Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Elisha from NM

Too hot to sleep!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The air conditioning was not working. We tried opening the window. There is no air flow to the inner rooms. Hard to explain... just stay somewhere eles. It was like a sauna. Awful. We only slept for 2 hours on and off. We won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you need a last minute hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
The hotel is just OK. Location is decent. For the amount of money you pay for the room you would expect a little more. The outside and check in look really nice but the hotel layout is funky and the rooms are blah. Beds and bedding were crap, towels were like hand towels, the hairdryer was broken. All I am saying is I think you could probably get more for your money somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Madrid !

Posted Mar 13, 2014
El Coloso Hotel is in a great location to explore Madrid. As soon as I checked in the hotel front desk staff was very friendly. The room I was given was very clean. The only strange thing about this hotel is the elevator set up. You can either access it through the lobby , then get off on the first floor to get another elevator or you could simply get the elevator by exiting the hotel and using the side entrance facing the street. The Palacio Real and Museo Cerralbo are both within walking distance. If you want to visit the Prado, Reina Sofia , and Thyssen, you can take a short taxi ride to the Prado, then from there you can easily walk to the other two museums. I booked guided tours with Julia Travel and their office is a very short walk from the hotel, probably about 5 minutes. Also next to the hotel is a grocery store in case you want to buy snacks to have in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Sussex

Excellent hotel in city centre.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Quality of food and rooms.
Location: 5 Minute walk to cathedral and Palace. You can walk to anywhere in the city centre. Very close to restaurants and pubs.
Excellent hotel that was clean and friendly. Very good breakfast buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel prefectly situated and calm.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Cleaning quality.
Location: Few mn form Plaza de oriente, Palacio Real, Teatro Real and the historical Center of Madrid.
The hotel is quiet, nice and really clean. This is really central of Madrid. The only lowlight is the street itself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to 2 metro stations.

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Very close to everything, very central to main attractions and main avenues. The bed mattress was old and uncomfortable. My room was closed to elevator and it was quiet, however cigarette smell filtered through the badroom and I had to maintain the door closed. I did not have breakfast in the hotel which was a plus. The hotel was very clean and in a safe area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from London

Very nice hotel just in the centre of Madrid

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent. The room was clean and comfortable.
Location: It is a few minutes from Plaza de EspaƱa, Callao, buses and underground.
Staff was very helpful and nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA, USA

Great location! Clean and cozy room.

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Staff was kind and helpful. It was nice to have breakfast in the morning before heading out for the day. Free WiFi is great. Rooms are small, but very clean and have everything you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vijay from San Jose, CA

Central location, clean and safe.

Posted Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Great central location Close to a few metro stations Walkable to palace and many other sights Clean and safe.
Cons: A little better bed or at least some nicer pillows. Better, reliable WiFi would be nice.
Location: Right by Gran Via 5-10 min walk from palace 10-15 min walk to Peurta del Sol, Plaza Mayor etc. Police station 2 doors down -if that matters
We just stayed there this past weekend and the place exceeded our lowered expectations. We went into it having read that this was not worthy or four stars. Also read reviews mentioning not bed comfort, bathrooms needing upgrades, noise from the street and poor WiFi. So we went in expecting a very basic experience. Overall, it may not be a 4 star in comparison to others we have stayed in, but we found it provided excellent value for what we paid. We rented two rooms one for us and one for our two teenage boys. We arrived late on the day of check-in but front desk staff was all prepared and ready for us. They had my online request for different bed arrangements in the two rooms taken care of. Both the rooms we got were actually configured like a small suite with a sofa and TV in one room separated from the bedroom and bathroom with a door. This was certainly a surprise. The rooms they gave us were on the 5th floor and very comfortable. We had no noise from the street -at all. Beds were reasonably comfortable. Pillows could have been better but we are not complaining. Bathroom was functional and clean - certainly with some signs of wear and tear that someone expecting a 4 star hotel may have quibbles with. We didn't have any issues and honestly it wasn't bad at all. Most importantly the water was hot and flowed with sufficient pressure. Wifi was spotty but worked despite disconnects ever so often. Still we were able to place a couple Skype calls with it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2013
We stayed at Coloso for two nights at the beginning of out trip and one night at the end. The first room was in the interior of the hotel with a tiny frosted window that let in hardly any light. It was totally quiet. Sort of like an sensory deprivation. The second room faced the street (front of the hotel). We were there on a Saturday night. Madrid has great nightlife that goes on until about 5:30 AM. And we could here it quite clearly in the room all night. People talking, police sirens, garbage trucks (?!?). So, if you want to sleep (especially on the weekend), a room not facing the street is manditory. Overall, the hotels rooms were the smallest and oldest appearing of the hotels we stayed in in Spain, but they were clean. On the plus side, the location is right in the middle of all the fun. It's also a short walk to the nearest Metro. The breakfast was excellent and well-priced. The desk staff was very friendly, helpful , and professional. Quite impressed with them. We felt totally safe in the hotel and in the neighborhood. So, this comes down to a value propostion. I'd stay here again if I had a good deal and a quiet room, but I'd be shopping around a little bit first.