Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Anon

Didn't stay long!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: cleanliness hygiene
Location: Good views, and not far from the old city
After checking in I found my room to be very dusty. The whole Hotel seems very tired and in need of modernisation. After finding a cockroach in my bathroom, I decided that it wasn't the hotel for me!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariafe from Lima, Peru

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Very well located, walking distance from Jaffa gate. Very nice view from the hotel. Staff was always very helpful. Limited food menu but many good restaurants close to the hotel. Very recommendable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the old city of Jerusalem

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the old city
Location: Good restaurants at the train station and don't forget to visit the story of the cable car inside the hotel.
Historic hotel near the Jaffa and Zion gates at the old city. It is also near the old train station that has been converted into a nice area for dinning and some shopping. The hotel has a number of landmarks including the cable car that was used to supply the Israeli settlers prior to the 1967 war.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fritzie from New York

Perfect location and atmosphere

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, high quality furnishings, professional staff, good food.
Cons: Their spa could offer more services such as facials and pedicures for women.
Location: Memila shopping area, Old City Jerusalem, municipal gardens and parks.
Within walking distance of Old City, parks, and nice shopping area. The view from hotel was awesome. We especially loved relaxing in the hamam steam room in the evening. Every staff member was courteous and attentive. This hotel offers the perfect combination of old world atmosphere and contemporary convenience. We loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

recommended

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the convenience of this hotel to the Jaffa gate. Amazing buffet breakfasts offered a wonderful way to start the day. A view room is essential, otherwise you might be in a cave-like room. Beds are needing upgrade. We were moved from a garden-view room to a room with a magnfificent view. Both had two single beds placed together. Not making for the best romantic or comfort scenario. The mattress covers were plastic line, which if you're a princess and the pea sleeper you'd remove. It's time they replaced better beds and mattresses and joined the rest of the world for bedding comfort. Still and all, we enjoyed our stay. Service was efficient, but I couldn't understand why the staff at the desk was so helpful but never smiling or welcoming in anything other than efficiency more akin to border guards. Only thing missing from the front desk were smiles. Maybe they were just overworked. Everyone else seemed to be much softer in their manner. If you're looking for 4 seasons attitude, this isn't the place, but I can sure recommend it for ease, efficiency, location and an unrivaled breakfast. If you're in your room too long you're not doing Jerusalem justice, so get past the 1960s dorm-like basics in the room decor and get the real magic. My wife and I like comfort in hotels, and sould stay there again without hesitation, but it would be nice if they would upgrade the room just a bit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Hannan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The majority of rooms are equipped with two beds but if you request a double bed when makeing your reservation we shall do our utmost to oblige.,We were, pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and would gladly return therefore please note that from March 2014 our rooms will have been renovated, the beds upgraded and the soft furnishings replaced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from US

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast buffet
Cons: Old and rundown room.
Location: Old City very close. 15 minute walk to the Jaffa gate.
Deluxe room was not very deluxe. Very plain and more like a Motel 6 in the US. Very good breakfast buffet! Staff was straining to be polite. The only thing that made this hotel worth the $400 per night was the location. We could walk to everywhere in the Old City. If you don't plan to walk everywhere and don't need to be very close, don't stay here. Go somewhere nicer and worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice to have a suite for our two kids. Nice hotel. Great service. Don't forget to visit the free cable car museum in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Orville/Gloria Brown from USA

Perfect location

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jerusalem. It's close to all the major attractions and within walking distance to the Old City. The staff was excellent and very helpful with setting us up with tours, etc. The room was clean and comfortable. And the bathroom had a nice vanity and consistent hot water and water pressure? The hotel food was also delicious. Go see for yourself .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Israel

warm and beautifful place

Posted Dec 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location - within walking distance to sites

Posted Dec 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only problem was that the air con wasn't working