Ratings based on 1,176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

Is a great economical all inclusive

Posted Apr 18, 2015
We had a wonderful time there. It was a very relaxed, pleasant atmosphere. Only complaint was the ceiling light was not working when we got there, and we notified the front desk the first day, but it never got fixed in our five days there. Over all, it was great. we would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Affordable All-Inclusive Resort right on the Beach

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Price, Location, Amenities, Staff
Cons: Hotel needs USD ATM. Airport shuttle would be a huge improvement as well.
Location: The Pelican Restaurant, Margaritaville, The Pork Pit, Zip line Adventures, Craft Shops, Glass Bottom Boat Snorkeling Tours, Catamaran Cruises.
This was my second stay at the Royal Decameron in Montego Beach. Location: This resort is on the "Hip Strip". It's home to local shops, a gaming facility, Margaritaville, Hotels, and For-Profit beaches. The resort itself is a 5 minute drive from the Airport, which is great because cab fare is not cheap. Most importantly, while other hotels on the strip have ocean view's, they are not directly on the beach. RDC is right on the ocean. Staff: Both times I've stayed at RDC, the staff was always friendly from the time I checked-in to the time I checked-out. They always made sure to go the "extra mile" for you. Every time you pass a staff member in the hallways, expect a smile and to be asked how your trip is going so far. Food: The food is decent. I liked it, but nothing to brag about. But hey, it's included! For authentic Jamaican cuisine I suggest eating at The Pelican or The Pork Pit on the Hip Strip at least one day on your trip. Families: I'd say the majority of guests are couples and groups of friends. While kids may enjoy snorkeling or playing in the sand, there isn't much to do for younger children here. That was okay with me as I was looking for a quieter environment. There is another resort in Mo' Bay with slides and kiddie pools. Not included in the all-inclusive Package: Wi-Fi, Transportation, outside excursions. Also note: No ATM on site. There is an on-site Travel Agent to help you book day trips. Overall, I enjoyed both times and would stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the Caribbean Sea

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: spaced out , they have board walk so you don't have to walk in the sand.
Cons: Bottle water daily, shampoo daily
Location: shopping in town never pay the price its marked haggle.. four shirts they wanted 129.99 I paid 50
Hotel was great , easy to make dinner reservation. Weather was perfect so that always helps. We had the garden view room which had a twin bed in the sitting area with a refrigerator ( no charge), A/C, dresser ,TV, large closet, Iron & board. a short hall with a mirror to the bedroom with a king bed , TV and another A/C and large bathroom with tub/shower ,hair dryer, soap & 1 small bottle shampoo & 1 large bottle water for a week stay. Save your water bottle and they will fill it up for you .This is a gated area even the employees cant come back in after their shift. They will meet you outside the gate if you need help going somewhere. Taxi rides are expensive 15.00 one way from airport to this hotel short distance. 25.00 one way to Margaritaville which is in walking distance.They did offer free shuttle to Margaritaville friday night A lot of chairs all day long , free snorkel gear, and non motorized boats. Gym, playground for kids, basketball court, shuffleboard, tennis is across the street and plenty of food and drink. Nice to bring your own cup. Nightly entertainment from 8:30-10:30
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom upssate NY

Would stay again!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Very friendly and fun
Cons: Fix lighting in the rooms
Location: Just walk out the door and to the right .. all kinds of shops and Margaritaville. Airport is just a few minutes away..
We loved our time at Royal DeCameron Montego Bay. It's a relatively smaller resort, but has many things to do and several different beach options. They just opened a new beach that is gorgeous!! The food is ok, desserts are awesome. The employees are the best! Everyone is so pleasant and helpful. SO much fun. We met so many people from all over the world and really had a great time. It's not the top of the line, as in it needs some updates and some things don't work well, but we made do and it was fine. There are several different activities all day long, so you can always find something to do. It's really laid back too. You can dress up or not. They have entertainment every night that is pretty darn good and always entertaining. Be careful if you decide to participate. :) All the servers are great and the bartenders do a great job. The front desk is always helpful and friendly. It's location is great too. You can walk to the local shops and Margaritaville.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CO

Great Beach Experience

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The location was amazing.
Cons: No suggestions
Location: On the beach in Montego Bay with many activities on the property. all the attractions available to any visitor to Montego Bay can be easily accessed.
The staff were friendly and helpful and prompt to respond to all requests. The hotel was located on the beach and the beach facilities were well-maintained. I thoroughly enjoyed the stay and found it to be a fun, relaxing experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pa

house keeping

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: It is right in walkin distance of shopping and other restraunts.
Cons: Have free wifi in rooms. And faster on room cleaning.
Location: Like I said it's near shopping and restraurants.
Everyday our rooms were not cleaned till late afternoon. We never had towels or wash cloths sometimes till night. We always wanted to shower before supper but couldn't. They need to buy more towels and wash cloths.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

They'll send you to Runaway Beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The move to Runaway Beach....nothing about Montego Bay was even slightly pleasant
Cons: Don't book people and not have room for them. Expedia, you would do well to not service this hotel.
Location: Runaway Beach was secluded and quiet which was perfect for us. We also went to Dunns River Falls and did the hike up the falls which was excellent
We arrived in Montego Bay after several hours of travel for the day coupled with a shuttle ride to the hotel. Exhausted, the staff made us wait for 20 minutes while they were clearly trying to get their story in order. After the wait, they took us into the staff office to inform us that there was not a room available due to plumbing issues. When we challenged that as a lie and asked to see the room that was not capable of being stayed in, the manager on duty refused. They provided us no choice but to go to their sister resort in Runaway Beach. That Royal Decameron location was wonderful. Excellent staff, great service, beachside bungalow, etc. If anything the move was a blessing in disguise. I would not recommend the Montego Bay location to my enemy though after the way they treated us and clearly lied to our face in an effort to get rid of us and send us to the other location. It's pretty clear that they overbooked and moved those who had paid a discounted rate. Do NOT stay here; go to Runaway beach and let Silvan there take care of you. He and the rest of the staff were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Friendly staff, nice beach & location, good food

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Entertainment was fantastic, good food, nice gym, beautiful beach, friendly staff, convenient location. For a 3-star hotel, it's pretty good & clean.
Cons: poor water pressure in shower, no daily water bottles, no mini bar, no fresh strawberries or limes for margaritas, no free local calls, small pool
Location: Lots of excursions available, excellent location, close to airport, craft market nearby, some decent restaurants
When I arrived to the hotel there was no room for me. Apparently they had over-booked. I was disappointed and not impressed with the service. I waited in the lobby for over an hour for a Guest Service Agent / Manager to assist me. He suggested that I move to the Royal Decameron in Runaway Bay which is approximately 50 minutes away. I was not interested in this option as I had specifically booked my vacation in Montego Bay where my friends were staying. Furthermore, I was exhausted after a delayed flight and just wanted to get some sleep. I waited for another hour and then called Expedia who found an alternative hotel for me to stay at for one night. The Expedia staff were excellent!! The following day I returned to Royal Decameron. Management had a nice room ready for me. They upgraded me to an ocean view. They tried very hard to compensate me for my inconvenience. They were friendly and hospitable. They made things right and my stay was enjoyable. Perhaps it wasn't the best start to a vacation but at least they treated me well upon my return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Friendly, Relaxing Resort

Posted Feb 10, 2015
This was my husband and I first time to Montego Bay so we didn't know where to go and what to expect. The resort is very close to the airport. We got there before checkin so we didn't get to our room right away but was able to start drinking and eating. The food was good and if you are a fan of rum, you will love the drinks. All day long the staff is cleaning up and fixing the resort. My room was nice and clean. I think this resort is nice for the couple that are just trying to relax and enjoy each other company but if you are looking for a party, you may want to try another resort. It was an older, laid back crowd.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Royal Decameron Montego Bay

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Very very terrible room conditions. Staff was great though.