Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly. I like the fact that there was always hot water and the heater was working very well.
Cons: This hotel need more towels. everytime I asked for fresh towels, they did not have any and I had to wait for more towels to be cleaned.
Location: This is an excellent location because it is in the center of everything that you need.
2 out of 5
by M from SC

Okay, but not on my list of favorites

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Clean hotel. Mattress ancient, but comfortable. Checked in late (about 8pm), desk clerk didn't bother to explain about wi-fi (my bad I guess, I didn't ask). Got to room and had to call the front desk ... NOT a secured network, choice of 3 routers, and a crap shoot to find the one that would connect. Okay, watch TV - no channel guide available, had to painstakingly flip through the channels and make notes. Breakfast choices: dry cereal, make your own waffles, muffins/doughnuts, toast, and grits you have to "cook" yourself with hot water from a dispenser (didn't work ... not instant grits!). To avoid a simple carb overload and get a good breakfast for a reasonable price, go to Bill & Fran's Restaurant on Hwy 34, just off I-26; about a 7-10 minute drive from the hotel and well worth it. Oh, one more thing - warm weather, but the pool was closed. Bummer.
1 out of 5
by Lang

Terrible place

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The hotel needs updating & refurbishing
Location: OK
This was such a run-down place with some very unsavorily characters as guests. The breakfast bar was one of the worst we're ever encountered. There was a very drunk man at breakfast the last morning who was using foul language and trying to get into a fight with other diners. As I got up to leave and take my breakfast back to my room, the desk clerk called him down and asked him to leave. This left a very bad taste in my mouth, and I shall NEVER use that hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else.
1 out of 5
by Phil from SC

Econo Lodge in Newberry, SC

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: The bathroom was nice. The second room had a good air conditioner.
Cons: Get rid of the extremely strong deodorizer. It almost killed me. Buy new bedspreads and sheets. Replace the older air conditioners.
Location: This weekend - state horseshoe championship tournament (that's why I went), a Newberry College football game and an "Elvis" Convention.
This is the worse motel/hotel In which I have EVER stayed. First of all the room was supposed to have a king sized bed. It did not. The air conditioner did not work and they were well aware of that because they had a box fan running in the room, but I guess they thought I would stay anyhow. They did allow be to change rooms. In the second room there was an overwhelming smell of carpet cleaner. I can't describe how strong it was. My throat is irritated and my sense of taste has been affected. The TV had a bit of a problem. There were cigarette holes in the bedspread and stains on the sheets. There was a spider web and spider in a corner of the ceiling and there was a grasshopper that spent the weekend with me. There were no other rooms available in Newberry this weekend. I would not have stayed if I could have found another room.
2 out of 5
by Bob from Kentucky

basic lodging

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Price
Towels stained and sparse. Room A/C extremely noisy, Bed was OK. Breakfast was minimal. Basic lodging, probably OK for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from South Carolina, USA

VERY BASIC NEEDS ONLY

Posted Apr 29, 2013
Pros: The staff was friendly
Cons: the "Feel" of the room ~ Very out dated, not the cleanest..
Location: Very convenient location..
First of all this is Newberry, so there are but so many Hotels/Motels to choose from.. This one suits the needs of the basic stay for a weekend, they were very friendly and that was the best impression. The rooms look absolutely NOTHING like the photo's you see online.. They are very out dated, the bed was not really comfortable, the carpet needed cleaning.. But the air was clean, which is hard to find in this type of hotel. The thing that bugged me was there was not a coffee pot in the room, and the room itself could have used some updating, but if I had to go back to Newberry for any reason, I guess I'd stay there again, due to the lack of options in this price range, and how friendly the staff was..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Annette from Kentucky

Convenient

Posted Mar 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice breakfast. Poor coffee-not hot & weak.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by E Comer

close to town

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is old, but staff was great, room was clean but old furniture, great bathroom (updated) & close to just about everything, plus really close to town center. I think if they upgraded things (furniture & painting outside) it would be more appealing. Great location. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by kristy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels.com