Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, FL

An extremely unpleasant experience!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was polite, and offered us other rooms, unfortunately the other rooms offered were equivalent to the one we had.
Cons: All new mattresses, New Carpet, New Paint, New Light Fixtures, Install A/C, replace worn furniture in lobby, scrub floors, and showers.
Location: The location enjoys convenient access to the tube, bus, and park.
The hotel was rundown, dirty, and moldy. No A/C. Our room windows provided no ventilation as it opened to an enclosed space making the room unbearable warm and stuffy on what were relatively cool evenings. The Mattresses in our room were horribly stained and had holes where the metal springs poked through the mattress. The mattresses were badly sagging and smelly. The shower curtain had multiple large mold spots growing on them larger than a quarter on both sides. The staircase carpet was ripped in multiple places creating a trip hazard. Someone got trapped in the small noisy elevator while we were there. The internet was unreliable. Moldings and walls were badly worn and in need of paint. Floors, corners, and door hinges were loaded with caked on dirt. The hotel was noisy at night. The included breakfast was 2 types of bread and 2 types of corn flake, with instant coffee, warm milk, or warm watered down orange juice concentrate.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Low end accommodation

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Cramped room, voew ofdrain pipes, smelled of mold, hot, poor ventilation and the smallest toilet/water closet I have ever seen. Dont stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Facilities
Location: Hyde Park
A very small room, tiny bathroom, no remote control inside (has to ask reception for it.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Decent hotel. Decent location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Stayed here early july found this place was a good location.Double room was lovely and spacious,lovely room. Good location beside Bayswater station.right beside city bikes docking station
1 out of 5
by mr from san francisco

ugly and dirty hotel

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: nothing at all.
Cons: they have to change all the beds and carpets. very old and damaged beds and carpets.
we were very unhappy from the moment we stepped in and got our room.\ we were shocked over the single small beds and on top of that damaged and very old uncomfortable beds as well. very very small room. staff was terrible. they ignored our complaints. we asked for at least a good bed. beds were sagging and making terrible noise. they ignored us. any way vey bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Atlanta, GA, USA

Wonderful cozy hotel, close to tube

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and transportation issues.
Cons: Front entrance could use a coat of paint.
Location: 5 minute walk to BayswaterTube or Portobello Road. Bikes for rent close by. Sainsbury's grocery next to Bayswater Tube. Plenty of restaurants.
I was very happy with my stay here. Upon booking, I was concerned because I read many negative reviews, but I booked anyway because I liked the price and location. I was delightfully surprised. Now that I've stayed here, I think some of the reviewers were too critical. The staff were friendly and helpful, the wifi worked in my room, the view was beautiful and overlooked Leinster Square. The breakfast of toast, juice, cereal, milk, coffee, tea was plentiful. The shower and toilet were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Night time was quiet. The neighborhood is beautiful and the hotel very nice. We walked maybe 10-15 minutes to Kensington Palace and the Victoria and Albert Museum. We ordered in sushi and ate in our room. We loved our cozy place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from Bath, UK

Good to know that you can get a cheap, clean, bed

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Location, price/performance
Cons: Fix Google Maps!
Location: Good range of restaurants.
Note that Google Maps gets the location wrong, and that Leinster Square is genuinely a Square. I was born in London,but it took me four minutes to get from where Google told me to where the hotel actually is. Perfectly functional, and reasonable value for money. Quite a lot of cheap restaurants around Bayswater Underground station,the nearest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sophia from Paris

Hotel wedgewood

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Cons: Area and setting
Location: Hyde park kensington palace, tube Bayswater , lots of bars and little restaurants.
The hotel is well situated , lovely area beautiful garden view, staff very nice, The hotel is basic in terms of blankets and bathroom etc. The plus is being able to leave luggage even after check out for the afternoon , There is a lift. The slight minus is the breakfast only toast and cereal, instant coffee But can't complain for the price for central London.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from Durham, UK

Convenient

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: It's conveniently positioned, and there's someone at the desk all night.
Cons: The lift is tiny: not for the claustrophobic.
Location: Very handy for several tube stations on different lines, making for a quick run into central London.
I stayed here for one night when I had to get to a morning meeting in central London. The staff were friendly, and the room, while a bit pokey, was clean and perfectly okay for the money. The street outside was noisy at night -- a large party of teenagers turned up at another hotel opposite -- but the Wedgewood can hardly be blamed for that.
2 out of 5
by zara from London

Great location, poor hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The location is great but my heart sank when I saw the hotel. The receptionist was smoking in front of the hotel when I first arrived (bad first impression) however on the whole staff were friendly and tried to be helpful. Room was small and although at first glance looked reasonably clean, on closer inspection hairs were found in the bed. On my third night I had the pleasure of a cockroache on the bathroom floor. Breakfast is toast or cereal, tea and coffee. Again the staff were friendly but the hotel is so tired and shabby.I wouldn't recommend it.