Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sandra from Fife

Beautiful Hotel on beach, lovely friendly staff

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: Everything!!!!!
Cons: N/A
Location: Resort quiet compared to other resorts we have visited in Cyprus, although we enjoyed lazy days by pool - there was a waterpark and sightseeing trips
Paphos is a lovely resort Pioneer Beach Hotel was fabulous with really friendly staff & excellent food, nice walk along coastal path into harbour. We will definitely be returning at some point - would highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David & Marion from Surrey, UK

Great Chilling in a Hot Spot

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: Nice and quiet, very laid back, excellent service, nothing too much trouble
Cons: Not keen on the once a week bar-b-que included in HB & FB. ( No problem,went to the a'la Carte in the hotel)
Location: About 30 min walk to Pafos harbour, 10min taxi, around 8 euros, A few shops and loads of eating places if you want a change.
This adults only hotel caters for mainly couples with an age range between 20 to 80+!(We are in our early 60's) In other words anyone, except children, which is great for my wife and I as we run a childrens day nursery and have 6 grand-children! Its nice to have a really peaceful and calm time in excellent surroundings, with excellent staff,great service and fabulous food. This is our 4th time at Pioneer Beach, it certainly won't be our last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Greenock, UK

This was our second visit

Posted Oct 27, 2011
The hotel was every bit as good second time around. The hotel will be closing mid November until March 2012 for refurbishment. Staff very pleasant and nothing is any bother to them. There are a variety of places to eat within the hotel at all times during the day. After your first visit your are given a 10% discount card. There are plenty areas to sit in and especially outside where there are loungers with beach towels in your room for using outside. The lounger are wiped down every morning for guests. You can walk along by the side of the Med into Paphos and there is a frequent bus service. It is hoped that we will return again to this hotel for a further holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Redhill

Great hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2010
The hotel was even better than expected. It was quiet the staff were very helpful and the food....... There was so much choice of food both for breakfast and dinner that we are unlikely to find many hotels with the same range. This hotel is designed for adults and has good facilities for them. It is about 30 mins walk from Paphos centre or you can catch a bus from outside the hotel. There were a group of 6 of us and we hired a car for the week. There are lots of car hire firms in Paphos and the rates were very cheap. Driving on the left does make things easier. We went at the beginning of February and although the weather was warm 16-21 degrees, we were very surprised to find the roads at the top of the Troodos mountains slippery with the amount of snow on them. The monastery at Kykkos is worth a visit. Nicosia is a real dump but a visit to the Museum of Liberation struggle was a real eye opener about how badly we British treated the Cypriots between 1955-59. Several places on the island were closed at this time of year but it was very easy getting around. The Cypriot people are very hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cambridge, UK

A very comfortable hotel with friendly staff

Posted Jan 31, 2010
We enjoyed staying at the Pioneer Beach Hotel which we found very comfortable with very friendly and helpful staff. It would not suit those who want to party, but we enjoyed the quiet ambience and found it very good value. It is rather far from the action in Paphos,sights, restaurants, shops etc., but as we had a car that was not a problem for us. The breafast buffet was fantastic, the best we saw in Cyprus, with almost anything you could think of to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pontefract

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2009
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and it won't be the last.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

A bit run down

Posted Apr 17, 2009
Service was very good. Hotel needs a bit of a refresh. Dining room looked quite dated. Many guests were retirement age so main activities were lawn bowls, bingo and ballroom dancing. Air conditioning in room did not work properly. It actually heated up the room rather than cooled it down, so we woke up sweating in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel - Very expensive!

Posted Apr 14, 2009
Hotel was great, staff were great, in fact only complaint was the price of their drinks! They were extremely overpriced. Overall a lovely hotel though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shocking Experience

Posted Nov 20, 2008
The only plus point - the sunshine! The hotel staff were really unhelpful and rude. On the pool bar menu is clearly stated that I could order a cheese toastie + fries however when I asked for this I was abruptly told she could make the toastie but I would have to go to another restaurant to order and collect my chips! What? The hotel manager was not much politer! The only helpful staff of the whole holiday were the Regina Restaurant and the Spa staff. The Spa was lovely and the treatments were good but the spa is closed from noon until 4pm! The indoor heated pool was not heated and, having spoken to several of the other guests, it had still not been heated up following complaints. The rooms only had heating as apparently the aircon is switched over to heating from the end of Oct - shocking considering it was 80 degrees! The buffet food was lacking in both quality and quantity and if you want desert...get it on arrival! The hotel gives you no useful info but it is worth upgrade to a Superior Room as you free access to the sauna, steam and the internet (WiFi)! The staff did not tell me anything was included though and until another guest told me, they were charging me! To be honest I cant be bothered to take the time to review this hotel any further but in short, the management was only interested in cutting costs! I will never return or recommend the hotel and I certainly would not classify it as 4 star!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Needs some TLC

Posted Sep 27, 2008
We booked this hotel on some recommendations from this web-site amongst others. The first impression was the hotel looked ok, not as perfect as the pictures make it.We then got to our room, which we had paid extra for a front-sea view, to find that it was a side-sea view and the room and bathroom looked a little tired with pretty much no storage for our things. When I complained they said that the room was what we had booked, even though it wasnt, and there was no chance of being moved to a front-sea view. So not a good start! The facilities around the hotel are quite good, the pools, bars and restaurants all offer something for pretty much everyone. But this is not a hotel for kids or even for younger singles or couples, as we found out, lets just say that we are both 28 and we may probably revisit the hotel in about 40 years when we are the same age as most of the other guests! Location is ok, not much around the hotel...but Pafos is only ten mins by taxi or 15 by bus. My advice is go by bus, its cheaper, got air-con and much safer!! I would recommend that you look around, others who have good things to say about this hotel may be less fussy than us or got the better rooms which they actually paid for! There are plenty of hotels and loads of deals out there so keep looking. My advice is stay here for the HUGE buffet and lazing by the pool, but if you want a quality 4 star hotel with a good night life this is not the place for you.