Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to ferry, otherwise disappointing.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Water view was nice, walkway by water pleasant, restaurant ok. Good for families on a budget who need to get up early for the ferry.
Cons: Lower prices.
Location: Small working harbor town. Lots of homeless.
Two star at best, a bit dumpy. Reserved 2 water views, only received one. Tone of noises sport teams running in hallways.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Hotel is like a 1960's style motel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Sorry, did not like anything.
Cons: It needs to be thoroughly updated. But in the meantime, they should advertise it as it really is, and price accordingly.
This isn't a hotel-it's more like a motel! It is old, and outdated. The rooms are small. You walk up stairs to get to your room from the outside (no elevator). The price is way too expensive for what you get. We checked in, looked at our room with dismay, and checked out without staying there. For just a little bit a night more, we booked at the Holiday Inn Express in Sequim, which was clean, fresh, and large enough to be comfortable. Would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Good day~ Thank you for your recent review after being our guest. We take comments such as yours to improve in all areas. We are always making changes and updates to our facility! I apologize that the room type that you were booking was not clear, as we have the two different buildings that are available upon making a reservation. I hope that we will have the chance to have you back in the future. Thank you Warm regards, Hannah H.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wake up to the sound of the boats in the harbor

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The Crab house
Cons: Sound proofing
Unfortunately, the hotel didn't meet our expectations. You will hear the horns of the boat as they enter the harbor 24/7. Also, the walls of the rooms are paper-thin... you will hear other guests in their rooms and in the hallways
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Karla, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I would like to apologize for all of the outside noise you were able to hear in your room. We appreciate you taking the time to rate our hotel based on the experience during your stay. You are a valued guest and we do hope that you will stay with Red Lion Hotels again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Close to the Ferry

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Location and view
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: The ferry, the park across the street, easy access to good restaurants two blocks away
We chose to stay here because it is within easy walking distance of the Victoria ferry. The room was overpriced and when we returned from Victoria it had not been cleaned or retoweled, although we had not left a do not disturb sign on the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Great Water View Rooms

Posted Jul 31, 2014
We just wanted to rest with a view of the Strait. This hotel provided just that. The staff were exceptionally friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
It should be able to find out same condition hotel with lower price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Hannah, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon~ Thank you for your recent review on Expedia. It is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your value for price. I hope that one day you give Red Lion another chance to exceed your expectations. Thank you. Kind regards, Hannah H.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Average stay with mold smell in room. Motel was fairly clean and close to the port and ferry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, Oregon

Waterfront Hotel or Curbside Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Right on the water and next to the pier. Conveniently close to the National Park.
Cons: Clear advertising. The Breakfast Buffet was disappointing.
Location: Olympic National Park. & Victoria, BC.
I prefer to stay at Red Lion hotels because of the higher quality. I selected this hotel for this stay, because it was advertised as a waterfront hotel. When I checked in, however, they had us booked in a room in a building behind the waterfront hotel, with no view other than the parking lot and a 40' embankment next to Hwy. 101. When I complained about this, the staff offered a waterfront room at a higher rate that I originally bargained for. I didn't want to hassle this and just paid the higher rate. The room was quite nice, and being right on the water was quite an experience. So the only dissatisfaction is with the advertising. There must be a clear distinction made between a room in a waterfront hotel and a room behind a waterfront hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Rooms were nice.

Posted Jul 19, 2014
The room was very nice, furniture looked nearly new, and the twin queen beds were comfortable. The building exterior could use some sprucing up to match the nice room we had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good firm beds. Smoking in non-smoking rooms

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location. the hotel is within a quick walk from several restaurants including Bella Italia. Beds. Surprisingly for a 3-star hotel, the bed was firm and comfortable. Very good omelets at the hotel's restaurant. Their Denver omelet was delicious. Cons: smoke smell. Even though the hotel is non-smoking only, the first two rooms we got had a strong smoke smell. I don't know if people smoked inside or the smoke got into the room from the outside (they were on the first floor), but either way, it was unbearable. Front-desk staff promptly gave us keys to two different rooms, on the same level. One of them had no smoke smell at all, while the other one had some, although it wasn't as bad as in the first two. Overall, only one out of 4 rooms we tried was completely smoke-free. AC problems. I didn't test the AC in the first two rooms, but in the second two, the AC unit only worked in one of the rooms. I learned from one of the staff that ACs were old are were being slowly fixed/replaced.