Ratings based on 1,498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oahu

Wedding anniversary staycation gone wrong

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Located downtown near Waikiki. Reasonable for people who cannot afford anything over $100. and not expecting any frills.
Cons: Change worn out curtains. Update air-con to quieter units. Buy new beds.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, movies, swimming.
We reserved a king size bed, but only got two double beds. We never slept in separate beds throughout our 40 years of marraige, so it was an uncomfortable sleep for me because of the size and it sunk in the middle. Air-con was so loud that I couldn't get much sleep. Curtains had several rips and looked so worn out. We planned a 2 day stay, but the impending hurricane caused us to cancel one day which we don't regret.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Terible Hotel: 1 Bad Thing to the Next

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Two very helpful staff: Andre (Front Desk) and David (Assistant Manager)
Cons: Everything: Pick up and review classes in customer service and company hotel policies, cleaner restrooms,
Location: Walking3 blocks down to the strip and experiencing Waikiki.
- Arrival to Hotel no bell man. Security brought down our luggage that we loaded. - Arrived at room that smelled like mildew and the bathroom smelled like a public toilet - Went back down to the front desk and taken to another room which we had to transported our items without a bell cart. (Keep in mind I have a newborn baby so I have an additional bags. We had a king size suitcase weighing about 100 lbs., a diaper bag, a toy bag, beach bag fully loaded, a snack drink and cooler bag (all bigger than a backpack), 3 grocery bags) - In room 1505 we were moved to smell was much better though kind of ghetto. foil in the refrigerator and silver masking tape on the cover blind. - At night we requested another blanket and they brought us a old shabby bumpy blanket. Very uncomfortable - Morning of the second stay my daughter throws up after eating breakfast and I have to change the sheets. I open the door to find the maid cleaning another room. I ask her for another sheet so WE (not her) may cover the bed. She gives me a sheet though not a liner and tells me to call housekeeping 'cause the other side rooms are not hers. - A little while later there was a different maid that entered our room. She had entered without knocking not once, but twice. I said we don't need servicing till later in the afternoon because I was going to take a nap. I am a new mother on a staycay trying to relax. - Then another women comes in about 30 min. later not knocking this is only 10:00 am. it goes on&o
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

I'd give it a 2.5

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Staff did an excellent job
Cons: Facility is lacking. Lobby looks great but upstairs was a little different.
Location: Good location to the beach and shopping .
Staff did a very good job. They were very personable and were willing to go the exta mile. Facility has some issues. Air Conditioner was not able to cool the room. There was a great deal of traffic noise particularly early in the morning. Thought foe sure there was an open window but there was not. Torn linings on the curtains. Vent in Bathroom that leaked onto the commode. Hallways had an odor. I left all of this on the info sheet when we checked out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for amenities fee??

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Cons: Reveal all fees during booking time.
Parking and amenities fee were not clear cut during booking. I was caught by surprise with the amenities fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Overall

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Overall decent cleanliness, convenient location.
Cons: The friendliness of the front staffs could be a bit more consistent.
I was originally a bit skeptical about this hotel, reading about some reviews after booking it. The lobby of the hotel has been recently renovated. Apparently the hotel is doing a complete renovation from top down. The hotel staffs were overall quite good, some being particularly more friendly than others. The rooms were relatively clean. Some parts of it was dated and the AC was a bit loud. I checked the bed seams for bed bugs and didn't find any. The location of the hotel is quite good. There is an ABC Store downstairs for your everyday needs. It is about a 15 minute walk to Waikiki beach, 10 minute to the Hilton Village Resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilo, HI

Not Pleased With Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Customer service and rooms.
I was not pleased with the experience at all. At first, the female clerk on 10-11-14 at 5:00 p.m. stated that if anything is damaged, they will simply take $100 from my credit card WITHOUT consulting me or discussing what the damage is. I found this to be disturbing as what happens when the damaged item was done as a result of an accident or prior to me taking possession of the room? The room was not as defined in the photos, quite frankly was kind of gloomy. The lobby was nice however. On check out, the male clerk on Sunday 10-12-14 at 10:00 a.m. told me that if I wanted to have my airplane ticket printed out, I need to email it to him. I asked him, so I need to go back to the 3rd floor use the computer, email it to you, come down so that you can print it? He said, I don't care how you do it, but I need it emailed to you and I don;t have time to deal with this as I am too busy with telephone calls. Since the business center has no printers and there is a sign that says go down to the lobby for airline tickets, you would think the sign would say email the airline tickets to the front desk, so you are not running back and forth - especially when you need to get on an airplane. Very bad customer service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waikiki Gateway Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff!
Cons: Its been refurbished, although I was led to believe it had already been done. All you can eat breakfast was not that good, only had it once.
Location: Great central location, if you don't mind a ten minutes walk to the beach.
Arrived at the Hotel walked into a nicely refurbished entrance. This looks nice. Booked in easy friendly staff. Headed up to the room, thought they took a good photo, the room looked really dated, paint peeling off the walls outside, carpet outside in the corridor all wrinkled up. Oh well its only a base to stay I thought, The view was ok, and the windows kept a lot of the noise from the street out. Then we turned on the aircon, it was the loudest I have ever heard. Too tired to complain, after 2 days with no sleep, and not really been a complainer. After a few days did get used to the aircon, woke me up a couple of times in the night, but your brain gets used to it. Not recommended for light sleepers thou
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Hotel at the western end of town

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Economical choice if you're travelling with lots of people and if everyone wants their own bed. Some rooms came with 4 single beds in them which isn't always easy to find. Accommodation is very basic, but if you're just after a place to sleep, then this is fine. If you really like your creature comforts, I'd probably make another choice and expect to pay a whole lot more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Craptastic

Posted Sep 25, 2014
If your absolutely have no where else to stay then this is the hotel for you. Ac didn't work, expensive and difficult to use parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Lobby quality does not match room quality

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Nice lobby, good location, comfy beds and friendly staff
Cons: The bathrooms need to be renovated!! badly! Cleaning staff needs to be more thorough. Carpets need replacing.
Location: good location - close to lots of things
The lobby is very nice and so were the staff, and the beds are comfortable. However, the hallway on our floor stunk so badly! We entered the room... the carpet was extremely stained and made it look really dirty. Our air conditioner didn't work so we had to switch rooms. This one the carpet was not as stained. Air conditioner worked so that was a plus. But the bathroom was gross.. not properly cleaned, there was hairs in there from other guests, the towels were stained, and the appliances were very old and just seemed dirty. Luckily we only had one night in this hotel before moving to another hotel, so we were able to skip showers that morning. The location of the hotel however is very good - close walk to lots of things. Would not stay there again, even for one night.