Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville

Our First B&B experience

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was lovely, décor was very nice as well, service was very good.
Cons: Pillows - perhaps a variety kept in the closet?
Location: We were close to Lunenburg, Mahone Bay (very special) and Peggy's Cove a 45 minute drive and great ways to spend time in the area.
This was our first B&B. The room was smaller than I expected with no comfortable chairs to sit in. The room had a double bed instead of a queen size (misread full size to mean queen - my mistake). The bed and pillows were too soft for my husband ( a more demanding sleeper than me) but I found the bed fine but the pillows lacking. The bathroom was well appointed if a bit on the small size. It was very clean and the towels were changed each day and everything cleaned. The breakfast was simple but very tasty. Homemade granola, yogurt and bagels and toast were very good. We had omelets made for us each morning - very nice. Overall a very pleasant, welcoming place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from Riverview n.b.

Service and food was excellent

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
28 th wedding anniversary. Treated the very best. Good and service was awsome. Would recommend and return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEMPE, ARIZONA

Excellent place to stay and relax ; not for dining

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The room was lovely overlooking St Margarets Bay. The rose petals in the tub were unexpected. Tea and coffee ready after our beach walk was great!
Cons: The food and food service.
Location: On St Margarets bay. Beach walks. Swimming in the summer, view of the bay.
Natalie was a very gracious hostess. Our room was spotless,beautiful and comfortable.The romance package was all we expected with exception to dinner and breakfast. Our dinner sounded delicious yet the steak was smothered in A-1 sauce, and not a good cut ; the vegetables were frozen and not warm and the clam chowder was runny and lacked in clams. The desserts were really bad take offs on what could have been great( Bread pudding and pumpkin Cheesecake) Our server was a nice young man but lacking in service etiquette. The granola for breakfast was tasty. They ran out of coffee quite often . And the eggs were runny and strange. Yet our bed and room were wonderful. I highly recommend a stay here. Yet, maybe choose dining elsewhere. The views are stunning and the dining atmosphere highly romantic. Also we were supposed to have free cable/ netflix, It never worked, It wanted to charge us money and there was no way to contact the front desk! Teresa and Michael
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by june

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marilyn from Canada

A very nice room.

Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
A very nice older room but in very good shape. Victorian style with exquisite furnishings. The staff was extremely helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakville, On.

pretty spot, tired hotel.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: the view
Cons: everything but the view.
From the excellent rating on Expedia we expected much better but instead were very disappointed. this is a very old property with very old furnishings and bedding, (spring bed). We booked two nights but left after the first night even though it was already paid for. you really need to re-rate this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint John

Nice old house

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We spent the first of our two nights in the Peggy's Cove area there. Nicely-decorated room, whirlpool tub, Netflix on the TV. Friendly staff. Breakfast is lacking though. Yogurt and granola were out, and we were offered omelettes, which we accepted. Minutes later, out comes these flat little folded egg things, served by a young man that obviously didn't want to be there (innkeeper's son?). So: nice room, weird breakfast experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, bathtub.
Location: Right by the beach, didn't explore the town at all.
Old, antique charm. Good location. My favourite part was the jacuzzi tub! Hard to find through GPS though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by heidi from london uk

Lovely old building opposite the beach.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness and staff.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in room but this is an old building so may not be appropriate here.
Location: Ryers Lobster at Indian point is a must. The Trelis cafe has music some even ins and offers good food. Peggy's Cove was a favourite of ours.
What a lovely stay we have just had. We pretty much had the place to ourselves at first as it was before the beginning of the season. The staff here are so kind and friendly we could not have asked for more. We were greeted most nights when we came back and offered tea and coffee. We stayed in the "Butter cup" room which was purfect for us with views across to the beach. You can here the waves gently lulling you to sleep each night. The Surf side Inn is close to the light house route and Halifax so was a great base for us. We really were sad to leave!