Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Close drive to the metro station

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The air conditioning worked. I didn't see bugs or pests in my room. The parking lot was well lit.
Cons: Updating the bedding (I could literally see through the sheets in some sections). Not mixing the smoking and non smoking sheets. Better cleanliness.
Location: The station for the metro was a close drive and easy to get to Washington DC with. There was a plaza with a store within walking distance.
I stayed at the Extended Stay America for 3 nights. The 1st night the fire alarms in the hotel went off at 4:30 am. Although I had a "non-smoking" room parts of the bedding was so worn and had clear cigarette burns all over it. I don't think advertising that there are non-smoking rooms if you're just going to mix the bedding from those rooms is appropriate. I'm not sure if it was because of the bedding or if it was something else but the room clearly had a light cigarette smell. The "grab and go" breakfast the next day was pretty limited and what I would consider a light snack. There were bruised apples, oranges, original oatmeal packets, and individually wrapped "muffins" that were really dry. The staff doesn't replenish the food stock until the very last item was gone and I mean it. There was a single chocolate muffin in the basket for over 5 minutes and several people went through the food station. It wasn't until someone took the muffin did the staff member refill the basket with more muffins. While the hotel room itself didn't seem to have any bugs or anything gross like that, I was disappointed at the cleanliness of the hotel entrance, hallways, and stairwells. The trash room on the floor made the hallway smell really bad. One day there were random used towels in a pile by my room all day. It seemed that some guests thought it was okay to leave their trash in the stairwells and entrances of the hotel and the staff didn't find a need to clean that all 3 nights of my stay
1 out of 5
by Jim from TX

Over priced for quality and service

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: plenty of things for eating and shopping, but it still doesn't make up for the poor facility itself.
There was issues from point one, the front desk staff was rude from the point I attempted to check in. There was suspicious issues related to the use of my credit card utilized for the stay. The room was supposed to have been a non-smoking room, but wreaked of cigarette smoke when we went in, there was a mustiness to the room, there was a variety of dishes for the kitchen, none of which matched any other, the bathroom had no toiletries within, just towels and 1 bar of facial soap, the bed was supposed to be a king, it was lucky to be a queen. Overall, if I had been able to book something else for the immediate area and weekend without having to incur excess fees for cancelling, I would have done just that. Worse stay I have had in years any where.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff member Glenda was amazing!!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: clean great mid-week price
Staff member Glenda was amazing!! Just very sweet and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gaydos from Fort Wayne, IN

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
It would be nice to have a continental breakfast bar, instead of a muffin and fruit in a bag to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeanne from Colorado

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Seems like this there had been a lot of parties in the room we stayed in. looked like there had been many parties held there or lots of heavy smokers that hung out in the bath room that allowed their cigarettes to burn the linoleum and bath tub .
1 out of 5
by Amy

Woul not recommend.

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Location was ok.
Cons: Just a bad chain in general. All of the discount hotel websites push this chain as a 2 or 2+ star. The chain should be taken off the list.
The hotel is not worth the money. Just look at the ratings and read the reviews before you take your chances. I have stayed at a different 'Extended Stay' same chain and also found it to be substandard. We were in a non-smoking room, on a smoking floor. It stunk to high heaven. The sheets and bedspread were polyester blend and very uncomfortable. The room was clean but the bathroom had a bad smell, like burned plastic. Bad over all experience... A one star hotel at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P2A from Quebec City, QC, Canada

Way better than expected, and more than adequate

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Nice overall experience, nothing fancy, but comfortable and clean.
Cons: Bad reputation on the internet review gave us some question before the stay.
Location: Adequately located if you drive there, not sure about public transportation, did not test it.
I was a bit afraid after discovering this hotel was the one I had reserved (it was a mystery hotel buy). But in fact it is much better than what Customer seem to have described. We were on a floor room for 4 nights with my son, the kitchenette is definitely an asset. Staff was very friednly and accomodating. Beds and towels are done once a week, but one can ask reception for fresh towels whenever needed. We used the room as our pod for Washington discovery and evening meal. Morning breakfast is an open bar with muffins, apples, oranges, cereal bars, coffee, tea and hot chocolate, more than enough to charge before a long visit day... There is a metro station about 2 miles away but parking was so crowded that we drove down to Wash DC (around 10 miles: between 20 minutes and 1h00 depending on the traffic and time of the day) and parked the car for the day (between 12 and 20$). There is 2 7-eleven stores (one about 100 yards away and the other around half a mile) and a small mall for anything else needed. The A/C was an asset with the warm and moist days we had end of june.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted May 7, 2013
Cons: Everything!!!!!!!!!!!
The service was terrible, Usually when you arrive at a hotel to stay at with reservations the doors should be open but no i had to use a telephone to call the front desk. My room just smelled dirty and looked dirty, plus there was crap all over the floor seemed like they didn't even clean it except the beds were very clean, the bathroom was sooo nasty. I will not be staying here every again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disgusting

Posted Apr 23, 2013
The first room i.got was uncleaned then the second had no sheets on yhe bed