Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Derek from Los Angeles

My non-existent stay at the Marinwood....

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: The reservation system & customer service...don't know about anything else because I didn't get past the lobby
I booked this hotel through Expedia, or so I thought I did, and when I arrived there was no room for me...which wouldn't have been a problem hadn't every hotel within a 30 mile radius also been booked that night. I couldn't ever get to the bottom of who dropped the ball on this (the hotel or Expedia), but the irony is, I called the hotel after I booked it with Expedia to confirm things were a go, and they pulled up the name fine and confirmed the reservation (I did this because I had a few questions and also knew it would be full around that area that night since I previously tried to book with several other hotels in that area, and was met with no success. Bottom line: don't have too much confidence that you actually have a reservation here...even when you do call and they say they have your reservation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Somewhat disappointing

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Kevin, the front desk manager and the complimentary breakfast.
Cons: The housekeeping staff needs supervision. The kitchen and bath should be furnished for the number of guests.
Location: Salsa dancing on Sunday afternoon at the Seahorse Restaurant, Sausalito.
I booked a room after reading the reviews stating that the rooms were completely renovated and all new amenities and furnishings. I found this only partially true. the furniture is new, but the kitchens and bath were still the 1950's vintage. Don't think that you will be doing any cooking in the kitchen, as there was only one small sauce pan, 2 plates, no glasses or bowls,1 spoon, 1 knife. Certainly would challenge any cook. The size of the suite was nice for an extended stay. There is a "No Smoking" policy, but the room we were given smelled like smoke and the previous thoughtless guest left there cigarette butts on the balcony. Kevin, the front desk manager, was kind enough to give us another suite immediately. The I never saw the pool as our suite was at the back of the property. The parking was easy access to the room and the complimentary breakfast was satisfactory. Although the lunch room and refrigerator were not clean. I think the housekeeping staff could use some supervision, only 3 towels in a room for 4 guests. The beds were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good bargain

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Location: Close to everything in Marin, had dinner in Tiburon and hiked Mt Tam and Pt Reyes.
Motel looks newly remodeled and everything was brand new. A little freeway noise, but really great price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Had a good stay

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was good a little noisy with the air but still good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jon from los angeles

Great Price & Truly Renovated!

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place and an all around Deal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James Whitworth from Mesa, AZ

Christmas visit to family members

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Remodeled room looked very nice. Walk-in closet was great! One problem was had to go out and buy a step-stool for wife to get into bed. It was about 36" from floor to bed. Don't need a 12" metal base plus the thick box springs and mattress. Desk height was still too high, even with office chair up as far as it would go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Ventura County

Marin Economy and Comfort

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Excellent location to access Marin County offerings without suffering noise and hubbub. Compared to competition the price is reasonable.
Cons: Paint details.
Location: Lots of shopping and many restaurants (fast food and fine) is nearby. Easy access to freeway.
The exterior of this older motel has been pleasingly lifted with color and the room have been planned to provide comfort to all travelers, especially business people. The room included a large flat-screened TV, huge desk/work surface, refrigerator/microwave and an attractive stone tile bath/shower areas, large and comfortable beds, and excellent black-out curtains. A generous continental breakfast is available. The motel is still being renovated. Hopefully paint details will be fine-tuned: inside and out the colors are tasteful but slapped on and a paint spill is on the drive outside the room. The bathroom is not heated, and the floor is chilly. New air conditioner blows onto bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Josh from atx

clean and roomy

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I don't normally make reviews. This was an exceptional stay for one night visit. we arrived late. The night clerk was very helpful. He gave me directions and instructions for plans that I had in San Francisco the next day. The room was clean and spacious. And we even had our own carport. it was set up like small condos.there was no one above us or below us to make noise. Very quiet, very relaxing last day in Cali before flying home to Texas. Definitely will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lone from canada

lone

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
A pleasant surprise totally 're done