Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to the beach.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Staff's attitude variable. Housestaff is great and deserving of tips. The hotel is far from Waikiki beach. It's a good walk if you want to go swimming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Hotel being half converted into condos...

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Rooms are old, carpet stained, but they did try to put a fridge, a non working safe and coffee maker in the room. Coffee supply was only for the first nite. Not replaced all thru my 5 days stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good for the price

Posted Jul 14, 2014
I wish I had spent a little more to stay somewhere else, but overall no complaints. They advertise as a discount hotel, and that's exactly what it is.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

terrible

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: the air con unit very very noisy affecting our sleep! bigger and newer tv! a bigger fridge that shud be located on top of the drawers!
very old hotel. not worth the amount of money we paid at all!!! would not recommend this to anyone and would not stay at again!! This hotel should not be at the price we paid for it! It should not have reached a $200 night price range!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Well, we only stayed for one night. The pool is pretty nice but that's it. The beds are very uncomfortable and the rooms were not really clean. We would not go there again even if the price is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Nice hotel, lovely staff

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Enjoyed my two night stay at the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel. It's not terribly close to beaches but was convenient and the staff was most helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Night time Front of house / reception staff super helpful and courteous.
Cons: Plumbing and bathrooms need an update/overhaul- sort out taps and water flow, shower tap, plugs in sinks etc
Location: Go to Waikiki
No frills hotel good 20 minute walk from the action in Waikiki. Basic rooms.......but served my needs
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Booked for a company trip to do some work in the area. It was well located close to downtown and was overall a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr Jay from New Orleans

Posted May 28, 2014
this is in appropriate what you get is what I say or you survey is tainted and useless learn how to do your research with out distorting the results
1 out of 5
by PW from Philadelphia PA

Rundown, shabby, and not too clean

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything. It needs paint, repairs, cleaning. The air conditioning (necessary in Hawaii) was a small old noisy wall unit.
Location: Near shopping, and Waikiki Beach.
You get what you pay for, and you didn't pay much here. The Monarch is threadbare even for a budget hotel. I doubt that any major renovation or repair have been done since the 1970's. Furniture and TV are very old and need to be replaced. The air conditioning is a small, very old, noisy wall unit that had two temperatures--warm and warmer. Both the room and the bathroom could have been cleaner. The hotel staff was either very helpful ( the gentleman who checked us in) to miserable (the woman who checked us out). The hotel is in a good location. If you are going to Honolulu, spend the extra money and upgrade to a better hotel. You won't be sorry.