Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal hotel for excel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
I stayed one night for a conference in the excel arena. Completely satisfied with stay. Perfect location for excel, friendly helpful, polite staff. Room very quiet and spotless. Room service and breakfast very good. No complaints at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean sheets

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Modern clean nice rooms but not close to anything interesting unless you're going to the o2
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west Midlands

Loved the location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Very clean staff very helpful loved the location breakfast excellent would come again
Cons: NO
Location: We loved the location transport to get around was excellent
I am very happy with the hotel room excellent bathroom excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but room smell was awful

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping and customer service
Location: Unless visiting excel there is little here except the river walks. The nearest food is at the o2 by train.
Visually the Location of the Novotel was very good and perfect if you are visiting the excel, its also next to the river and has very pleasant views from the bar. However there really is nowhere else good to eat or anything else to do nearby. We didn't have breakfast - it was £16.95 for continental which is ridiculous! If you want breakfast just 2 minutes along the waterfront is a cheap cafe which looked ok. Our room smelled strange when we checked in, I thought it was cigarettes, I mentioned it to the manager who just said all the rooms were non smoking but he did not seem interested. I left the window open and we went out for evening. When we returned the smell was much worse, raelly rotten smell and we noticed the carpet outside the bathroom was very wet about 2 metres square. We told housekeeping who said that maintenance could sort it out in the morning but again were not interested at all. It was very late and we were tired so had to leave it. Overall not a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Canada

hotel close to excel but

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Nothing in particular
Cons: smell, it stank like sulphur in the shower
Although this hotel is 200 m from excel centre you will have to walk the whole length of the excel about 1 km to the other side to attend conference at the capital hall
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

A so-so experience

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff in the lounge; the convenience of being next to the Excel Center
Cons: The wait staff in the restaurant ; having the choice of having the breakfast buffet or not without throwing the staff into confusion
Location: Except for the ExCel Center, absolutely nothing for the tourist.
We spent a week, and wished we had stayed elsewhere. The construction down the hall disrupted the quiet during the time we had between meetings. The elevator constantly had problems, making us worry we'd get stranded between floors. The wait staff in the restaurant were not very courteous, and worse yet, not very attentive or friendly to us. This was mitigated by the staff of the lounge, who were very attentive and polite (and friendly), and there were many an evening meal taken in the lounge. The front desk personnel could handle any problem, when they could understand what you were talking about (them being primarily non-English speakers, this became a problem). The location of the hotel is a long taxi ride away from any tourist spots, usually costing a minimum of 30 pounds one way, unless you wish to brave the Underground. We were in an "Executive Suite", supposedly a step or two above the regular room. Motel 6 has more comfortable and spacious rooms! One big lack was the absence of a chest of drawers. For a week, we lived out of our suitcases..... Next time we're in London, we shall not be staying there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester.England.

Quality hotel near all links to London city.

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Freshness and cleanliness, the brochure pictures were exactly the same in real time.
Cons: I could not fault my stay and can not recommend any improvements
Location: As stated earlier the location suited my needs, quiet and pleasant without any hustle of every day life, places to eat nearby were adequate for family
I booked a room with a queen bed and sofa bed, the room was still spacious and adequate for myself and teenage boys. The room was well presented and clean, room service made the beds every day and did a thorough job tidying up, well with 2 teenage boys!!!!. Overall the hotel was a nice modern building, fresh and very relaxing, the breakfast was excellent with a good wide choice. The bar area was pleasant with nice views across the docklands towards the O2 and the evening menu looked good although we did not eat their. The hotel was in a quiet area without the hustle and bustle of city life, and local restaurant and shops at hand, a reduced parking tariff applied in the car park at a reasonable price. The staff were nice and friendly and able to answer all my questions. Access to the city was excellent on the Docklands line and picked up the tube to all city destinations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SCO

Novotel Excel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Handy for accessing public transport but don't like hotels where toilet is separate from the bathroom which I consider to be unhygienic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands.

Weekend in London

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Spent the weekend sight seeing with my wife and two of our four kids. Hotel was easy to get to from the DLR. Check in was easy. The room was ready for us with the spare bed made up aswell. We would use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry UK

Visiting the capital

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Very clean
Location: Too far from the centre and its attractions, fantastic if you're at Canary Wharf for a meeting
I felt the hotel was too far from the centre of London, all in all the money saved in booking the hotel through Secret Escapes was spent in travelling on the underground and taxi fares.