Ratings based on 1,362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto Canada

Extremely small washroom

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The location is not bad, with bus stop at the door.
Cons: The size of the washroom.
Location: Easy to get to downtown.
The location is not bad, with bus stop at the door. The room is small but still acceptable based on its price. But the washroom is too small to fit in a standard person. You can barely turn around in the shower. Besides, you need to put you feet over the toilet to close the washroom door.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Missoula MT

Cold room, no blankets, bad part of town.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
The heat didn't work and the room was freezing. It was so cold that we couldn't sleep without using extra towels as blankets. By "historic" they just mean old and run down. It was $116 total for one night and the check in and out were apparently very difficult and took a very long time. It may be close to down town, but it's surrouded by deteriorating little shacks and it is not a good idea to walk anywhere after dark.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles.

Waste of Time

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Cons: They need Better staff.
The Check in was Ridiculously long only one person working at the front desk .I booked through Expedia a week in advance. I didn't have the $50 deposit so I had to go to the bank to get cash . I told them ill be back I didn't know the area so it took me about half an hour to find a bank and get back to the hotel . Once I came back the they told me my room was already given to some one else, I asked how I didn't cancel my stay and i said ill be right back. Apparently I wasn't precise enough and didn't give them a play by play. So they gave it to some one else thinking i was not coming back . The whole situation was so irritating I spoke to the manger who found me a room that was smaller and and had only twin beds it was downgraded but still the same price as my original booking. I really really did not enjoy my stay the staff were unfriendly and weren't much help. I would never stay there or recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Nice hotel, facilities are just too old

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Not the best, but good if u don't wanna spend too much, very friendly staff but parking was too expensive
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom G. Tehachapi, CA

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Incompetent staff at check in. They Ended up charging my card and clearing out all the money in my bank account, over $1,000, when my balance to be paid was only $294. Leaving me with only the cash I happened to bring with me for my weekend vacation. The rooms were very tiny, but very clean, the one good thing about the hotel. The bathroom door was very difficult to close due to the smallness of the bathroom. I had three rooms and they were all the same, so it was not a fluke. They were rude at the time we left. Telling us it was our fault for their not charging the correct amount for parking our cars and that we should have been more clear in telling them how long our car was parked there. Because we would only park our cars there one night when we were staying three days. (That's sarcasm in case you couldn't tell.) Over all the experience was not fun. The money they charged and supposedly refunded or "voided" still has not been put back into my account and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Hotel need an update . Very old . Good location if you need to stay downtown at low coast . Walking distance to Convention Centre , Staples and Nokia Theatre .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

MayFair Hotel,LA

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: It's charm and location.
Cons: Possible sandwich offerings for take-aways. Otherwise it met all of my expectations and then some.
Location: Walking distance to the LA Convention Center and the Staples Arena and the downtown financial area.
European Hotel ambiance close to downtown and within walking distance of the Staples Arena and the LA Convention Center. Excellent Customer Service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Problem with the bathroom

Posted Oct 27, 2014
I had to take a shower with the water in my knees. I asked to the front to repair. But wasn't repaired.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Breakfast was great, but otherwise old worn out hotel with nothing to offer..staff is very friendly though!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Adelaide, Auatralia

OK? ?

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Staff were helpful, but thr place needs a lot of work