Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Decent, if all you're looking for is a room.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Didn't see any blood stains, bed bugs, etc. that other reviews have stated. Literally a 5 min. walk to Universal Studios. it takes more due to traffic lights. Walls are a bit thin, but if you're just looking for a crash pad, this will do. Decent option for those that are frugal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The shower was very very small and the only window we had was blocked off by something so our whole stay there we had no clue if it was day or night from the room since the lack of window.
2 out of 5
by dick from La Paz Mexico

Nice location

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: location only
Cons: towels and bathroom amenities
Very tiny room, facilities not well kept. Bath towels the same size as bath mat. Overall getting to be a run down facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel near universal studios

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Decent hotel for the price. Close to universal studios and to local little shops and restauranta.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Ayako from London

Do you like Baked Potato ?

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Not really much, but the bed was comfortable.
Cons: Ventilation system, and more ashtrays in front yard.
Location: Near by Universal City. And the Baked Potato.
Main reason I booked this motel was a few minutes walk from my sole purpose of this trip, visiting the infamous the Baked Potato.It served the aim. My room was 122, corner room of grand level, bedroom is average size but NO window. Meant to be a smoking room, but not, I don't think they have one. Bathroom is clean, no plug for bathtub. Other rooms have flat screen TV, but not in mine, there's a microwave and fridge. Room itself stunk damp. ' What you pay, what you get' is precise word to describe this motel. Location is ok, I don't drive so I have to rely on public transport, a few minutes walk to Universal City tube station, and in front of the motel bus stop, bus will take you to Hollywood, also more connections from bus terminal from Universal City.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, terrible hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Clean the shower thoroughly, fix the places that are plastered and not painted. Maintenance on toilet.
Location: Within walking distance of the shuttle to Universal Studios, great location.
Room was small, had burns on carpet, had plaster on walls and ceiling. Mold in the shower, small shower, toilet leaked so it ran all day and night. Staff was disinterested, and kept giving us a different time that our room would be ready. They told us 20 minutes, we came back 30 minutes later and they told us 15 to 20 minutes. The "breakfast" was tampico orange juice, coffee, and donuts. Overall a bad experience, it's worth the extra 80 dollars to stay at one of the larger chain hotels.
2 out of 5
by Brad from Stockton, CA

Almost like living in dirt

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: walking distance to Universal Studios & Hollywood walk of fame
Cons: continental breakfast was doughnuts & coffee, milk, or juice
Location: right by the 101 freeway
we actually booked a room with 2 queen size beds that had a Jacuzzi tub. the room was for 3 adults & 2 children but they let us choose a room with 3 queen size beds or the Jacuzzi room, being the room with the Jacuzzi tub smelt of strong mold, we decided to take the room with 3 beds. The room smelt musty & dirty, the filters on both air conditioners were covered in dirt/dust and the vent on the hair dryer was the same. the floor looked kind of clean but when walking on it your socks become covered in dirt. The shower was really small, when I stood in it to take a shower my shoulders would touch from side wall to curtain, the shower head was so low I had to bend down to wash my head. wiring was on the surface of the walls and they had bad patch jobs all around, you could see where there were holes in the wall before. the continental breakfast each morning was coffee, juice, milk and doughnuts.
2 out of 5
by Mom from california

Disapointing Hotel Stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: It was close to the theater and had parking and the parking lot was well lit.
Cons: The first room was greasy. The carpet in the second room as well as the spreads were a lighter color.The first rm should not have been rented.We drove
Location: We drove to Santa Monica. The adds for the near by amusement pk did not look inviting.
The first room we were in was even too small for one person let alone a mother and child. I was upset when I went to the ofc to ask for a different room. Mgmt gave us a bigger room. It had two large beds, one would have worked. There was no place to set you luggage to unpack. No place to unpack anything. No table to set a cup of coffee or a soda, all the donut crumbs went on the floor. Ralph from The Mouse and The Motorcycle would have loved it. It definitely was disapointing for what we pd. / night. The T V remote needed batteries. My little girl had to stand on the bed , right in front of the hole in the T V casing. No clothes hangers. No pool (which was my one request when I booked). And just for the record the A M coffee was lousy.I
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Vikram from Sunnyvale

Great location, nothing else

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I just stayed as I was going to attend the new year's party in Universal Studio. It is walkable from this hotel (about 0.2 miles to the tram that takes you up to universal studio). There is some parking which was convenient to park my car, but don't expect anything else. We stayed only 1 night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location if you want to visit universal studi

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Not worth what you pay for this...very small and congested room....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Alex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and rating..., we are aware of the size of the rooms but that is a functional obselesence and can't be fixed! We have just renovated this property in March of 2013! Please keep in mind that Studio City Hotels are generally more expensive then other geographical areas! Management!