Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Bad night's sleep

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Everything is avail on site and staff was extremely kind & helpful. At check-out - reimbursed for the resort & pking fees ($40) due to room issues.
Cons: Why did we have to be pushed so far to the back of the property for our room? Expedia customer? A VERY long walk to anything.
Location: Everything you could possibly need is on site.
Unfortunately, the room's air conditioner started with a high squeeking sound in the middle of the night. Sounded like a belt needed changing. Had to shut off or couldn't sleep! But, we were in Phoenix so we weren't too comfortable for the night re: cool room. Also, discovered at about 5am that outlet on the lamp next to bed wasn't working leaving us with an uncharged cell phone on a travel by airplane day. Lastly, our room was at the furthest end of the property. Nothing was close by. Boy, was it hot walking for lengths of time. Didn't seem like they were booked so we wondered why we were so far away. The food was outstanding but be prepared to pay about $5 more per plate for any menu item than you would if you were outside the property. Otherwise, everything here is very lovely and luxurious. We were offered free bottled H2O everywhere we went and staff was kind, gracious, helpful, and humble. Wanted to swim in the Marilyn Monroe pool but it was closed. Grounds were well tended to and boutique shops had unique and affordable items for purchase. Most comfortable bed our entire trip to AZ.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West coast

So disappointing...DON'T STAY IN A SUITE HERE!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The common areas here and the main hotel building and design are still beautiful.
Cons: The suites were ridiculous for a property that bills itself as a first-class resort. I won't bother with any other Waldorf Astoria properties.
WeI have stayed at the Arizona Biltmore from time to time for >30 years and always loved it -- until now. We reserved a large one bedroom (w/kitchen) suite and were shocked and terribly disappointed when we were led into a very cheap townhouse/condo from the 70s. I don't notice shabby construction but even the door was broken. The televisions were /-20" big boxes from the 20th century -- not a flat screen to be had. We were later moved to a suite that was a lot nicer, but still nothing to brag about. Between the price and the resort fees and parking we paid a lot of $ (Expedia won't let me say much) for 2 nights in Phoenix in August -- for what we paid in Phoenix in the summer you are normally treated like a prince. Not at all. The service was also lousy. There was always a 2-3 minute wait to get a phone call answered -- they should invest in more phone operators. And nobody else picks up there phones either -- not the front desk, not the Managers, not the restaurants. Just leave a voicemail and hope. And then of course we had called ahead to make sure that the suites had cookware because we brought provisions to cook Friday night. We were assured that all of the large suites were "fully stocked with cookware." Of course they were not -- in fact neither of those suites was. So after several calls, and being assured repeatedly that the cookware would be "right there," we ended up getting it 2 hours after we arrived. Aghhhh. WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS ONCE GREAT RESORT?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice Staycation

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Staff, the breakfast buffet at Frank & Alberts, the pool, the beautiful landscaping
Cons: see above review
Location: The mall is nearby
My family of five (3 children under age 13) did a staycation for the 4th of July. The staff was helpful, the rooms were very nice, and the food at Frank & Alberts was delicious. My only issue is that the concierge, valet staff, and driver for the Biltmore had no idea where to take us so that we could view fireworks. I had a place in mind, the Fabulous Phoenix Fourth, which was only 4 miles away. However, no one at the hotel had heard of it. A little weird considering it's the largest free fireworks show in the state (with over 100k in attendance). We were given a little bit of a run around when trying to arrange for transportation through the hotel to the event. Aside from that, we had a great time swimming at the main pool. It was crowded, but still plenty of room for everyone. The kids loved the water slide. I liked that the water slide area had a lifeguard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by GM Arizona Biltmore, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for celebrating 4th of July at the Arizona Biltmore! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your staycation in spite of the hiccup you experienced with transportation. It is also great to know that the kids enjoyed our pool facilities and you felt safe allowing them to do so. We hope to welcome you back for more family fun at the Biltmore. Kind regards, Chintan Dadhich
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from gilbert, az

Wonderful time at a classic resort

Posted Jun 16, 2014
The staff was wonderful, the room very comfortable, they went out of the way to make sure everything was better than expected. I will stay here again and i highly recommend the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by David Kirken, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I am delighted to hear that you received superior service during your stay. We thank you for visiting the Arizona Biltmore, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Chintan Dadhich
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Close to airport and shopping
Cons: I found food, drinks and water very expensive. Ok if you were only staying a night or two
Location: Definitely would rent a car next time, everything was easy to find. Close to AMC dine in theatres, golf and shopping
This was my husband and I's first trip without the kids. It was a beautiful hotel with great service and food. It was so quiet and relaxing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by David Kirken, Hotel Management
Dear guest, It is wonderful to hear that you, and your husband enjoyed a relaxing stay at our resort. Thank you so much for your feedback, our team looks forward to hosting you again soon. Warm regards, Chintan Dadhich
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from NYC

Old World glamour with modern convenience.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Elegant grounds & architectural elements throughout". We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at the Waldorf Biltmore. The hotel is being updated in its original Art Deco style and I can't wait to return to this fine hotel. We had almost a private pool to ourselves (there are many to choose from on the property). I highly recommend this beautiful hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by David Kirken, Hotel Management
Dear David, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our architectural treasures and pristine amenities. We can't wait to welcome you back once our renovation is complete and get your feedback on our new look. Thank you for choosing the Arizona Biltmore. Kind regards, Chintan Dadhich
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rough Start, but an Outstanding Visit

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Location: Close proximity to the airport, hiking trails, downtown, Taliesin West, Scottsdale, shopping.
The stay at the Biltmore got off to a rough start, mainly because of the initial room assignment--a dark, dank room way off in the corner of nowhere. But the Biltmore bent over backward to adjust that situation. (And I should note that this has often been the case when booking through Expedia at some of the better hotels internationally--they stick you in a room the hotel otherwise wouldn't be able to book. Call it the Expedia Room.) That aside--and well resolved--the charm of the Biltmore is delightful and it is difficult (for me) to fault. It is an older resort hotel, but I like that. It feels like a real place. And the Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired design gives the Biltmore a unique flavor. The Biltmore is a large facility, but is well-laid out so that you never lose a sense of intimacy. The grounds are spacious and encourage easy walking to enjoy even the hottest of days. I have been to the Biltmore on four occasions now and would rate it one of my favorites internationally because of its design and service. The food isn't always always so great, but the settings of the restaurants are really nice. And I like the stepped-up bar design that draws you into a cool and sublime interior space. The staff are very approachable and real and not pseudo-friendly like you find often at many competing resort hotels in the Phoenix area. These folks are genuine and a joy to talk with. So, a great facility, charming in its execution, competitive as a resort. A must visit!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business trip

Posted Jun 4, 2014
The room is old. My door would not close properly. My shower door needs work. The staff was friendly, but I would not stay there again. This is not a 4 1/2 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicole from Atlanta

Beautiful grounds, ok rooms!

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: Update the rooms
The grounds and architecture of the hotel are amazing! Truly in the Frank Lloyd Wright spirit but the room I stayed in (Terrace section) was dated to be a Waldorf Astoria hotel. The only difference between this hotel room and a Marriott was the price. The furniture was dated and I had to call housekeeping the minute I got there due to the toilet seat not being cleaned properly. Also, the minibar and refreshment center in the room was very overpriced! I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great traditional hotel

Posted May 14, 2014
The Arizona Biltmore is a classic hotel with full grown landscaping and amazing grounds. Yes, the halls are smaller and the rooms aren't huge but that's the point. It's tradition without trying to be overdone. Staff is amazing and the beds are comfortable. Everything you expect in a hotel with class and elegance
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2014 by David Kirken, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Arizona Biltmore. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our resort's historic significance. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm regards, Chintan Dadhich Director of Operations