Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from World Traveler

Do not stay here.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything, starting with basic maintenance. Wash the windows. Clean the carpets.
The lobby smelled of raw sewage. My room was tiny with no lanai. The bed was dreadful. The carpet was old, worn faded and badly stained. I spent one night of my life in the Hawaiian Monarch and that was one night too many. Spend a few bucks more and stay somewhere else!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Decent for the price and location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Cozy with a fabulous view and great location
Cons: Televisions, more comfortable beds or at least a queen.
Location: McDonald, Taco Bell, fine dining, bars, 3 grocery stores, and shopping all in walking distance. Walmart in driving distance.
The beds are very tiny. The mattresses are not kept clean but the sheets are. There is no television in the room. Two occupants stayed here for two months. The bedspread was not wasted in over a month 1/2 of the stay until it was requested to be done. They do provide a decent kitchenette setup. Beautiful location on the beach with a river. Convenient location for meals etc. Grounds are kept tidy. Internet is sporadic sometimes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qu├ębec

Front desk not very welcoming, but room ok

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Cheap price.
Location: we were'nt there long enought to do anything.
Every time I went down to the lobby, no one was at the front desk. I had to yell so they would come from the back. And no apologise ,no smile.... There is no ice machine in this hotel so don't get hurt...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wahington state

not very good hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: most all the staff where very helpful
Cons: the whole hotel needed a facelift looked like it came out of the 80's and was poorly maintained for the majority of its life
Location: about 4 blocks to the beach. Sub tour right at the beach. Lots of shopping centers close.
hotel walls so thin could hear everything in rooms around you. one of the hotel staff every time asked her anything it was like you were taking her first born child. All other staff was great and helpful. overall condition of the hotel was lacking. If you go to the hotel make sure if you have a car add in $20 a day for parking. none of the tours stopped at the hotel had to walk to one of the other hotels to catch any shuttles. Bathroom showers not cleaned well had black mold in shower.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Disappointing

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: It is in Hawaii. It is close to the Convention center. It is close to shopping. I had a good view from my room.
Cons: Everything. The housekeeping service was abysmal. The rooms need renovation. Carpet is discolored and worn out.
Location: It is close to the convention center and if you don't mind a little walking, it is relatively close to shopping areas and the beach.
The hotel was horrible. First I was nickeled and dimmed for things that were presented as standard. There is not internet unless you pay for it separately. There is no safe unless you pay for it separately. The carpet is worn and dislocolored. Never vacuumed. There is no replacement of soap or shampoo. I had to go to the front desk to get it myself. No clean cups or glasses. I had to wash the ones given to me on the first day. There is no "Lobby". Just an open air space with a few hard chairs to sit on. No receptionist stays at the desk and there is no bell. One has to call out: "Is any one there?" Then wait for someone to show up. I have stayed at 5 star hotels and small motels, but have never had such a poor experience. Terrible place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geelong, Australia

Old but comfortable.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Cons: Real milk or creamer in the fridge on arrival would have been nice for a culpa after a long flight.
Nice view from our 14th floor room. Advertised as close to airport, but was quite a distance. Helpful desk staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Monarch

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above above
Location: See above above above
Great location in WKK. By the canal, close to beaches, shopping, dining. Our room was north facing with awesome view of mountains. Elevators take long to arrive but once in, are pretty fast going up. A bit tricky using security card in lift. Bathrooms need upgrading. Sink was slow to drain, shower not very spacious. Electric sockets not conveniently placed. Had to move furniture to plug in the charger. (Who travels without chargers these days). Free WiFi in lobby only. Pay extra for WiFi in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to the beach.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Staff's attitude variable. Housestaff is great and deserving of tips. The hotel is far from Waikiki beach. It's a good walk if you want to go swimming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel being half converted into condos...

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Rooms are old, carpet stained, but they did try to put a fridge, a non working safe and coffee maker in the room. Coffee supply was only for the first nite. Not replaced all thru my 5 days stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good for the price

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I wish I had spent a little more to stay somewhere else, but overall no complaints. They advertise as a discount hotel, and that's exactly what it is.