Ratings based on 1,247 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Nice Hotel in peaceful location

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: I liked the location. Very peaceful and the staff were friendly and helpful. I also liked the price, not very expensive. Also had free wi-fi.
Cons: I didn't like the idea of my passport being photocopied. I was reassured that all copies of IDs were shredded and it was Secaucus' law to copy the ID
Location: One bus, 20 minutes ride to Manhattan to go to theatre, Time square, touring the city etc.
Arrived early and checking in was quick and easy. Staff were very nice and helpful. Had minor problem with the in- room safe and maintenance came right away and fixed the simple problem. The landscaping was well kept. Loved the scenery at the back of the hotel at the waterside with the boats and a view of the city bridge. Park benches, gazebo and a small BBQ area made it a plus for me and my children. The room was clean and had microwave and fridge. A few places to eat across the street including Wendy's and Subway sandwiches and a 24 hr convenience store nearby that has almost every food item in stock. Travelling to Time square and Port Authority bus station was easy. Had to take only one express bus which stops in front of hotel on weekdays and on the week-ends a quick 10 min walk to the non-express bus stop. Stayed Sat to Mon. Overall, we it was a pleasant stay in a quiet neighborhood. I will definitely stay there again. The New Jersey Transit bus drivers were very courteous and extra helpful, recognizing that we were tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Surprisingly close

Posted May 16, 2015
Cons: Mandatory charge for the safe Better directions from highway both from the east (NYC) and the west (PA). Exact highway sign language should be inc.
I wanted to both go to an event in New Jersey and the next day go in to the city. It worked, although I'd recommend to the motel that it make very clear the exact exits to get off the highway - I went past it once. This motel is basic Motel 6 quality - what makes it special is the value. The evening staff was very pleasant. As was the morning staff, including more people. the best part of the experience. One warning. Management puts a charge automatically on each bill for the use of the safe even if not used. It is a hassle to get the couple bucks back. I recommend you stay here but, if you get the same charge, post a review about it. Perhaps management will listen.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh

Posted May 13, 2015
Slow reception staff. Room facilities were not perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hertfordshire, UK

Very nice hotel close to New York

Posted May 12, 2015
I stayed at Red Roofs for two weeks and it was a really pleasant stay. The rooms are very clean with a nice comfortable bed. Good quality cotton bed linen and clean fresh towels. clean room and helpful friendly housekeepers. There is also complimentary coffee in the reception area. There is a bus into New York City that leaves from just outside the hotel. also there are a couple of eateries across the road.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we expected to get.

Posted May 12, 2015
For a plus hotel, we did not get what was stated on expedia. In the listing for the room, it said "stadium view", there wasn't a stadium even close by. There was supposed to be a refrigerator and microwave in the room, there wasn't one. And to top it off, the bedspread on the bed was stained. When brought to the managers attention, he said, "it's not dirty, it's just stained". A staff member came to the door with another bedspread, it was stained too, when brought to her attention, she gave the exact same response, "it's not dirty, its just stained. Are they trained to say that??? The staff was nice, but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. When you pay over a hundred dollars a night for a room, it should at very least, not have stained linens.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2015
La camera che ci hanno assegnato era con coperte sporche e puzzava. Abbiamo chiesto di cambiarla e la situazione è solo parzialmente migliorata. Più che un Hotel un Motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Much better than expected . Close to NYC

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: location- staff - free parking- rooms
Location: Wendy's,subway and Dunkin donuts across the street.
Location Location location. As many other reviewers mentioned, the proximity to NYC is a huge thing . You can take a 20 min bus (129) and you will arrive at Port Authority bus terminal near Times Square. The NJ bus route 129 departs from in from of the hotel (until 9 AM ) or you have to take a 5 min walk after that to the Bus Stop. if you chose to rent a car (don't recommend if you are doing NY ) , they have free parking and the hotel is 1 minute off NJ turnpike. In addition to that, I was actually pleasantly surprised with how nice the room was . The room was clean and well furnished . The staff was really helpful. I would definitely recommend going there if you want an affordable accommodations near NYC .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice cost effective hotel .

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Cost effective accommodations for a simple stay, the hotel imposes a mandatory $2 daily fee just for having access to a safe in the room whether you choose to use it or not. You must tell them to take it off the bill at check out or the fee will remain charged on your card. Coffee available In the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice place to stay instead of NYC

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The floors in the rooms impressed me - they were not carpet so gave a clean feeling to the room
Cons: The sink & tub stoppers didn't work - but not a big deal to us.
Location: Close to bus stops. Subway was across the street.
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus was a great place to stay if you are going into NYC and don't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel. It wasn't the "best of the best" of hotels but it was bestfor the price! It was CLEAN, very pleasant and helpful staff, beds were very comfortable and had really nice pillows! I was really impressed with the floors - they were wood looking instead of carpet....really gave a clean feeling to the room! There are buses that will take you to the city that stop in front of the hotel before 9 am or you can get a bus about 2 blocks down after 9.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Va

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Got what I paid for.Need better pillows,wash clothe had stain on it. Nice TV. Friendly staff.Need brighter lights. Nice location.Close to New York where we were visiting.