Ratings based on 528 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield

Lovely hotel, defiantly stay again

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Me, my husband and our two children stayed at this lovely hotel whilst on a short trip to London. We found everything about the hotel flawless. Clean room, comfortable and food excellent. My son was very impressed as there was an X box 360 to play with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Good service,polite patient staff excellent
Cons: Sofa beds extremely hard and uncomfortable
Location: Excel centre
Paid packing,16 pounds overnight,never mentioned while trying to acquire room so came as a surprise otherwise excellent hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Torquay

Just what we had hoped for!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Very clean, family friendly hotel, with staff that were happy to help. Communal areas are spacious. Rooms were of a good size and comfortable.
Cons: An outside play area for children, although that's being picky as there was plenty of space for them to safely run around.
Location: DLR train station and the Excel centre is just a few minutes walk. There are a few restaurants/wine barclose by and a well stocked convenience store.
The hotel was perfect for our needs. Check in was swift and hassle free, served by friendly and welcoming staff. Our room was clean with enough space for four of us and both the bed and sofa bed were very comfortable with no complaints from any of us. Throughout our stay we were never aware of other people coming and going from adjacent rooms. There were planes flying over during the day, but they stopped in the evening and didn't start too early in the morning so never disturbed our sleep. Check out was just as easy. We will definitely use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Great location for 02 and excel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Lovely friendly staff - very clean - nice sauna ,steam and small gym - only downside very close to flight path low flying planes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England

Nice clean hotel. Easy access.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean, smart and well maintained. Food very good.
Cons: We could hardly move around the room without bumping into things or each other. more space needed.
Location: Pleasant location. Quiet except when the ExCel Centre has a conference on, but still not too busy. Several nearby eating places.
Not a good start when we arrived at the hotel two hours after check in could take place, only to be told that our room was not ready. We were given a card to allow us 4 complimentary drinks at the bar (we were a family of 4) whilst we waited for the room to be ready. my husband and I ordered a cocktail each and a soft drink for each of our children. we were given the soft drinks immediately and asked to sit down while our cocktails were being prepared. We waited. And waited. After a lot of cocktail shaking and referring back to what we imagined was a recipe book, 20 minutes had passed and we were given our room keys before the cocktails were ready!! We had made a dinner reservation in central London that we had to cancel as we were running so late. when we finally got to our room we noticed the customer satisfaction number stating they would do their best to deal with any complaints. After explaining the situation we were told that we couldn't be upgraded as compensation as the hotel was fully booked but we were offered free breakfast for our family of 4, for the both days we were staying.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Disappointing Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Good location. Modern
Cons: Room size for family room and service
Family room was very small and room was not cleaned between nights stay. Had to go to reception to ask for replacement mugs and tea and coffee and even then they didn't ever arrive. Staff not particularly helpful. On a plus side this hotel is well located for the O2 Arena, the Emirates cable car and then for river bus or DLR into central London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for a family visit.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cannot fault anything about our stay...the location was perfect to explore London.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver

Novotel London ExCeL close to convention center.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: My room had a small fridge and a safe big enough for a small laptop.
Location: 800 meters to the EXCEL convention center. 20 minutes by underground to central London, a couple DLR stops to Canary Wharf.
Nice hotel, it was a 5 minute walk to the EXCEL convention center. Extremely convenent to the DLR/Docklands Light Railroad. Getting around London was easy from this lococation. Taking the undergound cost less than 1/10 of what it would take by taxi, to get from Heathrow on the West side of London, to where the London Docklands area, Excel Customs House stop, is located (on East side of metro-London). However you do change underground trains twice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Cleanliness

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The bath was dirty, sink was blocked and smelly. Tea spoons and cups were covered in dust.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S13

lovely hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Great view on the terrace, clean rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: might benefit from a pool??
Location: It is quite a way from the center, if wanting to see sites...but, calm, enjoyable A few restaurants around, within walking distance
We arrived at the hotel earlier than check in time, but was aloud to park in the car park (24hr-£16.00). Located right on the docks, it has a lovely terraced area, to be able to sit outside with a drink in an afternoon or evening. There are a few restaurants around, if you do not want to eat at the hotel, but the hotel menu did look nice. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, we had booked two rooms and they made sure that we were next to each other. They even gave us a map with attraction on for London center. The room were modern and very clean, supplied with kettle and tea/coffee/milk. We only stayed for one night, and were very pleased with the hotel. There is a taxi cab firm across from the hotel.... charged us £30 to Tower Bridge... Very Expensive!! because on return from the center (near Harrods) the taxi ride back to the hotel, which was twice as far only cost us £37.50.