Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Charming small hotel right on the marina beach with excellent marina views and walking access to both Venice and Marina del Rey, plus nearby water taxi. We didn't make it to the free evening concert in the park, but did people-watch while eating excellent Cuban food near the Venice pier, and then wandered back streets back to the hotel. We appreciated the friendliness of the front desk staff, the DVD's to borrow, the comfortable room, and the very comfortable lobby sofas with the sea breezes blowing through. The location is also convenient to the airport, but you feel miles away from the hustle of town. The experience felt personal, as compared with large hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel at a hotel price

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Don't know where to begin. I usually don't write reviews but I have to comment our horrible experience. Walked into the place with no one there to greet us. The place is a cheap motel at the price of a hotel. The furnitures in the room look like they were picked at salvation army or put together at someone's garage. Had to bring the kids to shower at my brother's hotel because the bathroom seemed that CLEAN. This place makes Hampton Inn (2 stars) appears like a 5 stars hotel. During our last night there, someone started screaming and cursing up and down the hall at 1:30am. They even called the cops. Again, something you would expect from a cheap motel not a $270 per night hotel. Needless to say, we will not be returning. Should have stayed at Double Tree by Hilton, which is cheaper and higher class. Definitely willing to paid more to stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO USA

Charming Inn on Mother's beach in Marina Del Ray!!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Charming painted murals. Perfect location. Doesn't stink. Good showers and bath amenities. Fabulous bedding and towels. Clean.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Venice Beach, bike rentals nearby, paddleboard lessons, sunset cruises, perfect romantic getaway! perfect place for a family with kids. Safe 'hood.
This Inn is so rad. It is right!On!Mother's!Beach! You've got a stunning view from your enclosed back patio of the marina and Mother's Beach. Folks say it's called mother's beach because there is no surf to worry about knocking the little ones over. There's a friendly lifeguard on duty during the day. We spent a lovely evening walking around the marina, looking at all of the boats on the docks. There's a quite nice playground there, too. I love this hotel!! The king bed was so perfectly soft yet firm. They do triple-sheets, here, folks. Sumptuous towels. Remember to ask the front dest for beach towels. I wouldn't want to get those bath towels all sandy. They even have a basket of beach toys for the kids to use. We didn't bring our kids this time, but we will next time. The breakfast room is sweet. They had a lot of stuff for a better than nice continental breakfast, and snacks like cookies and apples to take with you on your adventures. I love the added service of a cab voucher to and from LAX. They even accommodated our travel by including a tip for the cabbie. We walked to Venice beach by following the street to the left, then we found a lovely little walkway shortcut that avoids some of the bustle of the strip. It was about a 10 minute walk. It runs along a canal. The part of Venice beach we went to had some great-looking nightlife. Ice cream for the walk along the pier? Yes. Rent or buy a boogie board for good times in the waves?Yes.Handy shower station to rinse off?Yep!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Great hotel by the water

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Nice room.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Venice Beach, Santa Monica, and great restaurants.
Very nice hotel to stay near Venice Beach and Santa Monica. The room was nice and clean. Every room has a little patio/terrace which makes a very nice view. The room has a small fridge and a microwave. The breakfast was good, not great. The hotel has nice details... it has a dvd player and they have many movies in the lobby, nice toiletries and a door right into the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from L

Perfect spot on Mother Beach

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We stayed here for four nights. When we arrived we received a very warm welcome, the lady at reception orientated us to the hotel and room facilities. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Our patio was huge with plenty of furniture, overlooking the stunning beach and Marina. We could not have hoped for a better view! Perfect! The hotel was perfectly positioned to enable easy access to all the treasures Marina Del Rey has to offer, made even easier by the water bus offering tickets anywhere in the Marina for $1 each way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would look to return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Columbia, MD

Great alternative to expensive "luxury" hotels.

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The view and the location. Continental breakfast was free. Very convenient.
Cons: Needs some updating. The AC could use a replacement.
Location: Close to everything. Use the buses to get anywhere.
As the title says, set your expectations a notch lower and save a lot. The hotel was surrounded by name brand hotels costing twice as much. The location was unbeatable! Walk out the back to the surprisingly nice beach. An easy ten minute walk to Venice Beach, tour bus stops leading to all the beaches and LA attractions, and tons of food choices makes this a great place to stay. A bit rough around the edges, but the hotel is clean, safe, and a great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jun 4, 2014
having researched hotels in L.A they are particularly expensive compared to say L.Vegas.....where as the room was by no means glamorous it was clean and the view over the Marina was lovely and the staff very helpful indeed. I would recommend this hotel to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Lot's of amenities!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The location right on the beach was wonderful!
Location: Within walking distance of Venice beach.
I went to Marina Del Rey for a sports event and the staff was so accomodating. They made sure there was coffee brewed at 5 am for the people that needed to be at the event by 6 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from England

Good hotel next to Marina Del Ray beach

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Clean and tidy hotel in a good location. Tea or coffee provided in the lobby togeather with books and dvd,s
Cons: In room safes would be beneficial
Location: In a quiet location within walking distance to Venice Beach. Santa Monica can be reached either by the path along the beach or by bus
Hotel is just a 10/15 minute walk to Venice Beach pier. We had a upper bayside room which gave great views of the beach and harbour. The room came with the added advantage of a $50 dollar dinner voucher that could be used at the Cheesecake Factory next door. Excellent staff and a good breakfast was provided in the morning
2 out of 5
by celine from bc

Air conditioning antiquated and inadequate.

Posted May 20, 2014
Air conditioning should be updated, especially fir hot summer months. Breakfast not up to par considering the nightly rate. Location beautiful.