Ratings based on 1,880 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from puerto rico

The air conditioning did not worked well.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Personnel was friendly.
Cons: Needs to improve the a/c
The room was hot . The business center computers were not enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

High Expectations, Low Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfortable.
Cons: Everything! The front desk staff, the restaurant staff, the belll men, parking and for goodness sakes, provide internet service for free! Renovateroom
Location: Great location for Washington DC and Maryland.
My Partner and I were meeting our closest friends to get married, and I booked two rooms so we would have the most pleasing weekend and memorable experience. The check in was a hassle. The front desk staff appeared poorly trained and incredibly unprepared for the volume of reservations. Couldn't find the reservation, room wasn't ready, no internet availability. Parking was $26 per day, but the facility didn't recognize our room key, so we spent the entire visit trying to get into and out of the garage without any resolution by the staff. I felt they didn't care after I complained several times. It did get resolved on the last day. Oh Well. Requested change for $20 bill and was sent to two restaurants and the Bell man with no change. The front desk said we should check with the valet parking attendants.Ridiculous. The foood and drinks were almost 2.5 times any hotel I've stayed in over 6 years. Additional Tips expected. Very Disappointing. I can go on, but do not want to remember the hassles. We should have stayed elsewhere. Marriage went as planned but the hotel jaded the life experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, fl

Not what we expected at all.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Relatively close to most of the monuments and museums.
Cons: Needs to be updated and repaired.
Location: Again, close to attractions, museums, and the monuments. There is a major mall nearby if you wanted to get something to eat or a souvenir.
The hotel looked dated and was in need of repairs. Our bathroom had peeling wallpaper and paint peeling from the ceiling, mold in the tile grout lines and at the edge of the tub. The room was a bit smaller than the average room we would usually get say in Orlando, Fl., so we were a bit cramped for four of us. The bi-fold closet door wouldn't open or close properly. The room had only 3 towels for four people. The toilet backed up on us the first day, and when we called the desk, no one came for 2 hours, so we left and had to find other means to go, if you know what I mean. You had to pay to park and for wi-fi, usually included in most hotels, luckily, our deal included both. The air conditioner stopped working the last day, and the family said the sheets felt damp when we returned to the hotel that night. We have stayed in Doubletree hotels before, and the pictures are a bit deceiving, in our opinion, this hotel is not worth the price or the Doubletree name.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
hotel was beautiful, staff friendly, would have liked free wi-fi in-room, overall loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Helpful staff

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staff helpful answering questions
Cons: more information
Location: metro into DC, there was a mall nearby where a food court was available
Overall OK. I had to learn how to use the hotel- To learn after a frigid night how to adjust the a/c, where to get the transport from the metro to the hotel after standing in the pouring rain for an hour.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accomodations

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Better accommodations for guest to be able to heat up simple food items.
Location: shuttle to mall.
When I booked the room I was told that it included continental breakfast, it did not. There was no microwave, cups or eating utensils available for guest to use and the refrigerator was not cold. My room keys were deactivated on the second day which required unexpected time to go back to the registration desk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not bad

Posted Jul 14, 2014
no good places to go nearby. the living condition is not up to my expectation. i can sometimes hear noises next to my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent !

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The fact that is clean.
Cons: Wi-Fi inside the room.
Location: Visit the main monuments.
The only downfall was the fact that I had to go to the lobby to acces the wireless internet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

You Would Expect Better for the Price

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location near the airport.
Cons: Customer service training for the check-in staff. Make customers feel appreciated especially if they have to wait on a room. Renovate the hotel.
Location: Location is good if visiting the DC area.
I arrived around noon and was told there were no rooms ready. I along with about 30 other people had to wait 3 hours before we could get a room. We were not offered any kind of amenities during our wait such as coffee or drinks. The bar was not open so it was just sit and wait since we were all carrying luggage. The check-in staff was indifferent to the point of not being very friendly. You felt like you were imposing on them. I ate at the lobby cafe and the revolving dining room during my stay. Both locations are in serious need of an upgrade. The wear is really starting to show and the food is second rate at best. The breakfast buffet had lukewarm food and you are not even offered water or juice. It is always the small details that are overlooked that really bring down a hotel and this location excells at missing the small courtesies. The rooms are comfortable but small for the price. I have stayed in hotels in Georgetown and and the Dupont Circle area and this location is very subpar to my previous stays. If you are driving a vehicle, the Doubletree parking garage is a nightmare, small cramped spaces and difficult to get in and out of the garage. You need a map to get out of the garage and back into the hotel. The single biggest problem with this hotel is the lack of customer service and appreciation right at check-in. The first impression is everything and the Doubletree failed miserably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great Location

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Everything was awesome! The staffing very helpful, access to everything needed for site seeing purposes, clean hotel, and just overall was pleased with my first experience to DC.