Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Fantastic accommodations.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Great location and unit.
Location: Our last day, we saw a Hawaiian Monk seal resting on the beach in front of the complex.
The 2 bedroom unit is very spacious. It essentially has 2 master bedrooms. Our mountain view was very nice. The kitchen has granite countertops, a Subzero fridge and fully stocked cabinets. They provide dish and dishwasher detergent, but not laundry detergent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, good location.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Cons: The sofa bed was pretty rough.
Close to the beach, but not a swimming/surfing beach. Close to Kapa'a and lots of good dining and shops. Halfway between the north shore interests (Garden Island Chocolate tour), the south (Kaua'i museum), and west (Waimea Canyon).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auburn, ca

We had a garden room which was very spacious

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The location was central to visiting all the parts of the island. The concierge person was excellent
Cons: Now one was there to register us as we arrived at 8 P.M. We had to wait till someone showed up.
Location: Surf lessons. Local grocery stores. Various restaurants. Paddle boarding. Hiking. Etc.
The room could use instructions on how to operate the appliances. i.e. washing machine, fans, televisions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adb from Vancouver

One of the best options on the East Coast of Kauai

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Clean and with everything you'll need to spend some time on a home away from your home.
Location: Across the street from Safeway, just buy a steak and throw it on the bbq. Don't start dreaming on that beer after 11 PM...you're not going to get it.
Everything here looks like condo show-rooms from the golden years of real estate boom (early 2000's) with marble counter-tops, huge bathrooms, super nice/oversized appliances and a big lanai. The swimming pool is great for kids, even for infants (the one with sand). I've spent lots of time in the hot tubs as the kids were hunting for colored sand. If you'd like to be close to a big sandy beach...well, look further 'cause their private beach is quite small. Kealia Beach is close, but you'll need a car for that (or a bike). If you like biking try to go on Ke Ala Hele Makalae path, you'll love it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JC from Gurnee, IL

Great and pleasant surprise in Kauai

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The upscale suite and kitchen appliances.
Cons: After hours check-in personnel should be on-site.
Location: Kapaa is beautiful and plenty of restaurants.
Great resort. Beautiful suite with an upscale kitchen! Absolutely would stay again. Fantastic pool. Beach area is average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brad from Port St Lucie Fl

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely beautiful property all around.
2 out of 5
by Patrick from WA, USA

Bored and felt unwelcome.

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Nice appliances, thick doors, got a view upgrade by default. The staff at the independently operated restaurant was pleasant.
Cons: Very little about this place felt like the welcome mat was out. Mostly, I felt like they were ready for us to leave as soon as we arrived.
Location: Beach viewing. Kids pool with slides. Shops within a mile. Safeway and Starbucks across the street. No other real recreation here.
Booked reservation months prior. We arrived most of an hour after check in time, and were turned away. "We don't have a room for you yet. We'll call you when we do". Since we were here, I asked if we could just tour the grounds while we waited. The clerk seemed a little put out by this, but gave me the gate codes, which ultimately didn't work anyway. They got a room cleaned for us which happened to give us a better view than I expected, however someone else's laundry was still in the room and the fridge had some small spills and lots of fingerprints. The staff complained to me that the previous tenant had been in there a month. The toilets barely flushed, but otherwise the appliances were nice and seemed higher end. Our door code apparently was voided out on the second day, so I had to return to reception to get a third door code in two days. The pool is probably wonderful for children with it's shallow trail design. The hot tubs looked pretty knarly by the end of the day so we didn't use them. The beaches were kinda neat and there were manmade wave breaks right out front. A monk seal turned up for a snooze overnight which they were nice enough to partition off from tourists. On our check out they said the cleaning fee I was first given was for a smaller room, and since we got a bigger room, I owed more now. Bottom line is, we got bored here pretty quick, and were frustrated by the service. Raincloud on an anniversary trip. We switched resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ventura, California

Excellent Choice for Family

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
One of the better options for travelers with family on Kauai. Nice size, clean, relatively new, comfortable condo's with washer/dryer combo and large kitchen. We stayed in 2-bedroom/2-bath condo on corner 1st floor with garden, pool and even a part ocean view (which was not expected). Very nice pool facility with slides, river, waterfalls and adjacent restaurant / bar. Separate Gym building was well apportioned with new exercise machines, plenty of natural light with glass panels overlooking pool area. Safeway is literally across the street. Saved hundreds of dollars by cooking meals instead of eating out. Applied the savings on Helicopter ride for family over island and a Luau. Beach in front of the hotel and for that matter most of East Coast is not best for swimming. That said, Lyndgate park beach is just a few minute drive south and has a protected lagoon and great for kids. Central Kapaa location makes it a perfect spot for traveling north or south as well as Lihue area waterfalls, airport, museum, luau etc. We couldn't decide whether to stay south or north and ended up compromising in the middle. It was an excellent choice. Only major negative is the resort fee which is not stated at check-in and was rather excessive considering no maid service and the property is not technically a resort. Overall, Outrigger Waipouli is good value for money and we highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Spencer from Seattle WA

Run down hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Location: The location is bad too (always cloudy&rain when Poipu beach Kauai just a few miles away but sunny every day.
We arrived at 11:00 pm, the carpets has lots noticeable thick dust and the shower handles were very dirty (I took pictures). It's late and too much trouble to ask to change room the next day. The whole pools area are always full of screaming kids and we never have a chance to use it. This place looked about 10 yrs older & dirtier than the pictures you see on their website. Never again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Miki Dimitrios from San Jose, CA

Convenient location

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved our stay at Outrigger Waipouli in Kauai.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2014 by Gregg, Hotel Management
Aloha The staff & I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this review and we hope to see you back on Kauai soon! Gregg Enright GM