of the Partial Ocean View room. Well the Ocean View room only has a partial ocean view...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Service, attention to fetal, the site.
Location: Snorkeling, swimming. 45 min car ride from Kona. Close to Hapuna Beach.
Enjoyed the service, the room, the facilities. Good snorkelling for the kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First rate experience

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Just wonderful. Staff are incredibly friendly. Must be among the best in Hawaii
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

A piece of paradise

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Our first trip to Kona and the Fairmont and it will not be our last. Everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. We ate at all of the restaurants except the sushi bar. The snorkeling bay was a lot of fun. Our room was a partial view of ocean and it was an awesome view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but it'll cost you!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
This hotel is nice, I don't have a comparison on the Big Island, but I travel a lot and my assessment of this hotel is that it's nice but overpriced. The good: It's right on the beach, has a nice pool, friendly staff. The not-so-good: It's dining is overpriced for the quality of food, they charge a daily "amenities" fee for being on the resort, they charge a daily parking fee. If I go again, I'd likely do a condo rental and skip the resort scene
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bakersfield ca

Awesome resort with plenty to do.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
This was an amazing resort. The grounds were beautiful to wake up to every morning. My 2 boys ages (10 and 8) enjoyed the pool and activites offered at the private beach. I would definitely recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

nice hotel with nice facility

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Location: The hotel is pretty far away from all the attractions.
I didn't really stay in the hotel. The pool was 24 hour heated which was nice. The private beach was okay, going to other beach (eg. Kona) was much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TT from Alexandria, va

Quiet, comfortable and classy

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Great recent stay at the Fairmont Orchid! The staff went above and beyond to make our time there special. The beach was quiet and didn't feel crowded at all. Highly recommend the cabanas! Dinner at Norio's and Brown's was fantastic -- as a matter of fact everything we ate and drank during our stay was delicious. We can't wait to try other Fairmont resorts, or come back to the Orchid!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2014 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Aloha TT, thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel with beautiful beach and pool

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: large rooms, elegant bathrooms, even the garden view room had a great view!
Cons: Needs no improvement
Location: Definitely need a rental car since you're limited to the resort without one, Kona is a must-visit, and Wamea valley is awesome to see. Avoid Hilo.
Spent a week here with my wife and daughter, the website does not do this hotel justice. Gorgeous uncrowded beach and huge pool, friendly staff, excellent food (it's pricey though!). We will return to this one!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Fairmont Orchid, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review! We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Newark, CA

Very nice hotel with a great staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
This was our third trip here and we still love the place. Friendly staff, comfortable accommodations, and great food. There are activities to take advantage of on the property. No complaints about this place from us!