Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Delightful old place by Marina Del Rey

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Nice people, clean, location
Cons: For what it was... I guess this hotel is the best thing around.
Location: Right next to the Marina and a short walk down to Venice Beach and a short drive or long walk to Santa Monica.. Killer Shrimp was good.
I was greeted at the door by an affable woman who took a long time explaining every detail of the complex. She was funny. My room was downstairs and had a beach fronting patio, The "beach" is a man-made type deal that is near the marina so no waves but good for a swim, especially with kids. The room was dated but clean and reminded me of simpler times. The TVs don't have cable but use antennas but the staff welcomes you to their extensive DVD collection ( I didn't peruse but there were a lot of cases. The bed was comfy and the room had a fridge as well as a microwave. Coffee is available in the lobby 24 hours a day. Breakfast was ...okay. They had bananas, apples, yogurt (yoplait and activia), packaged bagels, packaged muffins, other packaged pastries, OJ, assorted cereals, and I think they had some pre-made breakfast sandwich jimmie dean things. It was standard at best but it was free ... so high five.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel-by-the Sea

It's right on the beach!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Good location, free parking right in front.
Cons: Change all the carpets and noisy, old air condition units.
Location: Near by Venice Beach. Right next to Cheescake Factory.
Very good location and very nice view from the balcony. It has little bit of old carpet smell but overall is an OK hotel. Breakfast is included. Free parking! Free internet as well but it didn't work in our downstairs room. We've got an upstairs room the second day and it was much better than downstairs. They charged 20 dollars more for the room change but it was worth it. We might stay there again. ( If they give us a room upstairs!) :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The views.
Cons: The housekeeping.
Location: Cheesecake factory and market near by. Venice Beach close but still a bit of a walk. Killer Shrimp is good for sea food and fairly close.
We checked in the Friday before Labor Day. Rooms are nice but older. Housekeeping could do a better job of cleaning and restocking supplies in the room. Views of Mother's Beach are very nice. Although the beach was very crowded during the day, the rooms were very quiet in the evenings. Was nice to sit on the patio and eat breakfast. The continental breakfast was good and had about anything you could want. If you are looking for hot foods, then you would want to eat breakfast somewhere else. The staff was pretty friendly but could use some improvement in that area. The Cheesecake Factory is next store and there is also a small market next store. If you are wanting anything else to eat though, it is a bit of walk if you don't have a vehicle. You can walk to Venice Beach, but is is a lengthy walk. If you are there when the Water Bus is running, it is nice to take it over to one of the other areas and eat or shop. Overall, I would rate the hotel fair to good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: see above - also one front desk person was extremely friendly & helpful :-)
Cons: Roadside room was quite dark
Location: beach, marina, santa monica
Good sized room, lovely view from foyer, nice staff, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

terrific location, comfortable room

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: patio and location
we had a wonderful patio with lounges and a table with an umbrella. the front desk clerk was so nice and accomadating. Free use of DVD's, coffee 24 hours a day and a nice continental breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Overlooks a beach.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location and availability of hot drinks
Cons: Is a bit dated in decor
Location: Venice Beach.
Hotel was excellent.The the room was clean, comfortable and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. 24 hour coffee/tea/hot chocolate and water available in lobby plus books and dvds to borrow. Breakfast consisted of cereals, cakes, waffles, toast etc - diy but unlimited and ample. Parking right outside and 10 minute walk to Venice Beach etc. We left a phone behind and staff contacted us and arranged it's onward transmission to a later hotel on our trip. We could hear people in neighbouring rooms but was quiet by the time we went to bed. Can't understand some of the previous negative comments posted.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

rundown

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: location, friendly desk staff
Cons: update the rooms
Location: great location right on mother's beach, walk to Venice beach
Pros: nice location, friendly clerks Cons: very rundown, musty smelling, gnats in the room, public beach is noisy. Some of the furniture was home made from 2x4s and pegboard. The rest was 20-30 years old. We wouldn't go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Charming small hotel right on the marina beach with excellent marina views and walking access to both Venice and Marina del Rey, plus nearby water taxi. We didn't make it to the free evening concert in the park, but did people-watch while eating excellent Cuban food near the Venice pier, and then wandered back streets back to the hotel. We appreciated the friendliness of the front desk staff, the DVD's to borrow, the comfortable room, and the very comfortable lobby sofas with the sea breezes blowing through. The location is also convenient to the airport, but you feel miles away from the hustle of town. The experience felt personal, as compared with large hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel at a hotel price

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Don't know where to begin. I usually don't write reviews but I have to comment our horrible experience. Walked into the place with no one there to greet us. The place is a cheap motel at the price of a hotel. The furnitures in the room look like they were picked at salvation army or put together at someone's garage. Had to bring the kids to shower at my brother's hotel because the bathroom seemed that CLEAN. This place makes Hampton Inn (2 stars) appears like a 5 stars hotel. During our last night there, someone started screaming and cursing up and down the hall at 1:30am. They even called the cops. Again, something you would expect from a cheap motel not a $270 per night hotel. Needless to say, we will not be returning. Should have stayed at Double Tree by Hilton, which is cheaper and higher class. Definitely willing to paid more to stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO USA

Charming Inn on Mother's beach in Marina Del Ray!!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Charming painted murals. Perfect location. Doesn't stink. Good showers and bath amenities. Fabulous bedding and towels. Clean.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Venice Beach, bike rentals nearby, paddleboard lessons, sunset cruises, perfect romantic getaway! perfect place for a family with kids. Safe 'hood.
This Inn is so rad. It is right!On!Mother's!Beach! You've got a stunning view from your enclosed back patio of the marina and Mother's Beach. Folks say it's called mother's beach because there is no surf to worry about knocking the little ones over. There's a friendly lifeguard on duty during the day. We spent a lovely evening walking around the marina, looking at all of the boats on the docks. There's a quite nice playground there, too. I love this hotel!! The king bed was so perfectly soft yet firm. They do triple-sheets, here, folks. Sumptuous towels. Remember to ask the front dest for beach towels. I wouldn't want to get those bath towels all sandy. They even have a basket of beach toys for the kids to use. We didn't bring our kids this time, but we will next time. The breakfast room is sweet. They had a lot of stuff for a better than nice continental breakfast, and snacks like cookies and apples to take with you on your adventures. I love the added service of a cab voucher to and from LAX. They even accommodated our travel by including a tip for the cabbie. We walked to Venice beach by following the street to the left, then we found a lovely little walkway shortcut that avoids some of the bustle of the strip. It was about a 10 minute walk. It runs along a canal. The part of Venice beach we went to had some great-looking nightlife. Ice cream for the walk along the pier? Yes. Rent or buy a boogie board for good times in the waves?Yes.Handy shower station to rinse off?Yep!