Ratings based on 1,030 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for price, in nice area

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Location, security, staff nice, clean.
Cons: Needs a redo on interior paint/decor.
Basic accommodations, small room, very clean, decent amenities, very nice staff. Happy hour free, good security, valet parking and nearby parking garage. Close to all South Beach attractions, and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello there and thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Shelley! From the cleanliness, to the amenities that we offer, to the great service that our staff provides! It seems like you were able to enjoy it all! Come back again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The staff made my vacation one hundred times better, they are the best part about the hotel. Always friendly and willing to help with whatever you need or want.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
You are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you and yours back here soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Beware of construction next door.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The free shuttle to the airport was greatly appreciated even though we had to walk to another hotel to catch it. Thumbs up to complimentary happy hour
Cons: Fix the in-room safe. Put a light in the closet and increase wattage in all room lights. It's very dark.
Location: The location was good. It is close to high end stores and restaurants are within walking distance.
Our room was on the side of the hotel where the interior of a building is being gutted. Jack hammers at 7am is not a pleasant experience. Before staying there I would suggest you check on the progress of this activity. I realize it isn't anything that the hotel can control, but it would have been nice if we were warned ahead of time as to what to expect. Maybe a discount during the construction project would be appropriate. Other reviews were right on. The safe did not work. Take a flashlight. The closet is pitch black and if you don't want to leave anything behind, you should bring a flashlight. Another warning, there is no elevator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello there AK-Sue, We appreciate all of our guests feedback and thank you for sharing yours with us! Upon check in we advise our guests that there is construction going on. I am sorry that you were not aware of this. Unfortunately we do not have an elevator here. Our bellman are here to assist our guests with all of their lifting and carrying needs. I am sorry that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bethesda, MD

Good just for the location.

Posted Mar 6, 2015
The hotel is old and need some improvements. But for one of two nights it fits well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello there Leo, We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for sharing it with us! There is always space for improvement. Constructive feedback allows us to do this. I wish that you could have been more descriptive as to where we could have used improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom phila, pa

Nice hotel in a great locations

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Staff was very nice and helpful
Cons: They need an elavator, we had to carry all our bags to 3rd floor.
Location: This was the perfect location, close to beach and tourists attractions.
I really enjoyed my stay a hotel Shelley. The only problem I had was with the construction going on next door that stated 6am. I would definitely visit this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Katrine , Hotel Management
Hello Toni, Our guests feedback means the world to us! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the time you spent with us! I am terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by the construction going on next door. The project will be over before we know it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Small room, no one to clean the room until 4pm.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: clean the room on time
Location: go to the beach
The hotel is close to the south beach, a very good location. 1 Dollar per hour parking facility is availble two blocks away. CVS and Walgreens are within walking distance. Restaurants are round the corner. But, the hotel room is very small. The bath room is very small and I could not find a place to have my cosmetics displayed. The worst thing is that we left the room 10 am in the morning and be back at 4pm in the afternoon from beach. But we realized that no one is coming to clean the room at all. You can imagine that after a trip we need a rest, but we could see is a mess. We called and 20 minutes later, someone came to clean. She only do one bed and I am not satisfied. She asked for tips, which I really felt angry. I gave her 2 dollars, but I will not choose this hotel next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello there X, We appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the hottest spots. The housekeepers have until 5PM to clean the rooms. I am sorry that this inconvenienced you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty

Posted Feb 20, 2015
The smell was horrible.. AC didn't work and it was Roches in there
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Good Day and thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am terribly sorry that you found a strange smell here at the hotel. If we were aware that your A/C didn't work, we would have immediately moved you to another room! We advise our guests to keep their windows closed at all times, as this is how these critters enter the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom South Africa

Good location

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Location, I had a small issue that I needed to sort with the Hotels group management. They treated me as they want me back again. I was very satisfied
Cons: WIFI
Location: Close to the beach and dozens of restaurants
Rooms are small but for traveling and a solo traveler this hotel is great!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello there Gerhard, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! Our rooms are small, but we do offer rooms that are larger in size for those guests who need more space. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Bologna e Livorno

A buon mercato e piacevole atmosfera.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Buona atmosfera e buona posizione. Una buona soluzione per stare una o due notti in zona. Non ha colazione e questo è un limite. La nostra camera aveva due letti da una piazza e mezza ma per il resto nemmeno una sedia o un appoggio. Ottimo per coppia che si adatta o per giovani.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon Paxquale, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! It sounds like you enjoyed the location of our property. We are tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood, just blocks from all the hottest spots. We hope to have you come back and stay with us here at Hotel Shelley!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami beach fl

Good location, a little musty

Posted Feb 4, 2015
We started out a bit badly when the person who booked our room for us and who had already been to the hotel in the morning to provide a credit card and ID had to return from across town to present them again because the staff couldn't find any record of this. The room was small, as expected, and the bed was ok but the room had a slightly odd odor. We didn't complain because we were mostly out and were only staying one night. The location, however, is superb and the happy hour is a nice perk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Katrine, Hotel Management
Hello Pam T, Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! The name on the reservation must match the name that is on the ID of the person checking in. This is for our guests security. The location of our property is prime, as we are located in the heart of SoBe.