Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MIDLANDS

NICE HOTEL WITH GREAT FEATURES. POOR SERVICE

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: THE CHARACTER OF THE BUILDING AND THE MAIN STAIRCASE.
Cons: SERVICE FROM THE RESTAURANT STAFF. IF THEY WANT TO CHARGE 5 STAR PRICES THEN THEY SHOULD PROVIDE DECENT SERVICE WITH ATTENTION TO DETAILS.
THE HOTEL IS QUITE UNIQUE IN ITS ARCHITECTURE. LET DOWN BY QUALITY OF FOOD AND SERVICE IN THE BOOKING OFFICE AND OTHER RESTAURANTS. MEALS DEFINITELY NOT FIVE STAR IN QUALITY - ONLY IN PRICES. SUNDAY BREAKFAST WAS MEDIOCRE. SLOW SERVICE AND SPECIAL ITEMS E.G. OMELETTES, PORRIDGE ETC. NOT SERVED UNLESS REQUESTED FOR SPECIFICALLY. WE WERE INFORMED BY A MANAGER THAT DUE TO HIGH TURNOVER DURING WEEKENDS THEY SERVED STANDARD ENGLISH BREAKFAST. IN THE EVENING, THE BAR AREA SIMPLY IGNORED US AFTER LEAVING US WITH THE MENUS. HAD TO COMPLAIN TO A SUPERVISOR TO GET SERVICE.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Terrible service at the hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The service.
Location: Next to King's Cross.
We came to the hotel ready to check in. Unfortunately, they did not have a room for us and sent us to another 5 star hotel. They promised several things if we take the offer like free breakfast the next day and transportation to the airport. We went to the other hotel and they gave us a room with 2 double beds. This was unexpected as we booked a single king/queen size bed at St. Pancras Renaissance. Because of this, we had to go back down to request a different room. This took a while because we had to lined up again and they had to look for a new room. Basically, when we settled in our actual room, it was more than 5 hours after we initially checked in to St. Pancras Renaissance. Needless to say, it wasted most of the day. The next day we ate breakfast thinking that it was covered by St. Pancras Renaissance. The breakfast was not on our hotel bill thinking that it was indeed covered by St. Pancras Renaissance. However, after returning back to the United States, we were charged for the breakfast. Also, for the transportation to the airport, the driver didn't realize that St. Pancras Renaissance was paying for it and was requesting us to pay for the transportation. If we known that St. Pancras Renaissance was all talk, we would have not accepted the transfer. We did send a complaint to St. Pancras Renaissance asking about the charges that they said they would cover, but as of this review did not receive any response yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Gareth Banner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide these comments which overlapped with our reply to your original feedback and so we shall continue correspondence directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aldeburgh

Like Sleeping under a Swan's Wing

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. It was wide, the sheets snowy white of a high thread count, and down pillows and duvet.
Cons: The acoustics in the dining rooms.
Location: Perfect for visiting London and of course for a night's stay prior to traveling on Eurostar.
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Eurostar as we were traveling to France the following day. Also I was curious to see the interior of this magnificently restored Sir Gilbert Scott building. We were not disappointed with the restoration which has preserved a splendid example of high Victorian architecture. As we walked up the splendid staircase, I marveled at how fit Victorian ladies must have been as it is quite a climb - this was a wholly voluntary exercise! Our bedroom was however completely 21 century, well appointed and, extraordinarily for such a central location, totally quiet. We decided not to eat in either the Booking Hall Brasserie or the Gilbert Scott Dining room as they both seemed so noisy with poor acoustics that magnified the rattle of crockery and clash of cutlery. The menus however looked quite good. There are lots of reasonable places to eat in outside on the station concourse, where we chose Carluccios. The bedroom was large, furnishings good and the comfort of the bed simply excellent. I woke up feeling as though I'd slept under a swan's wing so cocooning and comforting was the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a great hotel makeover

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: everything from afternoon tea to breakfast.
Cons: room lighting
Location: St Pancras station all of London is available.
a grand hotel from the moment you enter the building. Hotel staff happy to see you, talk and even remember your name! Room was good but dim, mood lighting is OK and high cielings are hard to deal with but you would find it hard to read a book or write a letter in room 165 shows my age who reads books or writes letters today ( I DO ). But these are minor problems, the restoration of this building is wonderful, the beds give a good sleep, lots of hot water. You even feel the trains passing under the hotel just to remind you that this was a railway building.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suggest staying elsewhere but visiting hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Lovely restored hotel but Barlow room was overpriced-didn't stay in one if the suites in the restored gothic part do room could have been any hotel. Had lovely afternoon tea and drink in beautiful bar but could have enjoyed all that by visiting hotel & saving money staying elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Gareth Banner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking to time to provide this feedback. I am pleased to hear you were impressed by the restoration of the building and enjoyed afternoon tea in Hansom Lounge. I am of course disappointed to read your comments regarding price. We are proud to offer a unique product and service which represents great value within the 5 star luxury hotel market. Thank you again for your comments and I do hope we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

excellent hotel close to the tube, lovely ambience

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: we had saved to stay at the hotel, but the price of the mini bar was a little pricey.
from entering the hotel to leaving the staff were a credit to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Fabulous

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Everything
Just returned from St Pancras Hotel, had a wonderful stay. This hotel is amazing, from the moment you walk into the lobby it is fabulous. Service is great, the staff can't do enough for you. Room good size, immaculately clean, lovely bed and bedding. We ate in the bar restaurant, 5star food and service , singer and guitarist adding to the atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Polyester Bathrobes......

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: The building
Cons: Useable irons and cotton bathrobes.
Great renovation of an interesting building. The rooms are nothing special especially in context of the price. Thinks like poor quality clinging polyester bathrobes and virtually unusable irons detract from the overall experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Gareth Banner, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am pleased to hear you were impressed by the restoration. I do hope you were able to join one o four complimentary historical tours, which really bring the history of the building to life? I am sorry to hear you did not like the bathrobes, which we get a lot of positive feedback on and actually sell via the Marriott shop due to their popularity. Thanks again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, shame about the hidden cost!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Hotel was lovely and staff really friendly, however having booked a room for three people you would expect the price to be for three people, not to have to pay extra when you arrive at the hotel. A room should not be advertised for three if the cost is not for three!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

St Pancreas - another tick on the "wish list"

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Sense of occasion and ambience.
Cons: free wi-fi in rooms.
Location: Close to St Pancreas and Kings Cross Stations.
Most interesting hotel incorporating features of the old station and original hotel