Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from California

A Very Pleasant Surprise

Posted Mar 15, 2014
I guess they have renovated the whole place, as we got a room on the second floor and it was awesome. The pool is great and its a stone's throw to the beach. The onsite food is plain, but the service at the bar and restaurant is excellent. A great supermarket is across the street, as well as a good coffee place, and a couple of tasty restaurants for breakfast and light dinner. Downtown Lahaina is only about 10 min drive. The valet parking and wireless internet is free, but I suspect the $25 per day resort fee has something to do with it. Our room had a dishwasher, full size fridge, microwave, plates, bowls, silverware, glasses...basically everything you need. If we go back to Maui, we'd happily use this place again.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for your review – we are pleased that you chose to stay at the Ka’anapali Beach Club, and that the resort exceeded your expectations! You are correct that the $25 resort fee covers internet access and valet parking, as well as providing Fitness Center access and local calls. We are delighted that you would like to come back here, and we hope we’ll see you again!
1 out of 5
by Reesa from Southern California

They "overbooked."

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Cons: Upper managements competency. Being aware of how many people are booked and the room they have left. Rather than their greediness.
My family and I arrived to Kaanapali Beach Club on Feb. 26th, after a 6 hour flight and being awake since 3:30 am. We were hungry, tired and ready to get settled into our room. After waiting to get our keys to the room (that we booked and paid for 5 months prior) my husband and I were informed that they were overbooked and we were no longer going to be staying there. Instead they said, they would be moving us to a different resort and then proceeded to act like this was no big deal. We were now at the mercy of them since we had no where else to go. The place they "moved" us to was a downgrade. They had no velet, the rooms were smaller and the pool was a very small pool with no waterslide or activities with it. I am extremely disappointed with the resort and the greed that they displayed! Someone had to have known serveral weeks or even months before that there was overbooking done, rather than contact us and give us the choice where to stay, they told us the day that we arrived, with bags in hand and a very tired 9 yr. old with no choice but to stay where they put us. I have since checked the pricing of the Aston (where we were placed) and it is much cheeper than what we paid. I am so upset by this whole situation. I have always been a big believer in giving credit where credit is due. However, this was a terrible experience and I would hate for this to ever happen to anyone else! Please be very cautious before booking this place! This could be you!
4 out of 5
by sean from s, los angeles

Front staff attempted to scam

Posted Feb 27, 2014
When checking in front desk staff attempted to change hotels to a cheaper place making it an embarrasing experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the money.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: This hotel was a good location for the money.
Location: Easy drivable distance from good swimming beaches, snorkel rental shops, grocery and local eateries.
We booked in November for a February trip and selected this property primarily based on location and cost. It was the most affordable hotel near Kaanapali that could sleep 4 with two separate rooms for people to sleep in. We got upgraded to a handicapped accessible room with a partial ocean view which was nice, and the refurbished room was clean and comfortable with a very serviceable mini-kitchen which we used for breakfast and cocktail hour. Although the location wasn't on the best swimming beach and wouldn't be a walkable distance for dinner with small children - it was a nice boardwalk walk from Black Rock for adults' morning exercise. The snorkeling off the beach wasn't great and there wasn't body surfing, but it was wonderful to be able to watch whales in the channel from the beach and it was easy driving distance from Flemming beach for body surfing and boogie boarding.
2 out of 5
by Barbara from Princeton, NJ

Surprise upgrade due to overbooking

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: When KBC over books, they send you to a much better property.
Cons: Public areas are dated and worn and due for a major update.
Location: KBC ( and Honua Kai) is located on a beautiful stretch of beach and beach walk. it is with walking distance of shops, restaurants and grocery stores
The survey would not allow me to submit without rating the cleanliness and comfort of the room which we never saw so I just entered disappointing. The other ratings are true. We had previously stayed at the KBC when it was an Embassy Suites. As we approached the check-in desk, we both commented that the property looked more worn than we had expected. The clerk at first did not have record of our reservation but then said the property was overbooked and we were to go next door to Honua Kai . KBC would be taking care of the resort fees. At first we were not at all happy but the clerk assured us we would like it much better. And you know, we did. Honua Kai is a 4 year old property that is very nicely appointed inside and out. Our one bedroom was spacious, immaculate and beautifully decorated. The grounds were well maintained with a variety of pool options-quiet, sunny, shady, water slides, etc. All in all the experience was wonderful and we will certainly stay at Honua Kai again. KBC not so much.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Orlando, FL

Very poor and unresponsive Hotel management

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: Good location, nice beach area, helpful concierges
Cons: Hotel Management should make guests a priority. Don't misrepresent how rooms are assigned and who has priority.
We stayed at the Kaanapali Beach Club hotel from 12/23/13 – 01/03/14. We booked our hotel room in October, 2013. When I initially booked through Expedia, I was concerned about getting a “renovated” room,since many reviewers had warned about the quality and cleanliness of the older rooms at this hotel. When I called the hotel, they assured me that my request for a renovated room would be noted on my file and they would accommodate my request. About two weeks prior to our arrival, I tried to lock in a commitment for a renovated room with their Front Desk area. I was told that room assignments are not made until the day of check in. This made me suspicious since the hotel is primarily a time share hotel, part of Diamond International and we were staying at the hotel during the peak holiday season. I called the manager of the Front Desk and left her several messages on her personal cell phone, she never returned my calls. When we arrived, our plane was delayed so we did not arrive at the hotel until 1:00am. We were given an old handicap accessible room with a broken thermostat that kept the temperature at 65 degrees all the time. In addition, I found that the hotel does not clean their rooms daily. I called the Front Desk and was told that rooms are supposed to be cleaned only every 4th day. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE NOT PART OF THE TIME SHARE PROGRAM, you have no priority and will receive 2nd class treatment at every step along the way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice option

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time here. The grounds are immaculate with beautiful waterfalls and landscaping, and the service was excellent. The rooms came with fridge and microwave, which was nice. The hotel dining options were also quite good. The only negative I had was the concierge was only a hard-sell time share operation. If you avoid this area and can figure out how to have fun in Maui on your own (not hard to do), this could be a good hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frank from LA

Nice hotel close to beach and shops

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Location: Black rock beach , Road to Hana,
Great location , Friendly staff ,Nice suite with kitchen and plenty of room. food are even cheaper at hotel than outside . mini golf are OK and swimming pool are big enough for everybody , The black rock beach are 1.3 mile away . There are live music at bar after 6pm just beside pool area . Beautiful view .