Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Romis from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel downtown Merida.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The staff was well informed and recommended us many interesting sites and restaurants. They reallly tried to make our stay enjoyable.
Cons: Rooms in the back building are more quiet than in the main building.
The hotel is located just 2 blocks away from the main plaza downtown. Most main attractions were located at a walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice!

Posted Jan 28, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
2 out of 5
by milica from usa

not worth the price

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: the garden does look nice
Cons: noise,claustrophobic feel of the rooms
There were 3 different options on line when choosing rooms.Basic ,Upper level(which I have chosen) and a "Suite"! To My surprise,The Upper Level Room that I got Was the first one next to the street,and we all know how horrible the traffic in the downtown Merida is.Not only That,it Was the first one next to the Hotel restaurant,where You have constant noise. The room has absolutely not a Single Window,just a small Screen on the Door that can be opened,but since this room is located next to the restaurant,that really does not work. At 1am in the morning my husband and I were woken up by a noise, from, I would Guess Hotel workers,taking some pool things up and down. Not to mention,that there are stains on the bathroom doors from i would Guess since the Hotel was opened and ABSOLUTELY not a Drop of Hot Water.So much for the 85usd Hotel. Not worth the price AT ALL!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Minneapolis, MN, USA

Great hotel for the money.

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Pros: Ambiance us great.
Cons: Food was a little high priced but very good.
Location: Close to downtown.
Very nice hotel and a great value for the money. Very clean. High ceilings in the rooms. Nice courtyard. Close to the town square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Atlanta, GA, USA

Good choice

Posted Mar 22, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Valet parking
Location: great
The hotel is located at the center of Merida, just one block away from the main square. The room is clean and spacious but the AC is quite loud. The staff can speak English and knows much about Merida. I don't like the valet parking, which is a block away from the hotel. Every time you pick up your car, you have to tell the staff to open the gate for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old World Atmosphere

Posted Mar 9, 2013
We enjoyed the old world feel and beauty of La Mision de Fray Diego during our 5 night stay. Each day our room was cleaned well, especially the bathroom. The bed was firm (which I like) and comfortable. We were happy to be provided with a safe in our room.The day time staff was very helpful and spoke English well, but we had some trouble communicating with the staff that worked in the late evening and in the very early morning as our Spanish was very limited. Also our room was near the desk and one night we were woken up by electronic noise and loud voices. We ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning and liked the food and felt the service was good. From the hotel it was a short walk to the Plaza which we found very convenient. La Mision was in a quieter spot than some other hotels we walked past however note that the buses in the city do start running early in the morning (around 5:30am)!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from Regina, SK, Canada

Great old hotel in a good location

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: Location and rustic look
Cons: Cold pool, but when it's 38C who,cares
Location: Great location
If you like small and quiet close to the main square tips is the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pablo

Charming colonial hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a great time in Mérida, in large part thanks to Misión de Fray Diego Hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful colonial building with lots of architectural details, in contrast with the decor of the rooms, which was understated, befitting the the original purpose of the building (a monastery?). The room was decent in size. I found the bathroom a little bit uncomfortable as there was no counter space at all, so I had to put my toiletries on the sink, or on the floor, or on the toilet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, except that, for my taste, the chef was a little bit on the generous side with the salt. The hotel is 2 blocks from the main square on a not-very-well-lit street. However, I soon found Mérida is a very safe city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by CA

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel a nice place to come back to after an afternoon in the hustle and bustle. Very peaceful and beautiful courtyard, restaurant and pool area. The rooms are sparse and the beds a little on the hard side, but I thought the price we got on Hotels.com made it a great value. We loved the bartenders and waiters. A few things to be aware of, scrambled eggs with sausage = scrambled eggs with hotdogs, special rooms are not that special, they don't have windows and are closer to the restaurant, street and noise. The standard rooms have windows and overlook the pool and are quiet.