Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Close to the center

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, friendly host
Cons: Lighting around wardrobe.
Small but clean, you get what you pay for, good enough if you are just looking for sleeping and having a shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caz from UK

Hostal Rivera is good value!

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Good location. Good price for an ensuite room which is quite rare in Madrid. Clean towels everyday.
Cons: Having a reception area.
Location: Sol is very near and the beautiful Retiro Park is not far away.
I stayed for quite a long time at this hostal and found it to be OK. The gentleman was friendly and helpful and tried to speak English. Clean rooms. Some rooms look out onto a tiny courtyard and don't have much natural light. Other rooms look on to the busy street. Calle de Atocha IS a very busy road! Traffic noise can be a problem, but there's shutters to deaden the noise. There's no lift and my room was 51 stairs up! Location is great - a 10 minute walk from Atocha station and just a couple of minutes from Anton Martin metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phyllis from Chesterfield

Hostel Rivera - Great location in Madrid

Posted Apr 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
This little hostal was on the 2nd floor of a building. The room was nice and had a shower en suite, It is in a very active part of Madrid. It was a 5 Euro trip to the Prado or The Royal Palace. It was only blocks from a square with lots going on including a restaurant with Flamenco Dancing shows. My sister and I walked the 6 blocks with little certain for safety as it is a well lit area. There was shopping and banks in either direction from the hostal and easy to catch a cab. The buses run there and there is a netro stop within a block. The wifi in the hostal was excellent. The staff which is the family who live on-site were pleasant. Though their English was limited (only flaw), but they tried to be helpful with any questions I had. I receommend it if you are looking for someplace to sleep and regroup while touring Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Predrag

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Hostel rivera Madrid

Posted May 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Rivera is classed as a hostel not Hotel. It offers clean if slightly shabby accomodation on the first and second floors on the Calle Atocha. The rooms are independant and there is no communal area or breakfast. The main advantage is that it is in easy walking distance of Atocha station and the main art galleries, old town and shops. It provides an inexpenisve servicable stop over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

no English

Posted Apr 29, 2011
They could not speak English. I was not able to have conversation with anybody there. no lift. Wifi - I could not use. No English - I could not get any information even where the airportbuses are. I will not go again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rivera in Madrid

Posted Mar 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
This is a hostal so it is not fair to ask it to be luxurious, but it was hard to stay here for a few minor reasons. If you are tall, you will hate the beds. They are super short and have a base board at the bottom so your feet can't hang off. The walls are super thin and we had to hear our neighbor's conversation 'til four in the morning every night. It's also on a major street that is super loud. But it's really close to the three major museums of Madrid, the metro and there are a bunch of restaurants nearby. The owner was really nice and spoke excellent English.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seoul

just on budget. dont expect more than that

Posted Nov 4, 2010
room without window : quiet but not satisfying room with window toward outside : very noise until 4am hardly sleep. just on budget in the center.