Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom manchester uk

2 days with the grandson

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel for our short stay except looking out the window
Cons: if i was told on booking about scaffolding i would have asked for another room or booked elsewhere
Location: location perfect just pleasant walks to entertainments
just a little break away with grandson Joe.hotel very smart and comfy,everything perfect until we looked out of the window......i realise hotels have to do maintainance,but the scaffolding all around the window was a dissapointment. the pigeons and pigeon poo more dissapointing. i know we cant always get sea views. we did get out and see the attractions, but guests should be warned that a room with a view might not always be a good view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Yorkshire

Great staff and breakfast, room with niggles

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Character
Cons: Just the maintenance niggles - things in the room that don't work quite right.
Location: Right on the seafront - lots to do within walking distance. We ate at a Chinese restaurant about 4 minutes walk away - it was fine.
We've stayed here a few times several years ago. The hotel is being done up outside and the finished parts look really smart. Inside it's got lots of character. A new lift takes you up, opening onto spacious hallways and we remembered the creaky floors. We booked our room on Expedia, the cheapest available so we didn't get the best one - ours was facing into an ugly internal light well - again being done up by the look of it so it may not be as ugly next time. We had a twin room 246 with a nice bathroom, most things were fine, just a few niggles. The cold tap in the bathroom wouldn't turn on easily, the extractor fan was very noisy (over 60db) and the shower was so difficult to turn off that it took 2 of us to turn the dial. We didn't find a hair dryer either, or any notepaper and pen. The beds were comfortable enough, the pillows were not quite right for my wife, but staff quickly brought us 2 thicker ones. The breakfast was one of the best buffets we've had (we usually stay in good hotels). It was very well organised and the staff were super efficient, we especially noticed an older Chinese man who would collect plates from tables as soon as they looked empty - he had such a disarming manner that people at other tables were lifted by his cheerfulness - the whole team was excellent, the manager was obviously a good one. All staff we encountered were very helpful and made the stay enjoyable. This is a much more interesting place to stay than the modern ones we usually use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

First experience of Blackpool

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: It transported us back to another era. It made us feel special. And the staff were unerringly delightful.
Cons: The only thing we would have liked to have been better was the food. It just didn't live up to the ambiance of the place. No wow factor - sorry.
Location: This was our first visit to Blackpool. It was out of season, so EVERYTHING was closed down. Ho-hum.
First - the good bit. Wow - what a hotel!!. The term crumbling elegance is totally inadequate to describe how amazing it was. It is old, it is pricelessly beautiful, with a history which defies description. It oozes charm. And the price was astonishingly cheap - it knocks a Travel Lodge into a cocked hat for value for money. Now the not-so-good bit. It is a bit tired here and there, the room we had was cramped - although we could have upgraded for not a lot - and the breakfast and our bar meal were only 'adequate'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NOTTINGHAM

LOVELY HOTEL

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING
Cons: NOTHING
Location: SHOPS, RESTAURANTS AND BARS.
WE HAVE BEEN GOING THE LAST FEWS AND LOVE IT. WILL BE BACK AGAIN NEXT YEAR.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton, UK

Lovely grand hotel, good service!

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Liked the location, its a beautiful hotel and the staff were really helpful and friendly.
Cons: Our room needed redecorating and the bathroom was too small.
Location: Location was great, walked along the promenade, there's a tram stop right outside too.
We booked online via Expedia, paid in advance to get a good deal. No option for a sea view and didn't get one despite asking. There is an extra charge for sea views which we would have paid but there were none left. That was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location good

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Hotel ok ,room service slow waited over hour for bucket ice , asked for remote for tv still waiting 24hrs later never came
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A very pleasing stay

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
We received a friendly welcome and were allowed to check in early. Our room was better than those we have stayed in previously. Breakfast choice and quality was very good. Location very good - a brisk 15 minute walk to the tower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevenfrom chesterfield

Lovely break

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
we had a lovely time we had our dogs with us which made our break fabulous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SOFIANEfrom Lille

Pas déçu!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
La prise en compte de la troisième personne n'a pas été prise en compte ce qui fait qu'il y a une personne qui a du dormir dans un clic clac...:-(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joannafrom Wrexham

Post Christmas Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely old hotel with lots of character. Great pool. Would definitely stay again. Pigeons roosting outside the room were very noisy. The cups on the drinks tray were dirty. Great position for the Tower. Had a lovely stay.