Ratings based on 348 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to town

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The muffins and coffee for breakfast, small patio, and walking distance to downtown. Quiet, comfortable room.
Cons: Room needs one more chair and a small table so two people can sit comfortably to watch TV and to eat breakfast.
Location: Short ten minute walk to town. Use the brochure in hotel lobby to do a walking tour of a dozen historic homes in town. Many cafes in town too.
When I opened the door of this 1950's style motel I was so surprised how beautiful the furnishings and decor were. Room was completely renovated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Traveled to the area for work for two days. Affordable and wonderful. Felt more like a little vacation once on the property and in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

WE ALWAYS STAY THER CLOSE TO BEACH & RESTAURANTS.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: PET FRIENDLY
Cons: NOT A THING NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
GREAT. I WON'T TAKE THIS REVIEW AGAIN IF I HAVE TO GO THROUGH ALL THIS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from morgan hill

Leaves a bit to be desired

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Being in Pacific Grove is always a good thing.
Cons: Furniture, venting and noise reduction for laundry room
Location: Many good things to do in Monterey and PG.
The room was large, freshly painted, and generally clean. The bed was very comfortable. That was the good stuff. bad stuff - only one chair in the room, no tables,(my wife and I like to play games, there was no way to do that due to lacking furniture) a very small, very cheap dresser in the room. Our room was located right next to the laundry room, we could not open the windows in the dressing area or bathroom due to the noise, heat coming from the vents, and the excessive lint. (it looked like there blown in insulation out the windows due to lack of good filtering) They also did laundry until a little after 10pm and started again at 7:30am. The spa,the fire pit, and the breakfast were across (a very wide) street, no way we could use those as we have some personal mobility issues. When we noted these items to the clerk, she shrugged and said, yes, they are renovating rooms and adding more furniture, but I should write on the comment form which was in our room, oops it was missing. This was a Wednesday night, they were not booked, not sure why we got such a poor room location and lack of furniture.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice location; Needs Renovation

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Needs renovation and cleaning.
Location: Near ocean.
Overall I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. It wasn't terrible but definitely not worth the cost. We wanted to spend a week in Pacific Grove but didn't look for lodging until the "last minute." Sea Breeze one the only place with any availability which also accepted dogs. The "king bed" room was tiny. My wife was bit by an insect the 2nd night, while sleeping in the bed. I don't necessarily blame the hotel but it happened. The windows and doors were not well insulated and needed work. I suspect bugs and other vermin have easy entrance/egress from these units. The sink stunk of foul odors. It really smelled awful. The cleaning staff was not very competent, albiet nice. Their attention to detail was very lacking. One day I noticed a cart left out in front of a unit and a crow (bird) was hopping around on it and picking food out of a trash bag and tossing towels around. Our unit featured paper thin walls and constant noise from the laundry, which was next to us. Also, I could see out the window that the laundry room was not properly vented, resulting in lint being blown all over between the units, including into our unit. No air conditioner. Neighbors were smoking in the room and in front of it. The fixtures and plumbing were all loose and in need of repair. TV featured no movie channels and the entry level tv was not fully featured with inputs and thus we could not hook up the DVD player we brough
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuba City

Anniversary stay

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Seen this hotel amd checked out the review and they were pretty good for the pricing of the rooms. Enjoyed the small cozy room and especially the fire pit that we enjoyed late night. I would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Excellent for the price.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
We were slightly concerned after reading some of the reviews and with the two star rating....the staff at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. The room was a nice size and had a small fridge and micro which was nice. The bathroom was spacious and very clean! The room appeared and smelled clean and the bed was much more comfy than you'd expect at a two star......the hot tub could be a little cleaner, but no other complaints...would love for them to have little flavored creamers for the coffee:) . For the price and the location it was perfect....we thought about staying at a pricier hotel in town but decided to free up the extra money and do activities In Monterey ...... Sooooo glad we did. Would definitely recommend this room for the value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: It was very clean....
Cons: The continental breakfast (muffins and coffee) need to improve. Most continental breakfast motels offer eggs, muffins, sausage/bacon, etc.
I have stayed here twice within the past year. Some of the rooms are clean but run-down. I stayed across the street this last stay and the room was updated and beautiful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san Jose, CA

Birthday get-away

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the beach and the Monterey/Carmel attractions.
Cons: Addition of a hot tub on the same side of the street as the registration office would be a start.
Location: See above.
The bed was way too soft. My personal preference is for a firm mattress. The shower was a bit "funky" but functional. Location of the pool and hot tub across the street was a bit strange and not handy at all. Especially in cool evenings as is normal in Pacific Grove.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Cottages are nice
Cons: No AC or fans, which is something we didn't expect. Breakfast is advertised but it was pitiful.
It was ok, nothing to rave about. Cottages are nice.