Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cosmin from Cyprus

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent position on the bank of the Nile
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the room, WiFi connection in the Salon Bar-Nubian Terrace very poor-needs improvement
We had a wonderful stay.Excellent breakfast, staff attentive and smiley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Al from Kuwait

Great Stay for the Price! Watch the word "VIEW"

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Staff and their service.
Cons: Communication about what a "view room" really is. Cleanliness could use a boost.
Location: The Nile River is the main attraction. Many restaurants and bars around the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Also, the star historical attractions
I write this after just returning on a four night visit. Times are very tough for the tourism industry, they cannot afford to employ too many people when there is an 80% vacancy rate, so I am mindful of this in my rating. The sleep was good. I paid for a "view room", but that meant interior patio view of courtyard, not view outside or of river. The Staff was great all around the hotel in pools, bars and restaurants - however closures were a happenstance of current conditions. The room was clean, comfortable with a nice patio. View of the Nile at sunset was priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

late check-out

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: very nicely appointed
Cons: staff
Location: excellent
Even though we did not arrive until after midnight, we were no allowed a late check-out. Hotel was practically empty, so was not impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr Bob

Very comfortable stay.

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: breakfast buffet. view of the Nile. cleanliness of the room.
Cons: Provide access to the roof for sunset viewing. No access while I was there. Upgrade the free internet access. Currently only slow speed available.
Location: Not far from Temples of Karnak and Luxor but best to go by taxi or with guide to avoid all the hassle from the people on the street.
The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of selections. The view of the Nile and the sunset was magnificent. The room was clean. The shower water pressure varied and the hot water pulsed but stayed warm enough. The flower gardens were wonderful and well maintained. Overall nice stay and would recommend this hotel to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Reykjavik, Iceland

Good "Oisis" for everyone

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Fume and engine noise from the Nilecruisers docked at next hotel.
Location: Very good
The Steigenberg is very well situated in Luxor and you have there all you need. Outside the hotel, on street and at the market (souk), hustling and haggle is terrible. The only bad thing connected to the hotel is the diesel fume and engine noise from the Nilecruisers docked at next hotel.
1 out of 5
by Sam from New York, NY, USA

This Hotel Does Not Care For its Guests

Posted Mar 31, 2013
We had an absolutely appalling experience at Steigenberger primarily due to the customer service from the management. After being told from reception a local call would be free to make, we were produced with a bill charging us for that call. The management called us liars and claimed that we would never have been informed a local call would be free and when asked for the managers name, he refused to give it, covered his name badge up and dissappeared from the reception area leaving no one to deal with us! It was not the cost of the call I was unhappy about , but the simple fact that the manager refused to admit that someone from his team misinformed us and instead of apologising, he insisted we were lying and point blank refused to deal with us further. Another manager was called in to deal with us who just ended up to be as useless as the one before. His basic english was well below parr and we could not understand him. This is highly unprofessional and not something we came to expect from a five star hotel. This hotel is not bad for the price and the staff who work there are friendly. However, the Management team just lets everyone else down. Would not recommend to my worst enemy im afraid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Asma from UK

a Nice Stay

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: The nile view room on third floor
Cons: expensive food, and charge for everything
Location: Location is good, taxi charge only 60LE to hotel, I will advise not to book hotel transport, its just a rip off.
Stayed at this hotel after reading tripadvisor reviewes for 5 nights. We had Nile view superior room. I must say, the room was just fabulous. As we arrived in evening, finding tea and coffee tray in room was a relief only to find later that it was charge of £5/day for tea/coffee tray with 5 small cookies. We declined the tray next day when they inquired why, and 2 days later, informed us, that tea/coffee would be complimentary as its superior room. So in actual we had tea/coffee facility for 3 days out of 5. we had room service, the hotel says not to bring food or drinks from outside but they charge 10 times the price of a can of a coke. Breakfast buffet was nice with variety. there is dance performance in the evening at their Lebanese and italian restaurants. Hotel has bazaar, where you can shop for goods at double the price from local market. I bought silver bracelet and the seller girl Safa was a nice young girl. I left my debit card at the shop but had email from Manager same day that it was taken care of, highly professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Evesham, UK

Good hotel in central Luxor

Posted Feb 25, 2013
Very nice hotel. It certainly deserves it's "Top 5 in Luxor" ranking. We stayed in a Superior Nile View room which cost a little more but was vast with a walk-in wardrobe room, separate bath and shower and a very big balcony with chairs. I believe the hotel is just over 10 years old but due to a few quirky design decisions looks a bit older. It is on a narrow fronted site which widens at the river frontage. The hotel has it's own Feluccas (the classic Nile sailing boats) which can be hired for 35 Egyptian pounds per person per hour. An hour long sunset sail with one of the great local sailors is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

A pleasurable stay.

Posted Feb 24, 2013
The hotel was welcoming and staff helpful and accommodating. Nice area by pool and in many lounges. Hotel restaurants are varied with good selection of ethnic food. Other restaurants, jewellry and souvenir shops are within walking distance so hotel is in a central location. There rules about bringing other people into the hotel. I wanted to thank my driver by bringing him into the hotel for dinner. I have had this same driver for 5 years in Luxor. It was allowed after asking permission of hotel management (as in school) but with much validation of ID. Also we were monitored and followed to each bar location. Westerners are not accustomed to this type of surveillance. Not sure why we cannot have more freedom.