Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4or 5 Star Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Staff was great. The hotel seems a bit run down. The room smelled and did not seem very clean. Couches in room had stains on it. Musty smell in our room and other parts of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Charlotte, FL

Centrally located but quiet and peaceful.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Class and sophistication.
Location: Near to the Sunset Strip, Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Santa Monica Boulevard, view of the Hollywood sign and Capital Records building.
The staff was more than helpful and professional, the hotel is located in a very safe area.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

London Worst Hollywood

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The rooftop deck.
Cons: To not book several events on a single evening and NEVER allow music that loud in your common areas.
Location: Amarone is a wonderful Italian restaurant just up from the hotel on Sunset.
We stayed here a few years back and had an amazing experience so we naturally booked here again. We couldn't wait to enjoy a drink on the rooftop deck beside the fire pit. However, that was not a possibility. As it turns out, the hotel has become an "event hotel" we were told. On Saturday there were 3 parties taking place. A wedding party, a bar mitzvah, and a private event at the fire pit. The hotel was basically overrun with people. The common areas were hot, noisy, and crowded. While you could get to the pool the music was so loud that there was no way to enjoy it and the fire pit was off limits due to a private party. So, we went back to our room hoping to enjoy a nice evening together. That wasn't possible because the bass from the music was so incredibly loud in our room we couldn't relax and talk. We called the manager (who was very helpful) and complained. She said the music would be off at 10:00 and would have them turn it down. After several more calls, they finally moved us to another room which was OK for about 15 minutes until the music started up again. More calls and it finally stopped around midnight. The next morning I called Expedia and complained and a full refund was issued and the hotel manager personally apologized. However, our stayed was still ruined. We booked for 2 nights (Saturday & Sunday) but only stayed for a single night. Never, ever again. We moved to Sofitel and had a WONDERFUL experience the next day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N. Ireland

Classy hotel in central location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
The London was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It was my wife's 50th birthday, we wanted somewhere to relax for a week but close to the action of Hollywood etc. This hotel is perfectly situated to experience the best LA has to offer. Staff we're friendly and efficient, our room was huge, spotlessly clean and the bathroom was amazing with a huge bath and double shower! The complimentary breakfast was outstanding with fresh coffee, breads, smoked salmon, fresh fruit and cereals. A great start to the day. We were able to cover a lot of ground on foot although they all thought we were nuts! We even walked all the way to Santa Monica one day. Beverly Hills only 45 mins on foot. If I had one criticism, the gym seems to have been a bit of an afterthought. It was in a dull windowless room on the second floor...not very appealing. It would be amazing if they used some of the space on the vast roof garden for the gym, with the panoramic views over LA and Hollywood. We're saving up to go back to the London next year! A great trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Morro Bay, CA

Absolutely Fabulous

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: The attentiveness and courteousness of the staff and the accessibility to top restaurants and spa services on the premises.
Cons: Upgrade of the television and satellite services would be a plus.
Location: There's a delightful book store a block and a half from the hotel on Sunset Boulevard called, "Book Soup" that is an amazing store once you enter.
From the valet to the check-in, staff was attentive and conscientious to my every need and they were there before I had a moment to think about asking. The hotel's entrance and lobby are exceptionally maintained and the restaurants and gift shop are tremendous. Arriving at the room was a delight for tired eyes. The ambient lighting, modern fixtures, mini bar and refrigerator are everything anyone could ask for. The highlight of the stay was the bed and the bathroom. One of the most comfortable beds and pillows for a rode-hard wearied body and for unwinding, a very large, deep bathtub and huge double-shower that would relieve anyone's day of stress. The hotel supplies all you could ever need. Highly recommend a stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albury Australia

Nice central hotel in West Hollywood.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Hotel is just off Sunset Blvd & has a nice Gordon Ramsay Restaurant.Staff were very helpful & friendly. LA were going through a heat wave so walking was hard but hotel is 20 mins from Beverly Centre & a little further to Grove & Rodeo Dr shopping
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific stay. Friendly staff great space

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The design, large well lit bathrooms, great robes, business centre in my room.
Small issues came up that were dealt with immediately. Room was large with perfect amenities. The included breakfast in a beautiful dining room may have been the best part. Loved the stay. Will go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland

Weekend getaway

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Good decor, full services and helpful staff
Enjoyed drinks at the rooftop pool, very helpful staff and a central location to the Sunset Strip
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom k

A great roof top pool ... But poor poor ....room

Posted Sep 2, 2014
This is a first time review on the Expedia.com I would give it a 2 on a 5 scale. This was not the 5stars hotel!!!!! Very disappointed. ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gina Schatz

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com