Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Just off Gran Via, only 200m from Plaza de Espana

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Its location in the city centre and all its places of interest was really convenient. Fluency of desk staff in English compared to my poor Espagnol
Cons: The grout joints where the tiled sides of the bath meet the top edge of the bath need to be redone.
Location: Plaza de Espana 200m down the street, numerous fine cafes restaurants at Plaza Santo Domingo, plus Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor, Prado within walking.
The hotel is a rabbit warren of corridors but my room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom had lots of marble and tile although the grout was chipped along where the tiled sides met the edge of the bath. I particularly liked having a bidet. The excellent shower was a good alternative to using the bath some mornings. The steel shutters could completely black out all daylight which was a great bonus if sleeping when not dark outside. The hotel was very accommodating about a late checkout and let me keep my room until 2 pm which was a great help as I was able to shower after being out until after 12 noon before going to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Lovely hotel, staff could not have done more for me! Breakfast was good quality and good value. The room was clean and well maintained. Yes the bathroom could have used a little love, this in no way put a dampner on my stay. Great location - as a single female traveller I felt safe at all times
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, below average hotel.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Read the above.
To start with the only positive of this hotel would be the location. Based in the heart of Madrid city with a walking distance of about 5 minutes to Gran Via and Sol. The hotel room itself is very basic. The bed is uncomfortably hard with a thin bed sheet as a duvet. We requested for a duvet and we were provided with a blanket. We had to pay a deposit of £20.00 for the safe key. The safe is not a combination lock. There is no tea or coffee facility in the room. The toilet would randomly smell without even using it. The staff are rude. Avoid this hotel as there are many others around this location.
3 out of 5
by Brendan from Vancouver, BC

Faded Glory

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Interior spaces
This hotel is currently undergoing some sorely needed renovations. The room decor looks like it was last updated in the 90's and is looking worn and dated. Convenient location, but there are plenty of other nice hotels in the area that I would check out on my next visit.
1 out of 5
by David from Llandudno

The Worst Hotel In Madrid if not the World

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Get a manager who cares for his hotel and guests
Location: near to plaza Espania and pulic transport
Terrible.They have apparently acquired the adjacent building and annexed into one hotel.The room levels do not match which it very difficult to find find your room in the annex and route back to reception. Wifi is advertised but does not reach the rooms in the "annex" or at least in room 417 Warm breakfast is a joke Scrambled eggs and uncooked bacon were apparently laid out at &.30 and not changed or kept warm There were no facilities in the rooms or hotel to obtain tea or coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from Indiana, USA

Nice hotel, conveniently located to enjoy Madrid.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
I spent a week at this hotel while vacationing with my mother and sister in Madrid. They did a good job at accommodating the 3 of us in a room that was spacious enough not to bump into each other. I highly recommend this hotel due to location, cleanness an their helpful, professional and friendly staff. My only complain is the lack of an elevator at the ground level; I am a petite female and lifting my suitcase up 2 flies of stars is a bit too much.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bruce from Boston, Ma. U.S.A.

Convenient location, but....

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
My room had a very unpleasant odor similar to poor waste ventilation. I am not sure if the other rooms had this odor. The manager said he was just recently made aware but judging by the automatic scent machines that go off about every 15 minutes in the room, (annoying) not sure if that is an actual fact. My room was on the 6th floor in the adjacent part of the hotel. So please before you un-pack, have a good sniff before getting settled! Or request a room with external access to fresh air, not an "internal" room with a window leading to the middle of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J. from Florida, USA

Madrid/Coloso

Posted May 10, 2014
It was a nice room, hard wood floors, granite countertops throughout, quiet, but not a view. However, I was not staying in the room long enough to look out the window. Convenient location, you can walk to almost every one of the most touristy places: Palacio Real, Gran Vía, Templo de Debod! Excellent!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robin from Randalstown

Good Location

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
El Coloso is an ideally located hotel for exploring the city centre. It is clean and small but perhaps nearer to three rather than four store. Staff were very helpful.
1 out of 5
by Elisha from NM

Too hot to sleep!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The air conditioning was not working. We tried opening the window. There is no air flow to the inner rooms. Hard to explain... just stay somewhere eles. It was like a sauna. Awful. We only slept for 2 hours on and off. We won't stay there again.