Ratings based on 4,194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maxwell House: Don't Go!

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: I would get new front desk staff and stop overbooking.
Location: Indoor Go-Karting was fun!
I do not like the Maxwell House and I will never go back. I had a two night reservation and they had somehow overbooked the hotel and we were sent to the Springhill Suites down the road (which is an excellent hotel...I would book there). We were not told that we were going to be at the Springhill Suites for only one night and we had to pack up all of our stuff and move back to the Maxwell House the second night. We found out we were only staying at the Springhill for one night when the housekieeping called us and asked why our stuff was still in the room. The front desk staff at the Maxwell is extremely rude and not helpful. They called and told me my room was ready 30 minutes before I got there but when I made it....i had to go somewhere else. And just to make our trip worse....a water line burst and our water was brown. If I was you, I would just plan on staying somewhere else.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas,TX

Nice hotel not far from downtown Nashville

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Proximity to downtown/shuttle that takes you to/from.
Cons: Showers.
Location: Only 10 min drive from downtown which is very convenient.
Great hotel close to downtown. Even has a shuttle that takes you to and from which is very convenient. I'd consider this an average hotel overall. It suited our needs and I would definitely stay again. Only con was the shower in the room where the drain was clogged.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Once was nice hotel

Posted May 19, 2015
Cons: WiFi
Maxwell House is certainly not in the prime area where you want to be (ie. downtown or near Vanderbilt). It is an isolated hotel right off the freeway. There was no wi-fi while we stayed there which made life difficult as I was on a business trip. However, it is a lot less expensive than "prime" location hotels so I guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good experience. Could be better.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Very close to downtown but not downtown. Clean and had all the basics.
Cons: Food at the bar could be better - but it is a bar. The main lady at Praline's was a bit cranky. Free wifi was nice but lacked capacity.
Location: Close to everything which is great. Vicinity is kinda strange.
Good experience. Could be better. Some staff seemed very happy and engaged - shuttles, front desk, bar, restaurant. Seems they are doing what they can to keep the hotel affordable - cutting some corners - overall it works. If you're picky you'll notice where the cost cutting comes into play. Most people will probably be happy with the experience overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Cold showers, transport from hotel not good & more

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: It was supposed to be three stars, it's not; I'd give it one and that's being kind.
Cons: Everything!!
Location: Too far from downtown and there is nothing to do near by.
The hotel room I was in was a disability room which was a plus because I'm disabled but you had to like cold showers cos there was no hot water for a shower. The shuttle was not really disability friendly and not all the staff were friendly. The hotel was too far out from downtown. The check-in time was 4 pm but when you checked in you were asked to wait at least another half hour.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Okay hotel, not okay rooms

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds, relatively quiet, good location, beautiful patio and pool and lobby, great gift shop
Cons: The facilities (please see comments in "experience" section)
Location: Gas station, fast food nearby; 10 minutes from Vanderbilt and West End
The hotel looks like such a luxury hotel on the website, and in fact the lobby and restaurants and especially patio were lovely, but our room was extremely disappointing and there is not luxury hotel service. No space to put things (especially in the bathroom); closet rack too low to hang our clothes on; bathroom floor and A/C unit not clean; ant traps visible around the A/C unit (glad they had them but couldn't they find a more subtle or permanent way to get rid of the ants); all in all not the luxury hotel presented. We got a deal but if I had paid the full asking price I would have been livid; I'm not happy at all with the deal we got (still way too much for these accommodations). These seem to be building problems more than personnel who were all friendly enough (the cleaning staff noteably more helpful and friendly than the desk staff). The beds were comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overall experience

Posted May 12, 2015
Close enough to downtown with a great shuttle service and friendly staff. Would recommend for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Hotel staff untrained

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The beds
Cons: Better training
The hotel staff at check in, were very confused and seemed lost. Had a hard time working the computer system. We had prepaid for 2 rooms, and they were to be adjoining, they had the 2 rooms, but they were not adjoining. The 3rd room we called and booked directly thru the hotel because we were unsure of the number of guest we would have in our party and didn't want to prepay and it not be refunded. Once we got there to check in, they had "lost" the 3rd room, and since we reserved it (3rd room) thru the hotel they said that our military discount would be applied once we paid for the room at check in. This was untrue. They said it had to be reserved with the discount applied. The staff didn't offer any compensation, even though the whole process to get checked in took over 30 minutes. Out of the 3 rooms, none were set up the same, the room I stayed in didn't even have a full length mirror. I will say though, the beds were super comfy. And everything was clean even if it was a little out dated. The location was great. The idea of the shuttle is great, but they didn't have very long hours or offer to shuttle many places. The breakfast buffet was good, a little pricey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and convenient loction.

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom counter spacd
Location: Convenient to downtown Nashville and all happenings. Shuttle service provided to downtown locations.
The room stay was good. The hotel is conveniently located for activities downtown and the Vanderbuilt University campus. Rooms are o.k. however the bathroom lacked shelf space. Overall a good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

MYSTERY STAY

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Good location & hotel lobby etc., pleasant
Cons: Rooms for accommodation. Dated & in need of refurbishment. Wash basin outside the bathroom & next to the door?
Location: Great location. Close to Downtown & lots to see & do there.
Excited to see what had been offered to me, on a mystery selection (as I knew it was a risk). On arrival; very disappointed :( Hotel shuttle phone answered & left on hold x 5? 50 mins later, it arrived. Internet very poor. Shuttle service did not have any proper fixed times, so it made very spasmodic, which was a shame. Rooms for accommodation - needs total refurbishing. Swimming pool closed for the season (no dates), shame, as weather was good.