Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Mersea

Perfect Location in London for site seeing

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff were very good, polite and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the room (504) was very quite.
Location: The hotel is right next to the London eye and is close to Theatre land.
The moment you walk through the door, you are warmly greeted by the door staff and directed to reception, where you are given another warm welcome. Check in was a breeze with the very efficient members of staff. They walk you around to the lifts and let you know where you need to go. We were in Room 504, which overlooked Jubilee gardens and we had a view of the London eye and the River Thames. The bed was very comfortable and had luxury cotton sheets and ample amounts of pillows. Actually the bed was huge! The bathroom was very clean and had some very nice toiletries which included hair shampoo, conditioner, body lotion etc. So if you are only staying for a night or two, then you don't need to bring you own. The shower was VERY powerful and easy to control the temperature. The overall condition of the room was very well presented. We had breakfast at the hotel, continental style, which was very nice too, lots of choice and most of it was either "homemade" or organic. They even have their own Hens for their eggs, which we could see from our table! Nice touch. When we checked out, I did say that I thought the hotel was very lovely to the guy at check out, he informed me that the hotel rooms are going to start to be upgraded next year, this surprised me as I thought they we great already.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

The Heart of London

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Very helpful and courteous staff. Nice bar to relax and have a cocktail
Cons: Nothing I can think of - although we did think the front walkway into the hotel could have been cleared of litter.
Location: The South Bank has a lot to offer, very easy to get into central London, theatre land, sightseeing and shopping, on foot and right next to the Thames
Meeting up with friends for a girly weekend. Saturday walking distance to the Savoy for dinner and a show and Sunday walking distance to Buckingham Palace for the afternoon. We also managed to get to the Tower of London to see the 'poppies' when we took the River Bus situated adjacent to the Hotel. All in all a great place/choice to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from so. california

Magical view of Elizabeth Tower!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
To enjoy the view privately, I pushed the chair into the corner, out of the view of the Eye passengers. The food and service were great! Will definitely recommend County Hall...no better location in town!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent, great location.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Would return. Staff we're excellent. Very helpful and accommodating. Fantastic location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by m from england

excellent room with a great view of the south bank

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Great location. easy to find.
Cons: Why the service charge if I feel great service then I will Tip accordingly.
Location: Next to the London eye, south bank walks, the eye, boat trips ,Westminster, big Ben, tube station nearbye.
excellent staff, good food, would definitely stay again. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PA from Manchester

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel, great location - service wasn't what was expected if a 4 star hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by somaia from egypt

great location, close to all sightseeing

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: the service at breakfast
the location was really good, and the room was fine, but the breakfast wasn't so good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jen from Florida

Great hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a great hotel. We really enjoyed our stay it was in a great location and east to travel to by underground from Heathrow. The only complaints I have are no wifi in the room unless you pay extra. How is it possible in this day and age that wifi isn't complementary.y other complaint was the fire alarm going off the morning we left it didn't just go off once but at least 16 times. I wish I was exaggerating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely room, great view, shame about breakfast

Posted Jun 1, 2014
We had a lovely stay in a great room with a view of Big Ben but it was unfortunately ruined slightly by out breakfast experience. The hotel was unable to refund the cost of the awful breakfast which further added to our frustration. When we arrived at breakfast we requested a high chair. 20 minutes later we still hadn't received one. I requested some toast which the server forgot about. They then brought out my husbands breakfast but not mine. Another 15 minutes later he had finished and mine came out wrong as I am pregnant and had requested well done eggs. I was humiliated by the waiter who then grudgingly took it back to the kitchens. The whole thing was a disaster and I was very upset that they refused to refund the breakfast which they charge £50 for!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Theresa, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest- Thank you very much for your review. It is most regrettable to learn of your experience at breakfast and please accept my sincere apologies for the troubles that you encountered. I have shared your valuable feedback with our Director of Food and Beverage who has addressed these issues with his team to ensure that this does not occur again. We hope that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in Gillray’s in the near future. Kindest regards, T. Maw General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JAH from Essex

Memorable stay

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
With the really special location with spectacular views over the Thames and the attentive staff, we had the perfect weekend stay in our spacious room.