Ratings based on 558 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Nice hotel with lots to offer for entire family

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Spectacular views with lots to offer for the entire family. During our stay we had a difficult time getting clean towels and wash cloths due to a broken machine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The hotel and room were beautiful. The staff was very nice and helpful. It was an amazing and unforgettable experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent food. Wonderful resort.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
The resort was very nice. The entertainment was also very good each night. I would like them to improve on teen activities. My pre-teens had very limited activities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

ok hotel, nothing to rave about

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The pool and the beach
Cons: Major improvements are needed with the staff and the rooms needed to be cleaned properly. Staff doesn't seem to enjoy their job and as not as friendly
This hotel was very disappointing to us (3 couples in our party) When we checked in, we had no ac, and kept calling the front desk for help and couldn't get answers, after 2 hours, then someone let us know that the chiller was broken and they are fixing it. The ac start working 31/2 hours after we got our rooms, and it still didn't blow cold air for the duration of our stay. We booked an all inclusive, then found out, we can only choose two nights out of the four nights stay to eat at the specialty restaurants, the other nights had to be at the buffet restaurant which we got tired of. We had to pay for top shelf liquor, wifi, and safe box if we choose to use it. Staff was not helpful, had to keep asking for towels, as they only leave two towels in the roomonce a day. toiletries were not replenished when done. we were given an arrangement of fruits for my husband's birthday, and the next day the maid took it away when she cleaned our rooms. We didn't even get to eat any of the fruits. My sister and husband had to get their room changed because their room smelled badly and when the bellboy took them to the replacement room, someone was already in that room relaxing in their bed. What a shock and shame to walk in on someone. Mistakes Mistakes. We have stayed in resorts with lower star rating before and never had such bad experience. The front desk staff and maid service was the worst.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice Family hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
My family and I have been to this resort before however staff wasn't as friendly this time except for Warren the waiter at the buffet he treated us very well...Poolside entertainment staff not friendly and caters to the party people and those of with children seem to be an inconvenience..the lady that makes bracelets poolside is super sweet..loved making a bracelet..if you or a family member gets a sunburn find Sharon the gardener she will help you out with a natural Aloe Vera plant it was awesome..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Best Vacation ever.

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: At this time I don't know.
Location: Dunn's river fall was awesome, the best part was horse back riding in the ocean.
We had one of the best vacation ever at the Gran Bahia Principe we would recommend this resort to anyone the staff was very polite friendly food was great not forgetting the drinks weather was awesome always remember tipping is always a good thing the appreciates so much. The staff always say hi, hello, good morning how are you. There's so much I have to say about our stay but it will take a whole day to write remember there's so much to do. If you book a tour to go downtown or a place call Margaritaville please stay away the try to get you and there prices is twice as much if you buying liquor to bring back home shop at the duty free at the airport its $5-$10 cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis In.

The staff was the great thing about to hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The friendliest staff that i've ever had the pleasure to meet in all my years of traveling ... The OWNERS of the hotel need to step there game up PLEASE!!!, If they would like to have repeat business in the near future. If it wasn't for the lower ranking staff's we would have just left an went to anther hotel in Jamaica... The hotels upper management couldn't fix our problem an concers about the hotel at all, But the regular ( lower ranking staff) did an went over the call of duty an was glad to address and fix all of our concerns an problem that we encountered at once (ASAP) when the upper management couldn't and didn't even make any attempts to address our problems/concerns at all... That was so very SAD and almost destroyed our vacation... And for that I commend the lower level staff for there excellence an pride in there work as well as raising to the highest of standard of service to resolve each an every concern of ours.. THANK YOU LOWER LEVEL STAFF FOR YOUR HARD WORK AND PRIDE TO BE THE BEST PERSONS EACH AN EVERY ONE OF YOU ARE.... The UPPER RANKING MANAGEMENT TEAM as well as the OWNERS Of the HOTEL could an should take notes from the lower ranking staff an learn from there example ON HOW TO TREAT THERE GUESS .. A1 first class, Then i do believe that the hotel can become one of the hottest hotels in Jamaica.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

Nice beach

Posted Jun 6, 2015
I had a great time beach was nice friendly staff. Just needs to update the rooms and clean it properly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brandon, FL

Excellent Hotel!!

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Pool was enormous, plenty of chairs, ample food and drink. Private beach.
Cons: Wish there was a restaurant or snack bar at the pool but they don't like food near the pool. They did cook paella once pool side and that was great!
Location: We did not leave the resort. Was no reason too.
I am somone who reads reviews and realizes not everyone has the same experience but I wanted to share my time. Check in was easy and took no time at all. My room was awesome and rather large. Food at the buffets is what one would expect and all ala carte restaurants we enjoyed! The French one was hands down the best and actualy impressive. Bartenders and staff were all VERY friendly and went out of their way to make the trip great. Even though this is all inclusive resort people should realize a tip goes a long way! We tipped our maids, all dinner waiters and bartenders and they were extremly appreciative. The grounds were all very well kept inlcuding the pool area and the beach. All and all I feel like I got a great day with this hotel and will reccomend it and go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great staff & great food

Posted Jun 4, 2015
The food was delicious And the staff was really friendly. Overall I'd love to go back and take the kids too. Things I would change are the pillows and the vacation package presentation. They tell you it's no pressure, but pressure the heck out of you and it took 3 hours at the prime time of the day.