Ratings based on 1,501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Convenient location

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Very comfortable bed , large room and convenient location
Cons: Room could have done with updating but wouldn't deter us from returning or recommending it.
Location: Restaurants, shops, all the sites you look for within walking distance.
Good value for money, good location, central for getting around to see what New York has to offer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CYPRUS

nice hotel near the 5th avenue

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: THE HOTEL NEEDS RENOVATION.
Location: THE HOTEL IS NEAR THE 5TH AVENUE AND 25 MINUTES WALK TO TIMES SQUARE.FOR A SHOPPING EXPERIENCE THE LOCATION IS GREAT.
THE HOTEL IS OLD BUT THE ROOMS ARE SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE.AMIRA THE RECEPTIONIST WAS VERY HELPFUL AND VERY FRIENDLY AND PLEASANT. THE WIFI WAS GREAT.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A Premier Hotel it is not.

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The location, the staff, the fact that we were able to enjoy a room free from street noise and the public spaces (the bar and seating area).
Cons: The room and its furnishings. the noisy air conditioner and the bathroom which needs a major overhaul.
Location: Broadway and the Morgan Library, sufficient for our brief stay.
We only stayed one night. The room was well insulated (we were not bothered by street noise) and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly. The location and internet service were as advertised and met our needs. However, the carpet was torn in many areas, the shades were ripped, the air conditioning noisy, and most important to us the bathroom fixtures (eg. the faucets, the towel rack, the soap holder) were unstable. All the towels were rough and the bath towels too small. Not a premier hotel as advertised and certainly not worth the money. We were disappointed as we planned to stay here again, and no longer will.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from köln

Gute Lage

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Das Hotel hat eine gute zentrale Lage. Teilweise etwas abgewohnt, aber sehr sauber. Sehr freundliches Personal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel....

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The staff, and the view from our window of the Chrysler building.
Cons: The price of the mini-bar, quite expensive..... I suppose that's nothing new but £40 for bottle of red wine, a tad excessive....
Location: A short walk from Grand Central Station, and about a 20 minute walk from Times Square.
We were up-graded to an executive room, which was an added bonus.... Really nice staff, very clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Terrible service

Posted Jun 17, 2015
The window cannot closed room 302 and facilities very old. Front desk cannot confirm my reservation and ask me to send confirm email to her personal email address.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Durham UK

Nice place to stay in midtown

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: powerful air con
Cons: some fixtures and fittings a little tired maybe due for a refurb
Location: grand central around the corner close to most places such as times square and empire state.
We had a lovely stay here for four nights nice clean room big tv excellent views great staff faultless really
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

Very disappointing and dated decor.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: God location, shame about the hotel!
Cons: A lot to bring it up to a decent standard, and a full change of staff.
Location: Pier 9 ferry service to Williamsburg from 34th street. 4 used each way.
We stayed at their sister hotel 2 years ago, the tuscany, and that was much better. The Court was very disappointing and the staff were disinterested and intact were quite rude. The rooms were not clean and the beds were not changed daily, the bathrooms were small even for nyc, and the bath suite was old and tired. It all looked like they were waiting for it to be renovated and had given up caring. For the cost of the room you could have stayed somewhere much better, it was not a cheap hotel and we have 2 rooms. hotel staff were too busy talking to each other to pay attention to customers, doormen didn't open doors, concierge 'literally have no idea' when asked simple questions, check in were rude to people that couldn't speak English. When we came to store our bags at check out we were told by 'Oscar' that we had to pay him for this even though reception said it was a free service, he demanded a tip and said he was just trying to make a living and that reception should not have said it was free. I suggest the staff talk to each other and not take out their anger on paying customers. We are happy to tip bell boys for taking bags to room or loading into a taxi, but not for a free storage service. If you have to ask for a tip you perhaps don't deserve one... 'Oscar' was threatening and were then worried about the state of our bags when were going to collect them. Luckily bags were fine, and we did tip the bell boy that got us a taxi and loaded the bags. Won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philly

Close to good restaurants

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Good restaurants & reasonably priced Room service good for breakfast but pricey ( compared to other mid priced hotels) Not many sights close by Except grand central station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

Came to NYC for the Belmont Stakes - nice stay

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: No complaints
Location: Within easy walking distance to Times Square, Penn Station, Grand Central Station. Easy to get around the city from here.
Came to NYC to see the Belmont Stakes. Pleased with the hotel. The staff were VERY nice. Charming, renovated older hotel. Would definitely stay here again.