Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston TX

Awesome jungle view lodge in the mountains

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The wood lodge feel and the genuine concern of the staff and management that we were happy with our stay.
Cons: Fireplace on in the morning as well as night!
Location: 100% Aventura Don Juan Coffee tour
The lodge was wonderful. Upon arrival, we had booked for a balcony room for two nights, and were told upon arrival that the reservation had been incorrectly processed and would have to move to a garden view room for our second night. We were given a total credit for the second night, along with a free dinner to make up for our inconvenience. All was arranged and credited within 24 hours of the mistake. In spite of the mistake, we felt very well taken care of and attended to. The garden view room was equally as beautiful as the balcony room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel within the rainforest

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, lodge, restaurant
Cons: adding bug plug in repellents in the rooms
Location: cloud forests, zip lining, atv, hiking trails
We stayed 2 nights here, its a nice lodge with great staff. There were quite enough veggie options. i liked the fact that there was no TVs in the room. The roads getting here from Arenal were quite rough, however that has no bearing on the hotel itself :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom parsippany

First trip to Monteverde

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: not much..if any I recommend adding better ventilation in the bathrooms and add TVs to the guestrooms
Location: Lots to mention or write.. The hanging bridges & zip lining are definitely recommended
Great place, excellent staff who are eager to help always..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rafrom los angeles

amazing staff in a charming hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for a few nights during rainy season and loved it. The staff is what makes this lodge. They go above and beyond what is expected. They are friendly, helpful, and overall provide great service. We were celebrating a special occasion and they even surprised us with a treat. We booked all our tours with the front desk and were very satisfied with the guides they work with. Transportation to and from the activities were provided. Some came with a fee. It's a 15 min walk into town so you don't need a taxi for that. There is a supermarket on the way to town. Score! We bought snacks and souvenirs there. The hotel itself is great. They aim for a rustic cabin feel with a fireplace inside and wood everywhere. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a dispenser with shampoo, conditioner, and soap in the shower. No TV but there is WiFi. No a/c either but it's not needed it since this area is chillier. Very comfortable blankies! That was also a pleasant surprise. The restaurant which serves delicious food overlooks a huge garden. I thought it was on the pricey side but when we'd go into town, we spend almost the same. And the results weren't as good as the in hotel restaurant. Looked like they had a full bar. Free coffee/tea and snack in the afternoon. Being that it rains LITERALLY every afternoon during rainy season, we spent a few afternoons sitting by the fireplace. I'm from California where rain storm usually means drizzle. Bring an umbrella, poncho, and bug spray. (That's just a bonus tip!) We would stay here again if given the choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Perfekte Lage für Unternehmungen in Monteverde

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Das Hotel verfügt über einen schönen Garten, durch diesen führt ein kurzer Rundweg. Man ist schnell in die Stad gelaufen. Das Personal ist sehr nett, leider gibt es nicht sehr lange Frühstück, glaube nur bis 9 Uhr ?? Die Standartzimmer sind für 4 Personen etwas eng.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico D.F.

Hotel en Monteverde

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Monteverde Lodge es un hotel muy cómodo, las camas están en excelente estado, las habitaciones huelen muy rico y la atención del personal es excelente. Incluye un desayuno a la carta que me pareció simplemente bueno. Es un lugar céntrico y puede uno ir caminando al centro del pueblo. Mi habitación no tenía televisión.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Toch teleurstellend

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Kamers vielen tegen, klein en harde bedden . Hotel beetje ongezellig ook.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlantak, Ga.

Wonderful hotel and convenient location

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Location, grounds, restaurant and staff were all excellent.
Location: We ziplined at Selaventura which was one of the best experiences of our trip. Cloud Forest tour was great as is just exploring the town.
This hotel has beautiful grounds with some nice hiking trails. It is within walking distance to town and some great restaurants. The hotel restaurant is also excellent and we chose to eat dinner there twice. The views from the rooms were very nice. We saw quite a bit of wildlife just sitting in our room. The rooms were a bit smaller than our previous hotel in Arenal so we had to get two separate rooms for our family of 4. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The night tour with Carlos was excellent! We saw so many things that we would never have seen during the day or by ourselves - I would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brucefrom Apple Valley, MN

Beautiful hotel, fairly pricey, but exc. service

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and gardens around the hotel, in a good Monteverde location. A bit pricey but excellent breakfast service included in the price. Customer and maid service was excellent. They setup a number of tours with no problems and were happy to help with any details or questions. No pool but a very nice jacuzzi. Many animals in the gardens outside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Petefrom UK

In the Cloud Forest

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location, gardens and wildlife.
Cons: Internet,
Location: Great for local Eco Forest walks/ tours - cheaper by far if you just go and pay admission plus local attractions if you want zip wire , canopy tours.
The hotel is in the cloud forest area of Monteverde - lots of local attractions if you like zip wires and hanging bridges. However it is also very much an area to walk in the various Eco forests which have a wide variety of wildlife and flora/ for . To reach the hotel means negotiating some difficult Costa Rican roads full of loose stone, protruding rocks and avoiding other locals driving twice as fast as you will be going !! The hotel was very quiet when we were there in June but the rooms were well appointed overall and comfortable ! Not TV in the whole hotel which some may not appreciate. WiFi was spasmodic for smartphone/ pad users although there was an internet room for computer connections. Breakfasts were good as were evening meals although you are in easy reach of the town of St Elena. The gardens of the hotel were full of flowers which attracted a wide range of birds and butterflies. Free coffee and cakes/ biscuits between 11am and 4 pm was welcome. Overall we enjoyed this location,