Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel in a stunning building

Posted Dec 19, 2014
This hotel grabs your attention the minute you see the building - it is amazing. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable- first class. All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay and one we'll definitely use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Yorkshire

Fabulous historic hotel!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: The historic surroundings - all put to good use as the bar, restaurant, reception etc.
Cons: Nothing to note.
Location: Kings Cross has changed a LOT in the last few years and now feels a lot more open and safe.
We had a two night stay at the beginning of December, when the hotel was apparently at 100% occupancy and had Christmas parties and/or weddings happening on both evenings. Despite this, it didn't feel crowded and didn't impact the service. There was potential to spoil the weekend as they had originally put us in a twin room rather than a double (presumably due to the high occupancy rate) but once we had pointed out that it was our engagement celebration and therefore had specifically booked a double room, there were no arguments and we were put into a double after all, with the added bonus of a breakfast thrown in. In addition, we returned to our room on the second evening to find that they had provided a chocolate cake for our engagement, which I thought was a lovely touch. The room was in the new wing, so nothing particularly out of the ordinary, but spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable bed (the sheets were almost strokable!). The main attraction of the hotel, however, was the historical part so we spent breakfast in the "Booking Office", an hour in the spa in the basement, and then went on the tour of the hotel (free to guests) before sitting in the bar admiring the surroundings. The staff were excellent, answering any questions we had - couldn't have asked for more. Overall - definitely recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roskilde

Flot hotel lige op af stationen.

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Smukt restaureret hotel. Venligt og imødekommende personale.
Cons: Lydniveauet i restauranten var helt vildt. Det ville være godt med nogle støjdæmpende tiltag. Når man bor tre på værelset får man en ekstra regning.
Location: Ligger sammen med Kings cross station, så det er let at komme rundt i undergrunden. Camden market lå 20 min. gang fra hotellet.
Flot hotel. God atmosfære. Venligt personale. Hotellet ligger sammen med Kings Cross station, så det er let at kommer dertil fra Gatwick lufthavn og let at komme omkring i byen. Der er meget stemningsfuldt og morgenmaden er fin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

Perfect location for London

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The whole experience, from seeing the history of the hotel to the warm, friendly staff, beautiful rooms and surroundings and the spa was a bonus.
Cons: I got overcharged for breakfast when I got home which was a small niggle but soon rectified by a repeat visit to the hotel as was working nearby.
Location: So close to the trains and tubes, you can go anywhere you like. Shops in St Pancras and Kings Cross are handy for quick shopping and a bite to eat.
We had a lovely welcome with mince pies and warm wine. My friend and I stayed in a Barlow Twin Room - the beds were a small double size each and the pillows were to die for. So comfortable and we had a really good night's sleep after spending the day walking around London. The rooms were well stocked, warm and clean. We paid £35 for two breakfasts (you have to go to reception for this offer) and it was so lovely to experience an easy going , scrummy breakfast. On Sundays the restauarant stays open till 12pm which is spot on. We vacated the room, left our bags in reception and went to the spa for the afternoon which was a great way to wind down and relax before heading home at 5pm. The staff are very warm, friendly and helpful. Cant rate them highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

St.Pancras Rennaissance

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Taste! Taste Taste - modernized exquisitely
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Oh tons of stuff! We ate Indian in Belgravia.
Just a wonderful expereince. They upgraded us to a Junior Suite and our room had a commanding view of the Station. It really was a wonderful place for a break!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Amazing architecture

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff together with the amazing architecture.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was good - adjacent to the train station and within walking distance of Covent Garden and the West End.
What a treat to stay in such a historical building that has been perfectly restored. The experience was amazing - the food and drinks, hotel rooms and facilities as well as the staff were all first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bath, England & Finistere, France

a touch of luxury in a classic setting

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: the beds were deliciously comfortable, the room spacious and quiet, the staff welcoming, professional and efficient.
Cons: better tea/coffee facilities in the room.
Location: with major railway stations and a choice of Tube lines on the doorstep, the whole of London is easily accessible.
this is a top class hotel with all that you'd expect; rooms in the Barlow wing compare well with 4* hotels internationally - though better in-room tea/coffee facilities than the usual tea bags and instant coffee sachets would have been welcome – why no real coffee or nespresso machine as in hotels of a similar class?. What makes this hotel special for guests in "ordinary" rooms are the public areas, the staff and the beautifully restored historic building in a most convenient location for visiting London. I was lucky enough to have a room in the new wing, oddly looking out on the old wall of the original building, but this meant the room was wonderfully quiet with no noise either from the road or the station. Staff courteously and professionally took care of all my requests. A real touch of luxury in a stunning building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mcr

nice hotel but just nice

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel and good location, staff were lovely, the only criticism was the huge lack of wow, at 5 star and quite expensive I thought it was just ok, wouldn't stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dortmund

Traumhaftes Stadthotel.

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Bekannt aus zahlreichen Filmen. Perfekter Service und sensationelles Ambiente. Schöner Spa-Bereich und nette Bar. Kleiner Minuspunkt ist das nicht allzu umfangreiche Frühstück und das es im gesamten Hotel in keinem Zimmer eine Klobürste gibt (kein Scherz!). Nach Auskunft des Personals könne man dafür den Zimmerservice rufen. :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

5 star building shame about the 2 star hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The building is beautiful.
Cons: Customer service, having a proper complaints process and a clean room with a window that blocks out light.
Location: It's actually part of St Pancras station. Right by the British library.
On checking in to this hotel I was very concerned that they insisted on debiting my bank card by £100 despite the fact that room was fully pre paid. On asking to complain I was told they do not have a complaints process. I spoke with two duty managers neither of whom were helpful or even acknowledged that I had an issue e.g. the unexpected debit from my account would cause me bank charges and they could not even return the money at check out the next morning as they had a computer problem. Strangely, their problem didn't prevent them from removing the money. The room was stark and bare, the carpet stained and the bathroom floor tiles were filthy. The only window in the room was very small with a cheap badly fitting blind that let the light in making sleep difficult. This is not what I expect from a Marriott Hotel nor from a 5 star hotel that is very expensive. I have never experienced such bad customer service or found myself completely unable to make any formal complaint. On seeing how bad the room was I should have complained again but having experienced their complete lack of responsiveness i couldn't see the point. I will never stay here again. It is a five star building but a 2 star hotel with appalling service.