Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel close to Latino zone in Madrid.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The use of Wifi was appreciated during our stay.
Cons: Found the beds were too firm. Perhaps a mattress cover would help.
Location: The hotel is in a very good location in Latino. We could walk to Plaza Mayor, the Prado Museum, the market and the Palace.
Our stay at Hotel Ganivet was very pleasant. We enjoyed the offerings to hotel guests to dine for breakfast and dinner. Prices were reasonable and the buffet offered a variety of salads, tapas and hot dishes. Appreciated having access to aqua during our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Well located by a subway station and close to center location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, USA

A quick walk to all!

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: room size, helpful staff
Cons: nothing, we had no issues. The elevators can be slow at times, but not that big of a deal.
Location: Tourist bus is close and goes to all the sites. If you want to a flamenco show - book in advance! Toledo needs a full day, not a half day.
Hotel Ganivet is a nice hotel in a pretty good location in Madrid. It's close to the subway station, so you can easily get there. And, it's 1 block from a stop on the tourist bus route 1, so that's convenient too! It's probably about a 15-20 minute walk to Puerta del Sol and Palacio Real, so not too bad if you want to walk.. The rooms are a good size, so is the bathroom. The beds are a little hard, but that's pretty standard from other hotels in Spain. Breakfast is 10 euros and has a pretty good selection. The staff speak good English too, so if you don't know Spanish, you'll be fine there. And they offer bookings for many tours, so they can help you out there. Very nice stay overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel Ganivet

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the location.
Cons: Apparently wash cloths are not used at this hotel. You only get hand towels and bath towels.
Location: Great location because the metro is steps from the hotel and there are plenty of eateries nearby along with bars.
This hotel is pleasing to stay in and very well situated with easy access to transportation and places to eat. It is located in La Latina area with many shops and a great Asian restaurant close by. We were there 4 nights and enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas,VE

Great first stop for honeymoon!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The ganivet hotel is a great hotel. It's located at 100mts from Puerta de Toledo, 300mts from la Latina,400 mts from plaza mayor and about 700mts from Puerta del sol, this means you're at a walking distance from EVERYTHING in Madrid. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable, the staff is friendly and speak multiple languages flawlessly. The wifi is free but is a little bit slow and complicated to log in, don't expect to make a FaceTime call with this connection. The hotel doesn't have a mini bar in room and they don't provide amenities like shampoo or hair conditioner. But in general for the price of the room the hotel is great just for the cleanliness, the staff and the great location. The breakfast is 10 euro per person when is not included in your room rate and is a good option for the first day that you don't know around, after the first day there are plenty of other options to have breakfast, you just have to be creative. Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel, I would recommend the staff to upgrade the internet connection speed and bathroom amenities. Also if you ask for a queen or double room you'll receive 2 twin beds put together, this might be uncomfortable if you expect to sleep close to your partner because the beds turn apart very easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent value hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The location and cleanliness A good breakfast with lots of choice
Cons: Air conditioning was a bit noisy Food served at the bar in the evenings was not great
Location: It was close to the main plaza's but far enough away so it was also quiet at night. If you like football - visit Real Madrid stadium!
The hotel was in a very good location and was within walking distance of many of the main attractions. The room was very clean and new bedding and towels were provided every day. A substantial breakfast for 10 Euros.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kelly from USA

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
small rooms, nice staff, hop on hop off bus 1 block away plaza mayor 5 minutes very small rooms would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Rota, Spain

Great Deal Ultra Helpful Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really felt like the hotel was great for the amount paid. Breakfast was real solid and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You are not far from the Palace and Cathedral. You are not far from Plaza Mayor neither. The metro stop is real close by as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blessing from London

Lovely hotel with great staff

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Spent three nights at this hotel for a quick city break with a friend. The location is 10 to 15 minutes walk to the city center. On arrival the reception staff are so helpful in regards to booking tours, flamenco shows and other activities. You are also given a handy map to help you get around. The room was nice and clean. If you add breakfast you will not be disappointed. We stayed here during the week so I have no noise complaints. All in all a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Sandra from Guatemala

OK, but I wouldn't stay again

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Towels were too tiny
Location: Walking distance to Palacio Real; Gran Plaza y Puerta del Sol not too far away
The hotel is conveniently located, about 250 m from La Puerta de Toledo metro station. It has a nice and very reasonable restaurant and cafeteria. Dinner buffet was good and inexpensive. The rooms are quite basic.