Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockholm

Personligt hotell nära Waikiki beach

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Litet hotell jämfört med grannarna, enligt mig en fördel. Rummet med köksdel mycket bra för att äta frukost där. Bussarna har hållplats alldeles utanför. Ett par minuter ner till stranden. Matvaruaffär ett kvarter bort.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northwest, US

Hotel Condition

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel building and the elevator need a major renovation.
Location: Close to beach
If you need a place to get there late at night/early morning to sleep, take a shower, and leave the next morning going after your sport or date, this hotel may be a good choice for you. But if you are a social / economical minded person, would like to learn form your trip and other cultures, family oriented and have kids with yourself, work hard to make your money and care where your money goes, then the following may be helpful. PRO: - Hotel location and hotel swimming pool area. CON: - Noise from the refrigerator, AC, and street (it seems the windows are well sound proof). - The hotel building and the elevator need a major renovation, elevator outside doors are either so dirty, worn out, or both, they look terrible. - Arrived at daylight when easy to see, the bed sheets were very dirty with long hairs in it and black oily stains left from human body. They were not replaced for at least two weeks or so. At least, you expect to have fresh sheets at you first night when you arrive. Had them to replace. - Little tiny pin-point creatures that is hard to see (like very very small ants) running all over the counter tops and floor. - Not sure what is the $15/day hospitality fee plus 4.7% tax for, but it would be nice if all of the Waikiki hotels use a fraction of this money to provide a shelter and food for the homeless people in town. Saw no more than 10 homeless individuals wondering around the Waikiki in a very poor and heart breaking conditions. These rich hotels in town with
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

clean, comfortable and close to the beach

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to beach, food, shops, liquor stores. Rooms were cleaned daily and conveniently, friendly staff, free coffee & refreshments in lobby
Cons: Quieter air conditioning as it is extremely loud when on!
Location: Minutes from Waikiki Beach, ABC Store across the street, walking distance to multiple restaurants and fast food chains for a quick bite.
After having searched through Expedia for over a week trying to find the best deal for an available hotel for our travel dates, we came across the Aqua Bamboo, the pictures looked nice, there was a pool on site, it was right near the Waikiki strip and had decent reviews. It was very important for us to find a hotel room that had a balcony (lanai) with somewhat of an ocean view and we decided to pay a little bit more for what stated as an "King Bed, Ocean View Room" while booking our stay at the Bamboo through Expedia. Upon arrival to our hotel, we noticed quickly we clearly had NO ocean view whatsoever and on top of that were only put on the 5th floor. After calling down to the front desk to see if we could arrange to move to a higher level room in order to see such view, the woman at the desk explained there are no ocean view rooms. We decided to let it go, only later to find out by another Aqua Bamboo guest in the elevator; they had booked their stay less then a week ago and were put near the top floor which looked out over the ocean. THAT BEING SAID, although the views were a big disappointment to us, the room was cleaned to perfection daily, the bed was very comfortable, and the balcony view we DID receive was still beautiful and overlooking the hotel pool and lounge area. Front desk staff were friendly & helpful. We would definitely stay here again & recommend to other couples/small families looking for a clean room to come back to after a long day on the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hobart tasmania australia

Close to the beach!

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Clean, comfortable & close to the beach and restaurants
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Tokyo

Over-rated hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: location only
Cons: pls renovate the hotels as it`s too old
Location: location is okay
very old hotel and air conditioning is an old type hence it`s very loud. building is old, lobby is old too. Vive hotel, across the corner looks much better. You need to pay 15 USD extra per day, hence it`s not cheap and well over-rated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall disappointing.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: It is time to renovate. Softer beds would be preferable.
The desk staff were friendly enough but could not help me to print out an invoice of what I had already paid on expedia plus my parking and "resort" fee. This is no resort! I was also offered the option to park my car myself or the valet could park it for the same price. There were other hotels in the area with similar ratings (I'm not sure why theirs were as high as it was) and similar price point. Perhaps it was just my floor, but everything was worn around the edges from the bathroom (the sink had an overly large faucet - could not lean over to wash my face), and it had clearly been some time since the last renovation. I'm not one to write reviews, but I would consider other options if you can. Location is definitely what you are paying for here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booking with Expedia

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Paid for the hotel in full upon arrival. At checkout, hotel staff approached us with another $100 bill for a resort fee that was not included, stated, or shown in any way on the Expedia price summary. Be extra cautious about hidden charges, the prices you are quoted are less than the charges you will receive!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dated hotel in Waikiki was a big let down

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Free DVD rental, restaurant out back
Cons: Needs updated... BADLY. The photos were obviously old because it is much more run-down than shown online. Even a cold breakfast would have been nice.
Location: Great location--very central. Walking distance to restaurants and beaches.
The room was okay... nothing special...but not bad either. However the rest of the hotel was embarrassing. Very dated with wood-paneled dark hallways. Rundown. The pool was very small, but nicely secluded. No breakfast. Some staff very helpful, some not knowledgeable. Good location. The photos were very misleading and I was definitely let down. I was embarrassed having the cab drop me off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AKL, NZ

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Small, nice style although aging.
Cons: Just make sure that everything in the room functions as it should.
Location: Reasonable location not far from the beach and main Waikiki activity.
Charming hotel let down by some technical issues in my room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JAPAN

気持ちよく滞在できました

Posted Nov 4, 2014
2泊しました。 1泊目はハロウィンで、明け方まで騒々しく落ち着かない…どんな思いました。 立地がカラカウア通りに近いから仕方ないです。 2泊目は、1泊目とうって変わって静かでした。 ただ、早朝から男性の叫び声が。。。 一時でしたので、それほど苦にはなりませんでした。 今回は3階のお部屋でした。 カーテンを開けると、、、 そこはアパート。 アパートの方もわかっていてか、家の中が見えないように工夫されていました。 私も遮光カーテンは開けずに過ごしました。 その辺りの快適さを求めなければ、とても居心地がよかったです。 部屋に入るとオーキッドが置いてあったり、バスタオルがオシャレにセットされたりしていました。 支配人さんからのお手紙、プレゼントもありました。 ちょっとした心遣いが嬉しかったです。 機会があったらまた利用したいです。