Ratings based on 131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Nightmare on Leinster Square

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: See above.
The Wedgewood Hotel is a small notch above a youth hostel, and many young people do not seem to have trouble staying there. However, I certainly did. The free breakfast is not an English breakfast: no eggs, no sausage or bacon, no decaf coffee, no artificial sweetener. The breakfast has toast, jelly, cold cereal and milk, coffee, and orange juice. The beds are actually cots, not beds. The mattresses are unchanged since about 1954, with the springs coming up, and sunken in, in the middle. I managed to get them to give me a one inch thick mattress that I could put over my bed. That did help. I then used a blanket to bunch up the middle to try to get it even. It didn't quite work out, and I woke up each of the eight nights with a back ache. The rooms were absolutely tiny. When I was transferred to a single room, I calculated it was only 32 square feet in size (not including the tiny bathroom and closet). The shower was too small to take a shower unless you pull back the shower curtain and clean up the mess after. When I asked if I could see a different room, they said they are all the same - "This is no fairy story." The luggage room (and they do want you out by 11 AM if you are switching rooms) was absolutely filthy. The hotel itself was a good third of a mile from the nearest tube station. This hotel was not a 2 1/2 star hotel. I doubt if it was even a 1/2 star. I stayed only because it was a nonrefundable reservation. In two words: Don't go!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price for location, but disappointing.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Staff were excellent on the whole however, the lift was tiny and very jolty room was too hot and window didn't shut properly. For a double room, I could get round to the other side of te double bed without climbing over the bed. Wifi was really poor and breakfast was just cornflakes, yoghurt, orange juice and tea/coffee. Noise from doors banging at night. Location was good, and the only good thing going for the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom malaysia

Just nice to find public transport

Posted Oct 12, 2014
This is my first time visit to london city....very nice view...nice weather...easy to find public transport..and halal food...im very enjoying...and wil be visiting again...
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Uncomfortable Experience

Posted Sep 11, 2014
I booked a family room and was arranged to a basment room. It's extremely tiny for 4 people. The floor is too dirty to be cleaned up and the bathroom was also too small. You can even clearly hear other rooms' voices. Very uncomfortable hotel and will never recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Devon

Not recommended

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Unfriendly, poor breakfast, badly in need of decorating, mouldy wardrobe unable to use. A view of junk from the hotel in the back yard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: I think they should figure out how to replace the batteries in the room safes.
It was a cheap small room which is what I expected. But there was no air conditioning in the rooms or halls. The elevator was tiny and very slow. The room safes aren't maintained. The wifi was very slow and was in fact unusable at times.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Hotel near to underground

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Near underground ( 10 min walk), Free basic BF, WIFI
Cons: Fan in the rooms, Don't cram 2 beds in space for one
Location: Lots of shops restaraunts near by (5 min walk)
Took a room at Wedgewood (26 July 2014). Only is nearness to underground, free breakfast, WIFI! shower so small, can't bend the body 1.5 sq foot max May be good for 1 night or so or extremely low budget. No fan/AC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Good stuff but the room is very small. Breakfast is basic
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Cheap good location but room door didnt lock well and wifi did not work. The lift was too small for one person and there was not enough tables in the breakfast room . And the continenal breakfast was just toast.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Delray Beach, FL

An extremely unpleasant experience!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff was polite, and offered us other rooms, unfortunately the other rooms offered were equivalent to the one we had.
Cons: All new mattresses, New Carpet, New Paint, New Light Fixtures, Install A/C, replace worn furniture in lobby, scrub floors, and showers.
Location: The location enjoys convenient access to the tube, bus, and park.
The hotel was rundown, dirty, and moldy. No A/C. Our room windows provided no ventilation as it opened to an enclosed space making the room unbearable warm and stuffy on what were relatively cool evenings. The Mattresses in our room were horribly stained and had holes where the metal springs poked through the mattress. The mattresses were badly sagging and smelly. The shower curtain had multiple large mold spots growing on them larger than a quarter on both sides. The staircase carpet was ripped in multiple places creating a trip hazard. Someone got trapped in the small noisy elevator while we were there. The internet was unreliable. Moldings and walls were badly worn and in need of paint. Floors, corners, and door hinges were loaded with caked on dirt. The hotel was noisy at night. The included breakfast was 2 types of bread and 2 types of corn flake, with instant coffee, warm milk, or warm watered down orange juice concentrate.