Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach. Clean/comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Cons: Hotel could use some ambience. Add poolside delivery service.
Location: Grocery store just across the street! A few fast food places were also across the street. Lahiana is approx. 3 miles down the road.
Check-in went smoothly; valet parking is a plus. There is a $25/day resort fee for internet, use of gym and parking. Whether you self-park or valet park it is the same price. So we took advantage of the valet parking! There was no poolside service for drinks/food. No restaurant on the property except for a buffet breakfast area. The only food available during the day was "take out" with a limited menu near the pool area. Overall for the value it was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walt from Vancouver, Canada

Great location on the beach.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: We liked the beach being right at your doorstep, excellent buffet breakfasts, swimming pool, and the helpful staff.
Cons: Lacks a bigger hot tub area. Hallways and elevator space looked too institutional. It needs more art work on the walls, flowers and greenery.
Location: The location allows for snorkeling, swimming, walking along the beach, an excellent boardwalk linking you to numerous hotels, restaurants and shopping
We had a wonderful 2 weeks at the hotel. The staff was both friendly and very helpful. Our suite was very comfortable and spacious. The concierge staff was very helpful locating restaurants, churches, shopping areas, etc. They also were knowledgeable regarding the amenities both near the hotel as well as any activities available on the island. The hotel also offered many in-house activities including: fitness classes, ukulele lessons, lei making, table games, electronic games, miniature golf, table tennis, and much more. We spent about 25% of our time in the hotel. This was our first trip to Maui and we plan to come back again sometime. There is so much to see and do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! It is our goal to provide all our guests with wonderful, memorable vacations, and we are really pleased that our team helped make your stay at the Ka’anapali Beach Club a thoroughly enjoyable one. We are delighted that you’re planning to return here, and we hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MandalaOne from Phoenix

Very nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Great location, beautiful grounds, good food and beverage service, miniature golf was a nice surprise. Also great that towel service is provided.
Cons: The sofa sleeper (which we used) was ancient, creaky and sunken in the middle.
Location: Near Lahaina, shopping, sightseeing, Slappy Cakes, pancake restaurant nearby where you can make your own pancakes, fun!
Booked this hotel through Expedia, did not know it was a Time Share Property...that was really the only negative. Hotel was very nice, complimentary coffee in the morning, activities such as ping pong, miniature golf, Happy Hour including food and beverage specials. View of the ocean from the restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Maui. We are sorry to note that your stay was marred by the fact that the Ka’anapali Beach Club is a vacation ownership property: while we do invite guests to learn more about vacation ownership while they are staying here, this is not obligatory and we are sincerely sorry for any disruption that this caused to your vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AZluv2trvl from Phoenix

Perfect location; great value for the price

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Great 1-bedroom suite with ocean view. Had what appeared to be a newly renovated room in the Ohana Tower with more than enough space.
Cons: Should have the option of a concierge who helps with activity scheduling and nothing else. Took an extremely long time to just speak to someone.
Location: Central location allowed for a drive up the coast, trips to Lahaina and Whaler's Village and even a day trip the Maui Ocean Center.
Fantastic location, super friendly staff always ready to help. Great pool area and although the beachfront is small, there is plenty of space to lounge and enjoy because of the way the hotel,has the area set up. We rented the covered chaise lounges for two days and found the cost to be extremely reasonable when compared to what we have paid at other resorts.
3 out of 5
by Bert from Sydney,Australia

Tired old lady

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The beach, the pool the pool side staff who supplied towels and snorkeling equipment.
Cons: The common areas need a complete update, breakfast room is very dated and the food offered is the same every day and was below good hotel standards
Location: The supermarket is an easy walk, the town of Lahaina has good restaurants, good art and craft shops. We recommend the Atlantis submarine.
This is indeed a tired old lady, it was once a top of the range complex, but now is showing its age. While some of the rooms have been updated, the common areas are original. Pink walls and blue tiles! Faded fabric and saggy cushions on lounges in reception. The first room (level 2) we were given was dated, smelled of mould and over looked the hotel entrance, there were cars continually arriving/going with the noise of banging doors, car horns as people used their car locking system. We booked a room with an ocean view, what we got was a room with a view of the large, concrete portico, with ocean glimpses in the distance. With Expedia's help, we were able to change room (level 7) to one with distant ocean views. We spent a week there, however it was quite noisy with the hotel's water falls and pump rooms going all night. When we originally requested to speak to the hotel manager, we were promptly advised she was not available and they were not prepared to change us to another room, this was when we phoned Expedia and the lady took control and gave us several options, after she contacted the hotel manager direct. We have since learned that priority in all things is given to the prospects for the time share sales programme. The best way we found to enjoy our time was to eat elsewhere, or cook for ourselves, and to spend as much time as we could either on the beach, in the pool or in nearby towns.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M from California

High-rise hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent, and the staff were always extremely helpful and friendly!
Cons: Think about providing toothpaste, razors, mouthwash, and unlimited coffee. It's so expensive to buy and throw away.
Location: The Road to Hana bus trip is a must! The happy hour menu for dinner at the Sea House in Napili is another money saver.
This is an owner's time-share hotel, and we are not owners. We paid for an ocean view room, but had a 2nd story room with a view of the tops of palm trees overlooking the mini-golf course. Our room location was not ideal - noise from the mini-golf, noise from the hall, and elevators. After all that, the room was nice, the staff were wonderful, the location of the hotel was awesome. The hotel provides some amenities that you don't have to pack such as hairdryers, shampoo, and they provide laundry detergent. Very nice. The weather was not typical Hawaii, and unfortunately was cold, rainy, and windy while we were there. This made using the beautiful pool somewhat difficult. The grounds were also well kept and nicely manicured. We prefer the quiet slow pace of Kauai over Maui, and so therefore, we will most likely not be back to visit Maui, but this was a nice hotel and we were glad we stayed there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club. We are happy you enjoyed our resort’s amenities, yet regret that we could not provide all of the toiletry items you were looking for complimentary. These items are available for sale in our gift shop for our guests’ convenience. All of your remarks have been forwarded to the appropriate teams for review. We appreciate your feedback because it initiates discussions regarding new ways to better enhance our property. Thanks again for sharing your comments with us. Although you indicated you mostly like would not return, we hope you reconsider allowing us the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review of your recent stay at Ka'anapali Beach Club. We are happy you enjoyed our resort’s amenities, yet regret that we could not provide all of the toiletry items you were looking for complimentary. These items are available for sale in our gift shop for our guests’ convenience. All of your remarks have been forwarded to the appropriate teams for review. We appreciate your feedback because it initiates discussions regarding new ways to better enhance our property. Thanks again for sharing your comments with us. Although you indicated you mostly like would not return, we hope you reconsider allowing us the opportunity to host you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Crysana from Sacramento

Beach front hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
This hotel is right on the beach which is nice. The hotel is pink which gives it a very old outdated feel. It has been renovated partially. Inside the bathroom has 2 sinks on opposite sides of the bathroom which makes no sense and is a waste of space. The ceiling is still a pop corn ceiling. The furniture is outdated and could have been better. The mini golf course was in terrible shape but still playable. Overall the hotel was nice but lacking alot of amenities such as room service and several other things. I would recommend the place just don't expect high end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from California

A Very Pleasant Surprise

Posted Mar 15, 2014
I guess they have renovated the whole place, as we got a room on the second floor and it was awesome. The pool is great and its a stone's throw to the beach. The onsite food is plain, but the service at the bar and restaurant is excellent. A great supermarket is across the street, as well as a good coffee place, and a couple of tasty restaurants for breakfast and light dinner. Downtown Lahaina is only about 10 min drive. The valet parking and wireless internet is free, but I suspect the $25 per day resort fee has something to do with it. Our room had a dishwasher, full size fridge, microwave, plates, bowls, silverware, glasses...basically everything you need. If we go back to Maui, we'd happily use this place again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review – we are pleased that you chose to stay at the Ka’anapali Beach Club, and that the resort exceeded your expectations! You are correct that the $25 resort fee covers internet access and valet parking, as well as providing Fitness Center access and local calls. We are delighted that you would like to come back here, and we hope we’ll see you again!
1 out of 5
by Reesa from Southern California

They "overbooked."

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Cons: Upper managements competency. Being aware of how many people are booked and the room they have left. Rather than their greediness.
My family and I arrived to Kaanapali Beach Club on Feb. 26th, after a 6 hour flight and being awake since 3:30 am. We were hungry, tired and ready to get settled into our room. After waiting to get our keys to the room (that we booked and paid for 5 months prior) my husband and I were informed that they were overbooked and we were no longer going to be staying there. Instead they said, they would be moving us to a different resort and then proceeded to act like this was no big deal. We were now at the mercy of them since we had no where else to go. The place they "moved" us to was a downgrade. They had no velet, the rooms were smaller and the pool was a very small pool with no waterslide or activities with it. I am extremely disappointed with the resort and the greed that they displayed! Someone had to have known serveral weeks or even months before that there was overbooking done, rather than contact us and give us the choice where to stay, they told us the day that we arrived, with bags in hand and a very tired 9 yr. old with no choice but to stay where they put us. I have since checked the pricing of the Aston (where we were placed) and it is much cheeper than what we paid. I am so upset by this whole situation. I have always been a big believer in giving credit where credit is due. However, this was a terrible experience and I would hate for this to ever happen to anyone else! Please be very cautious before booking this place! This could be you!
4 out of 5
by sean from s, los angeles

Front staff attempted to scam

Posted Feb 27, 2014
When checking in front desk staff attempted to change hotels to a cheaper place making it an embarrasing experience