Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by HnV from UK

This is a great family friendly resort.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Location: Tried the crocodile farm: worth it with kids. I heard good things of Casela too. Also went to Port Louis but that was not really worth it in my mind.
This was a great week half board in a family suite. Hotel rooms a tiny bit outdated (built in 1991) but the beach and swimming pool where you spend most of the day are great. Excellent buffet for family. Pros Beach is beautiful Food is great (surprisingly the European food and imported products tend to taste better than what they do with local products) and buffet are of high standard while remaining family friendly Swimming pool is perfect for kids Many water sports activities are free of charge Staff is friendly and kids friendly All speak perfect French Cons Hotel a bit outdated, so not everything works perfectly Staff while friendly is reactive (not trying very hard, except for restaurant staff). You can spend a whole day at the pool or beach without anyone inquiring if you need anything or if you want a drink; they hang out at the bar and you have to get their attention. Same is true for the water sports guys: friendly but reactive, only answering questions albeit in a friendly way. Staff at reception is not very helpful (not that many answers or ways to solve your questions/problems). English is OK, not amazing (not surprising for French hotel) Restaurant options are limited (Chinese is good but not for every day, Fish is nice but often fully booked) but main buffet is varied and great quality. So overall not too much an issue Wine is very expensive (value for money) Overall, we had a great time and I would definitely recommend it to families!
3 out of 5
by Mum of 5 & 6 yr from london

Not bad, but could be better

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Beach and pool facilities good. Family rooms modern, clean and large. Kids meals available in room and pool restaurant were good. Set on a lovely location on shallow sea lagoon ideal for kids to play safely in. Problems are the food and drink are very expensive, there is no standard kids menu available in restaurants in evening, there are not enough sun beds (yes - if you're not there by 8am there is nothing for you!!!), they make you pay for wifi (which hardly works), and half of the rooms are located behind a marsh/swamp style pools which is mosquito heaven. Best to specifically ask for sea view rooms or you will be in these rooms which are far away and over horrible water swamps. The staff are not particularly helpful either I'm afraid. Has great potential, they just need to sort prices out and refurb the outside area of hotel. An average 4 star hotel, nothing more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Burnley, Lancashire, UK

First class hotel situated on the beach.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Mattress and overlying "protective sheet" somewhat uncomfortable.
Location: Beach location excellent but nearby township disappointing and in need of development to provide appropriate facilities.
This is an excellent hotel with really good facilities overseen and provided by a team of dedicated staff led by a first class management team directly involved in the provision of excellent service to clients, who really matter to them. The cleaning staff and gardeners and the personnel between the "top and the bottom" of the "pecking order" clearly demonstrating a caring ethos, which really mattered to them and their clients, whose needs were courteously and efficiently responded to, with a very friendly face and corresponding disposition. The management team are hands on and really good role models to other staff, who are obviously well motivated and supported by them in their joint task to deliver an excellent service to clients.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel, Staff, Internet

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: The mostly pleasant staff, the dining and pool facilities were wonderful.
Cons: Staff obviously need more training, internet, internet, internet.
Location: Wonderful location with a village nearby - wished there was a bus service though as the taxis fleece you.
Nice hotel, although not really up to 5 star standard. Really wonderful staff mainly - some tend to insult guests in their dialect (not even under their breath) - I understand creole as I'm Mauritian. No realistic internet access even though that was advertised on your website. The internet access was basic and so slow that you couldn't really do anything on it. I queried it with their so-called business centre and the lady there said it was basic internet access and hadn't been upgraded. Once you left the hotel, the internet access was normal. As I had booked the hotel because of internet access - I need to get some work done in the evenings - this was most annoying and I will not book with this hotel again. In fact I may not book with your company again because I would not be able to trust that what you've stated the hotel has is actually what they do have. I understand this is a holiday hotel but I needed to go to Mauritius at short notice because my father was ill and I have no relatives there anymore so had to book accommodation at a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KAB from Saudi Arabia

Great family vacation Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Room air-conditioning. Add more Restaurants.
Location: Safari trip, Sea Karting Karting, Sea Sports.
My family and I had a great time in the hotel and in Mauritius. From great well trained staff to facilities and the beach. We spent 9 nights, the staff are always serving us promptly with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Praveen from Chennai

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2013
I highly recommend this hotel. The sea view room was excellent. Enjoyed the blue waters. One of the best swimming pool I have come across. The hotel offers many free water activities. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Thank you Sofitel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping was very poor, personel lacks ethics.

Posted Jan 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
it could have been good if it wasnt for the fact that the housekkeping was nowhere near of a 4 star not to mention 5. The housekkeping personnel seemed to be forced to what they are supposed to and they hardly clean the room while we there, until they were prompted to do it. Also disapointing was the fact that we had someone coming to the room at 23:00 hours, when we were already in bed, though "do not disturb sign" was displayed. This Sofitel will not be my first choice next time I am in Mauritius that is for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Switzerland

Sofitel L'Imperial Flic en Flac

Posted Feb 25, 2012
Pros: The friendly staff and luxourious room
Cons: A suggestion - have music in the evening in the main restaurant.
Location: Superb - the local bus stop is only a 10 min walk away, Rps 32 to Port Louis. Taxis into Flic en Flac cost Rps 200 each way. The beach is magnificent
Sofitel L'Imperial has everything one would expect from a luxury hotel. Superb location on a beautiful beach. Plenty of sun loungers around the pool / on the beach. Many water activities are free - eg. pedalos, Laser and catamarans, goggles & snorkels. Staff are very attentive and friendly. Mauritians are very hospitable. Room quality was excellent - bed extremely comfortable. Many families with young children, and they seemed well looked after On the one negative point, as I had booked only hotel and breakfast, the evening buiffet priced at Rps 1,700 was on the expensive side. Excellent food and I ate there 5 nights out of 7, but pricey!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Oxford uk

Good compromise!

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: Gorgeous beach, nice big room.
Cons: Main self service restaurant.
Location: We chose this area as we arrived on a cruise ship into Port Louis and wanted somewhere between there and the airport.
The hotel was very nice, gorgeous beach and gardens. The room was also nice, a good size with large bathroom and a separate dressing room and toilet. The views were lovely from the room (top floor overlooking the sea) the hotel is getting a little bit tired but this is only very superficial and did not spoil our stay. The main self service restaurant was a bit chaotic! Tables weren't cleared and the food wasn't refilled often enough. It just needs someone to organise the staff a little better. The other restaurants were very nice and the food a good standard but you do need to book. As most big hotels the drinks were expensive, I didn't see anyone drinking wine with dinner. They don't seem to mind you bringing your own to the room so maybe that is what everyone was doing! Also it is not far to Flic and Flac to eat out if you wanted to. If you don't want to pay for the really expensive 5 star hotels here then this is a good compromise. Stayed February 2012
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from England

Large, quality resort

Posted Dec 5, 2011 on Hotels.com
Offers everything a resort should at this price - feels a tad dated in places but facilities and staff superb. As expected, anything outside of package price is very, very expensive