Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
First time to this resort and Hawaii would returnPosted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms, Hospitality and staff. Grounds kept very nice
Cons: Parking up hill some what limited depending time coming into hotel or rooms
Location: Plenty to do in kuiai Visit North shore, Queens bath, or Wiamei view , took chopper ride the best
Over and above for all rooms, pools, fun activities and view..Very Clean we stayed in remodeled area and nice, although construction going on it is well hid and quite. Didn't notice.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler from San Diego
Air conditionerPosted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: Great location and staff
Cons: Air conditioner in all of the bed rooms
We were over all happy with the stay, great location, and staff was very helpful as well. We had issues with air conditioner, only one bedroom had air conditioner other not.
for Everyoneby Sabrina from Ventura, CA
Awesome Condo on the beachPosted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: location, staff assistance, and amenities
Cons: Updating of the appliances or the outside of the building but other than that really nice.
Location: Located in Poipu you can go to Shipwreck beach, Koloa old town for shopping, or Spouting horn. Also, not a bad drive to Lihue for the airport.
Went for a family trip and would say that is was everything and more that I expected for a condo. The staff were exceptional as we arrived earlier than checkin but they were still willing to take our luggage and groceries to the condo while we waited. Good location and facilities, ie. the barbecues, pool, and proximity to shopping was fantastic.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Nice hotel close to the beachPosted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: The kitchen allowed me to save a lot of money by eating in since I took my four teenagers. Comfy bed, ocean view and A/C!
Cons: The tile in the outdoor hallways is slippery when wet. Also, was roomed next to ongoing construction they are undergoing.
Location: Close to snorkeling, restaurants, rental equipment, grocery store, luau, etc.
We had a nice time at this condominium along with four teenagers. The kitchen was kind of small although it was very cost effective. Bought groceries at the Big Save grocery store in Koloa. Although there is a Walmart in Lihue it is an old style Walmart with not a good selection of groceries. Snorkeling rentals $9 and boogie boards $5. Hiked Waimea Canyon $FREE. I spent most of my money on the guided tours, however, the tour guides can provide you a lot of information on the area. If I could do it again I would start with a tour. The tubing tour through the sugar cane plantation was cool. The guides are awesome and helpful. There is also a Luau at the Grand Hyatt next to this condominium. Very nice and walking distance especially handy after all the mai tais. This place will also ask you to participate in the time share presentation for a substantial discount with the Laua and Tours. I saved $300 for 90 minutes of my life I will never get back. However, I saw a travel service at a flea market in Kapaa that was giving out some heavy discounts. You weigh it out. Spouting Horn also has a nice small flea market. Good deals on handcrafted jewelry. Good Luck!
by Lynn from Santa Barbara
DisappointedPosted May 12, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful
Cons: The internet service
Location: It was a beautiful location. We visited Koloa town and the beach, went to dinner at the Hyatt, Tidepools resaurant
We were looking forward so much to our vacation. The grounds were beautiful. When we were assigned our room we were very disappointed. We were located far from pool and lobby and the room didn't have air conditioning in the living room. We asked to be moved an were assigned another room that was in a much better location but they couldn't move us until the next day and we had to be out of the room all day. They did move our stuff for us which was nice. The biggest problem with our stay is that we were told there was high speed internet. We kept being dropped from the internet, spoke with maintenance and technical support several times until finally we were told they couldn't help us.We ended up having to use a hot spot device which ended up costing us $375 in usage fees.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. While we are pleased our beautiful grounds and prime location proved worthy of your appreciation, we are extremely concerned to note your dissatisfaction in the air conditioning functionality in your room and apologize if this opportunity had a negative impact on your stay. We appreciate your making me us aware of the situation during your stay and thank you for sparing your time in sharing this feedback with us here. In regards to Wi-Fi: We work closely with our internet provider in monitoring and diagnostic testing to ensure that internet service is in working order. It is unfortunate that we were unsuccessful in providing you the service that you needed. A follow up will be made to ensure that all areas of support and resolution were exhausted. We hope that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and hope to see you back for another visit in the future.
for Everyoneby Gary from Southern Oregon
Great location!Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: It is well-maintained, has great views and is run by a professional and very friendly staff.
Cons: Very little, if anything.
Location: South portion of island, Poipu and Koloa, Spouting Horn and waterfalls galore.
Although this property IS a "Timeshare Condo" resort, once checking in and opting to NOT view the usual 90 minute "presentation", absolutely NO sales pressure was applied either to myself or the rest of my party of 6, occupying three separate units. Check-in was smooth and friendly and the units were clean and bright. During our April stay the resort was NOT at capacity, and unlike many large resorts was generally quiet even near the pool areas. As the kitchens are very well equipped, a quick grocery shopping trip to Koloa Town will preclude the need for dining out if you wish.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Point at Poipu. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your vacation here, and we hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Kauai!
by JInny from Enumclaw, WA
Not as good as it used to be.Posted Apr 30, 2014
Cons: More services if they are going to charge a resort fee, better pest control, more employees hired to clean units daily, reduced rate during remodel
Location: Spouting Horn, local beaches, Waimea Canyon, snorkeling, Koloa Rum Factory
We had stayed here 15 years ago, much better then. We had remodeling construction going on in the next building in the resort, construction noise from 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. weekdays and the fence around it partially blocked our ocean view. Found a cockroach swimming in the toilet, 3 electrical outlets in the kitchen didn't work, had to get another working coffee machine sent to our unit the first day. One day we were left a note that we wouldn't have maid service, except for clean towels left and garbage emptied, as they had so many people checking out that day and the front desk didn't know about that. Now charges a daily resort fee and provides fewer services than it did in the past. Liked it much better as an Embassy Suite resort than a Diamond Resort. We've been to Hawaii 8 times and never found a cockroach in our room before. We won't go back to this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for submitting comments to us. We extend our sincerest apologies for the disappointment you experienced during your return visit here and deeply apologize for the unusual, but several inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Our guests are advised of the construction that will be taking place during their stays ahead of time, on our website or when you are booking. We also try to notify our exchange and rental partners, so that they can advise their customers. Nevertheless, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you if for some reason you did not receive our prior notification and if this had a negative impact on your stay. Please know that the difficulties you encountered are not reflective of our resort-wide standards and goals. Rest assured that if you had brought these matters to the attention of our teams prior to your departure, this would have allowed us an opportunity to address and resolve your concerns as well as offered amends to offset the troubles you faced. We thank you for reaching out to us and hope that you will join us again to experience our resort in the excellent manner intended.
for Everyoneby B from illinois
Family gatheringPosted Apr 19, 2014
Location: Right on the water. Great for viewing turtles and whales. 15 minute walk 5 minute drive to beach. One of best beaches in the world.
40 of us stayed in 9 units for a family wedding. The point was able to locate us close together. Beautiful property. Lovely two bedroom two bath units. Huge lagoon style pool. Many grills which we used a few times for group dinners. Staff is amazing. Friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.
for Business Travelersby Phil from Lexington
Great ValuePosted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was a garden view on the second floor, but in all other resorts would have been called ocean view or partial ocean view. The grounds and hotel are well maintained. The room directly below us on he first floor would not have a view as it is blocked by a burn. The pool and restaurant/bar are adequate. The Hyatt (close to the best hotel in Poipu) is 5 minutes walk. My meetings were there and The Point saves a lot of money compared to staying there, but of course cannot compare with amenities. Also many restaurants and shopping are 5 minutes by car. The biggest plus was the customer service, excellent. When we called all needs were met promptly, with great courtesy, and a call back to insure that we were satisfied. The downside is that while we were renting, this is a time share resort, and we were asked on several occasions to participate. They were not at all pushy, but it was there. Just say, "No." and you'll be fine! The other negative is that each room has it's own HVAC, except the second bedroom, which has a ceiling fan and a fan in the closet that apparently was used to circulate air into the room when it is real hot outside. We did not use the room, but it is something to be aware of if you like a cool bedroom at night. There is renovation going on at the hotel, so make sure your room is not near to it. We had absolutely no noise and were not bothered at all.
by A verified traveler
Challenging facilitiesPosted Jan 25, 2014
Parking sparse and limited Unit under construction causing traffic and noise issues Final billing surcharges indecipherable