Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

schönes kleines Hotel mit Blick auf den Yachthafen

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Frühstück auf dem Balkon mit Blick zum Yachthafen
sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Rezeption große, saubere Zimmer direkt am Yachthafen gelegen gleich nebenan ein Supermarkt und das Restaurant "Cheesecake Factory"
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario

Good location, but overpriced

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Location was good. About a 10 min walk from the pier.
Cons: Overall condition of the rooms was okay.
We stayed at the Foghorn Inn during our family vacation last week. The staff were very friendly and the location was good, I felt that it was way overpriced for what it is. In reality it is an old motel and should be priced accordingly. It would be okay at $100/night but we paid more than twice that which is outrageous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Eddie Offermannfrom Marina Del Rey

Nice inn in the marina, walking distance to Venice

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Foghorn isn't posh - it's just a cute little inn sitting on Mother's Beach in Marina Del Rey. The prices are reasonable for the area (I've seen complaints about it being overpriced - if they had these prices in Fresno, they'd be overpriced. For the area, they're positively generous). That said, the rooms were very spacious, the staff was very friendly, the room neat and tidy, and while I had to leave early, my girlfriend checked out later and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast downstairs where there's a nice patio facing the beach. The area can be noisy - this isn't Foghorn's doing. There's a Cheesecake Factor next door with a huge outdoor patio, so on warm evenings there's lots of conversation. The hotel sits on Mother's Beach which is a popular park in the marina. If you're here on a weekend, expect families to be setting up to BBQ and people to be throwing parties, playing volleyball, etc., during the afternoons. If you're here to enjoy the weather and local color, this is all a huge plus. We have boats in the marina and have stayed here ourselves and recommend it to friends. The Foghorn is a lovely bit of the old Marina del Rey that still remains. I'm sure one day it'll succomb to the constant redevelopment and there will be a much less charming, much less friendly hotel in its place. Stay here before that happens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Smithfrom Seattle

Close to the sights!

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Foghorn was great- the proximity to Venice Beach and the Marina were delightful. Yes it is an older establishment but clean and we'd easily stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex. UK

Location on beach and nice and quiet. Good eating

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The ideal location to Fishermans Village and Santa Monica and its own quiet inlet.
Cons: Bedding should be updated. Should have drinking glasses in room and bottle opener.
Location: Covered above
Found goof eating places on top of the motel. Nice quiet beach to watch from own patio. The motel breakfast was excellent and complementary. Had everything you would want and plenty of it. Very impressed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

SLIDT, BRUGT og dårlig lugt

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
værelset og hotellet var slidt, og generelt brugt. TV på værelset havde dårligt signal, det tog lang tid at skifte kanaler, der var meget støj fra en nærliggende vej. Gangarealerne lugtede gamle og indelukkede. Morgenmaden var vakuum pakkede ting og sager, som skulle indtages lige ved siden et ekstremt støjende køleskab, bestemt ikke pengene værd.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed my time in this hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
The hotel is so personal and comfortable I swear you won't want to leave! MUST HAVE A OCEAN VIEW....can't imagine being this close to the beach and not being able to see it...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

Not worth the price.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: It's location in Marina Del Rey and close to the water.
Cons: The room decor and furniture need to be upgraded and uniform. Much of it looked like they got it from Ikea. Also, get expanded cable service.
Location: Marina Del Rey has much to offer.
Staying at this place was like staying at a YMCA. They should be charging nightly rates comparable to a Motel 6 or a Super 8 Hotel, not what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quaint Hotel right on the Marina with excellent location and friendly, helpful front desk.