Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Conveniently located near East Stroudsburg Univ

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: There were places to eat in close proximity.
Cons: Make the rooms smell fresh and clean. Even though the hotel is somewhat outdated and run down, enlighten guests with cleanliness and freshness.
Location: Restaurants were good and in close proximity. Close to the college East Stroudsburg Univ.
The hotel stay was fine. It was close enough to ESU and had a few restaurants around in walking distance. It was fairly clean. The shower curtain had some discoloration around the bottom border but it was ok. I did see a cigarette burn in the bedspread but this is common for these kind of hotels. For the cost, it would have been nice to get something a little more updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doncaster UK

It Served Our Purposes

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The staff, the pool, the location.
Cons: The hotel needs sprucing up.
Location: Don't really know... it was a stop-over only, so didn't really research the surrounding area. Plenty of places to eat within a few miles though.
We needed a hotel that was the right distance from where we'd been, to where we were going. There were plenty of signs up, indicating a renovation was underway. It wasn't obvious that any work had actually started, but it was certainly obvious that it needed renovating : dated decor, battered around the edges, noisy air-con... However, the room was clean and bed reasonably comfortable, front-desk staff were very friendly and efficient, and the pool was a blessing after a long day's travelling.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great location but nothing else!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location was great--convenient and safe
Cons: Staff, wi-fi, smell, sheets don't fit the beds, warn families about LOUD night club below the rooms, Don't offer things if you can't follow up!
Location: Hotel is on the main street in town. Walking distance to a lot. Hiking and outdoor activities are close. Bushkill Falls was gorgeous.
The location was fantastic. We walked to dinner, the Saturday morning farmers market, an ice cream parlor, Starbucks, church, etc. We were right in the middle of things and the area felt safe. It was nice that we were allowed to bring our dog. Soap, shampoo AND conditioner were supplied. That's where the nice ended. The wi-fi didn't work, which after several complaints and being told that someone was fixing it and it would be working soon, it never worked over the two nights we were there. Although the hotel is non-smoking (I am severely allergic to smoke) the staff is not; thus the hotel did NOT smell pleasant. I expected things to smell clean as the maids were in the rooms, but even whatever cleaners they used couldn't mask the bad smells. With two small children we were placed on the third floor, unknown to us to be directly above a night club. The pounding base woke the kids up at 10pm. When I complained, I was told they would find another room for us. Another complaint, same response. An hour and a half later, with pounding headaches from the noise and from trying to get the kids back to bed, I complained yet again. Again being told we would be moved. Finally we received a call letting us know they could move us to the 4th floor. It's a shame that our culture is teaching people that after you complain about the same thing at least 3-4 times, then you might finally get a resolution. What happened to things being done right the first time? Too many problems here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

No good

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The room smell really bad,the bed were very uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by Jenn from ottawa

Stay at Pocono inn

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: beds were fairly comfortable
Cons: Safety of parking lot, flow of parking, safety of neighborhood
Location: Close to movie theatre, and fast food restaurants
The staff was friendly enough, however the neighborhood did not seem/feel safe. The parking lot was crowded and old, and felt unsafe. I spent the night worrying that our car would be broken into. At about 2am there was a bar fight outside our window that took the police a good hour to clear up. The hotel itself was old, floors super squeaky, no mini fridge (first hotel we've ever been in without at least a tiny fridge). We looked for a bargain, but have found better prices and much newer, cleaner and safer places off Expedia before, so this was a surprise.
2 out of 5
by Sandra from Cherry Hill, NJ

The hotel was close to my client's office.

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Renovate the hotel and repave the drive way and parking lot.
Location: There were restaurants near the hotel and stores and shops that are typical in a college town.
The persons staffing the front desk were friendly and professional The hotel is old and needs major renovation. The room was large but the furniture was very old and dated. I also saw an insect crawling on the floor. The driveway to the parking lot had major pot holes and the parking lot was not secure. The hotel didn't have a door person to handle my bag. I had to carry it myself. There was not an ice machine on the second floor where my room was located. You had to go to the fourth floor to get ice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jenn from Vegas

Fine for the price I paid

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Before choosing a hotel I always look at reviews and the one I read on Trip Advisor pretty much sums it up; "If you don't expect to much, your stay will be fine." Honestly, the hotel is older and a little run down. The rooms are about the same, everything is out of date. (Floral comforter and all.) But when you are looking for a cheap hotel to just sleep and shower then this hotel works great. The only real "problem" was that the bar downstairs was playing LOUD music till about 1am on Friday and 3am on Saturday. This kept my friend up but I slept right through it. I would suggest you ask for a room away from the bar if you need complete quiet to sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rich from Floral Park

Over night stay

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I read the reviews of the hotel prior to booking the room. The hotel needs updating but it was clean. It was a Sunday night stay so the hotel was quite. I would book a room there again .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok

Posted Apr 6, 2014
There was really nothing wrong with it .... it was just really old it kinda smelt musky. I mean for what we payed it was good I would recommend it for someone who is on a budget an looking for a good time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by grant from nj

close to ski mountain

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
I just needed an expensive hotel for one night close to Shawnee Mountain and this was fine for that purpose. It was easy to find. The hotel has not been updated in a while but it was clean and they had a nice indoor pool which my granddaughter enjoyed a lot. They also let me check out late so she could stay in the pool longer.