Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mcr

nice hotel but just nice

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Nice hotel and good location, staff were lovely, the only criticism was the huge lack of wow, at 5 star and quite expensive I thought it was just ok, wouldn't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

5 star building shame about the 2 star hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The building is beautiful.
Cons: Customer service, having a proper complaints process and a clean room with a window that blocks out light.
Location: It's actually part of St Pancras station. Right by the British library.
On checking in to this hotel I was very concerned that they insisted on debiting my bank card by £100 despite the fact that room was fully pre paid. On asking to complain I was told they do not have a complaints process. I spoke with two duty managers neither of whom were helpful or even acknowledged that I had an issue e.g. the unexpected debit from my account would cause me bank charges and they could not even return the money at check out the next morning as they had a computer problem. Strangely, their problem didn't prevent them from removing the money. The room was stark and bare, the carpet stained and the bathroom floor tiles were filthy. The only window in the room was very small with a cheap badly fitting blind that let the light in making sleep difficult. This is not what I expect from a Marriott Hotel nor from a 5 star hotel that is very expensive. I have never experienced such bad customer service or found myself completely unable to make any formal complaint. On seeing how bad the room was I should have complained again but having experienced their complete lack of responsiveness i couldn't see the point. I will never stay here again. It is a five star building but a 2 star hotel with appalling service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northumberland

Close to Kinks Cross Station

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The staff were courteous at all times, very helpful and ready to help with any requests we had. Their professionalism was outstanding!
Location: The St. Pancras is central to a lot of places in London. We managed to vis the British Museum, The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden.
My daughter and I spent 3 days at the St. Pancras Hotel. She had fallen a few days previously, injuring herself quite extensively. We thought that our stay would have been somewhat compromised because of it. However the solicitude of the staff in our every move when dealing with lifts, carrying luggage, helping with transport and even organising an outing for us, made our stay one not easy to forget. Cristian at Concierge was simply wonderful!! Benjamin was also outstanding but I must emphasize the professional of ALL staff at the St. Pancras.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sheffield

Fantastic location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The wonderful renovation of St Pancras. Great breakfast.
Cons: Bedroom was very comfortable but beginning to look a little tired.
Location: Very central for travelling anywhere in London.
Superb location and service. Expensive but worth if for the convenience of arriving by train into St Pancras.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff very friendly and helpful

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Room lovely and quiet. Lovely breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent location with c Great staff.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Food, staff and location
Cons: Needed more five star luxury in room.
Location: British library and canal at Kings Cross
Enjoyed our stay but was disappointed to see the murky, frayed grey towels in the bathroom! Really let the hotel down!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MIDLANDS

NICE HOTEL WITH GREAT FEATURES. POOR SERVICE

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: THE CHARACTER OF THE BUILDING AND THE MAIN STAIRCASE.
Cons: SERVICE FROM THE RESTAURANT STAFF. IF THEY WANT TO CHARGE 5 STAR PRICES THEN THEY SHOULD PROVIDE DECENT SERVICE WITH ATTENTION TO DETAILS.
THE HOTEL IS QUITE UNIQUE IN ITS ARCHITECTURE. LET DOWN BY QUALITY OF FOOD AND SERVICE IN THE BOOKING OFFICE AND OTHER RESTAURANTS. MEALS DEFINITELY NOT FIVE STAR IN QUALITY - ONLY IN PRICES. SUNDAY BREAKFAST WAS MEDIOCRE. SLOW SERVICE AND SPECIAL ITEMS E.G. OMELETTES, PORRIDGE ETC. NOT SERVED UNLESS REQUESTED FOR SPECIFICALLY. WE WERE INFORMED BY A MANAGER THAT DUE TO HIGH TURNOVER DURING WEEKENDS THEY SERVED STANDARD ENGLISH BREAKFAST. IN THE EVENING, THE BAR AREA SIMPLY IGNORED US AFTER LEAVING US WITH THE MENUS. HAD TO COMPLAIN TO A SUPERVISOR TO GET SERVICE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Gareth Banner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I am pleased to hear you were impressed by the architecture of the building but am of course disappointed to read your comments regarding the Booking Office. We are proud to offer a wide variety of breakfast items which start from £6. We have a Continental Breakfast Buffet for £19 per person and a Great British Breakfast for £26 as well as a Full English for £16. These are served across the weekend so I am sorry if this was not better explained. Thanks again for your feedback and I do hope to we are able to welcome you back again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Terrible service at the hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The service.
Location: Next to King's Cross.
We came to the hotel ready to check in. Unfortunately, they did not have a room for us and sent us to another 5 star hotel. They promised several things if we take the offer like free breakfast the next day and transportation to the airport. We went to the other hotel and they gave us a room with 2 double beds. This was unexpected as we booked a single king/queen size bed at St. Pancras Renaissance. Because of this, we had to go back down to request a different room. This took a while because we had to lined up again and they had to look for a new room. Basically, when we settled in our actual room, it was more than 5 hours after we initially checked in to St. Pancras Renaissance. Needless to say, it wasted most of the day. The next day we ate breakfast thinking that it was covered by St. Pancras Renaissance. The breakfast was not on our hotel bill thinking that it was indeed covered by St. Pancras Renaissance. However, after returning back to the United States, we were charged for the breakfast. Also, for the transportation to the airport, the driver didn't realize that St. Pancras Renaissance was paying for it and was requesting us to pay for the transportation. If we known that St. Pancras Renaissance was all talk, we would have not accepted the transfer. We did send a complaint to St. Pancras Renaissance asking about the charges that they said they would cover, but as of this review did not receive any response yet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Gareth Banner, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide these comments which overlapped with our reply to your original feedback and so we shall continue correspondence directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aldeburgh

Like Sleeping under a Swan's Wing

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. It was wide, the sheets snowy white of a high thread count, and down pillows and duvet.
Cons: The acoustics in the dining rooms.
Location: Perfect for visiting London and of course for a night's stay prior to traveling on Eurostar.
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Eurostar as we were traveling to France the following day. Also I was curious to see the interior of this magnificently restored Sir Gilbert Scott building. We were not disappointed with the restoration which has preserved a splendid example of high Victorian architecture. As we walked up the splendid staircase, I marveled at how fit Victorian ladies must have been as it is quite a climb - this was a wholly voluntary exercise! Our bedroom was however completely 21 century, well appointed and, extraordinarily for such a central location, totally quiet. We decided not to eat in either the Booking Hall Brasserie or the Gilbert Scott Dining room as they both seemed so noisy with poor acoustics that magnified the rattle of crockery and clash of cutlery. The menus however looked quite good. There are lots of reasonable places to eat in outside on the station concourse, where we chose Carluccios. The bedroom was large, furnishings good and the comfort of the bed simply excellent. I woke up feeling as though I'd slept under a swan's wing so cocooning and comforting was the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a great hotel makeover

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: everything from afternoon tea to breakfast.
Cons: room lighting
Location: St Pancras station all of London is available.
a grand hotel from the moment you enter the building. Hotel staff happy to see you, talk and even remember your name! Room was good but dim, mood lighting is OK and high cielings are hard to deal with but you would find it hard to read a book or write a letter in room 165 shows my age who reads books or writes letters today ( I DO ). But these are minor problems, the restoration of this building is wonderful, the beds give a good sleep, lots of hot water. You even feel the trains passing under the hotel just to remind you that this was a railway building.