Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SL from new york, ny

great stay

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice hotel! not perfect for a 5 star but great location and service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dogland from London

Luxurious hotel with a few glitches

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel meets the standards of a luxurious hotel, but for the price tag I'd expect more. (WIFI isn't free though.) The minibar didn't get refilled on a few days and the housekeeping forgot to take the used plates and cups twice. The staff was courteous though and the gym was very nice. The location is the best part -- only 5 minutes away from Marienplatz and public transport, and the Hofbrauhaus is just next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bob u from Seattle

Wonderful, top line hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel; near ideal location. Staff - especially the concierge - were incredibly helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom are very spacious and well appointed. We dined in the hotel restaurant one evening and it was one of our best dining experiences of the three week trip. We will stay again on our next visit to Munich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by AC in the OC from Orange County

After traveling to Munich for 30 years

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've been traveling to Munich for 30 years and have stayed in all the local premium hotels. This was my first stay in the Mandarin. I was upgraded upon checkin to a larger room, which was fabulous as is the entire property. But what made the difference was the people, I have never received service in Germany like I did at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great for a city break but expensive

Posted Dec 8, 2012
Pros: Room
Cons: Eating options
Location: Great very central
A lovely hotel well situated in a quiet area close to centre. However unable to eat at the rooftop Bavarian hut was full on all three nights and booked Marks restaurant at midday for dinner the next night they confirmed ok and four hours later were told we could not eat there as it would be closed for a special event. They claim to have a bistro as well but that is just an area off the lobby and is unwelcoming so eat elsewhere. Bar staff and pianist are great in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ryan

Felt like home

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
First stop on a trip halfway around the world. Was a great place to acclimate. The staff was incredible and returning to the hotel each day was so comfortable it was like coming home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cam from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Five Gold Stars

Posted Sep 23, 2012
Pros: Service, service, service. Friendliness of staff. Helpfulness of staff. Location.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Right in the heart of the Marienplatz area. Lots of shopping, tours, bars, cafes, and things to do right outside your hotel.
This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at! The service is second to none, the quality of the room was great. The concierge was terrific with taking care of our every need or recommending places and things to do. Hotel is a bit tough to get to if you are driving because it is located right in the heart of the action in the Marienplatz area of Munich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RCyril from St. Petersburg, Russia

a luxury hotel in the center of the city

Posted Jan 24, 2012
A top class hotel located in the center of Munich. Walking distance to Maximilianstr (upscale shopping street) and all the famous breweries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leeds, UK

Everything you'd expect

Posted Nov 18, 2011
From the initial welcome (friendly, relaxed and efficient) through to the quality of the room and the general service, I don't think I've stayed anywhere better. Definitely worth it as a special treat - if all the Mandarin Orientals are as good as Munich's, then I will be looking out for them in future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NEPA

Great Hotel...NOT SO GOOD VIEW

Posted Jul 9, 2011
The hotel was awesome! The Room was Awesome! The service was Awesome...We visited this hotel on a 2 night visit to Munich It was very pricey...However if you have the money go ahead and spend it.. You won't be disappointed...EXCEPT FOR THE VIEW....We asked for an upgrade since we were celebrating our anniversary. However it wasn't avaiable (or so we were told). We recieved a room on floor 3. When we opened the window, we faced a parking garage that was 5 floors high....SO it truly was a bad view! We asked again for a different room "CITY VIEW" as they called it and were told that there were none open! We kept the curtains closed the whole time. Now the good!... FRONT DESK STAFF WAS WONDERFUL...They even offered us a complimentary welcome drink upon arrival. Both nights there was a man playing light sounds on the Piano....BEAUTIFUl...Especially after the hustle and bustle of all the beer gardens (which was our primary reason for going to GermanY)...It was nice after seeing the busy city to be able to go back to an EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE LOBBY AND ROOM and enjoy the night... LOCATION IS AWESOME>>>Right next to Hofbrau House...(a little to touristy for our liking) but you can walk just 3 minutes to the town square where there is plenty of action...The pool area is fun! GREAT PLACE TO mingle! They have free internet in the lobby as well as free computers next to the front desk! AGAIN MY ONLY COMPLAINT WOULD BE THE VIEW..It is Mandarin Oriental so the price is always high