Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Mandurah

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Great staff very friendly and keen to please, terrific gym good amenities. Good restaurants - great choice in food.
Cons: Decor could do with a freshen up coat of paint and modernising - starting to look well used.
Location: Little town easy walk from resort. Lots of shops and shopping centres - fairly expensive though pretty much on a par with Australia.
Mauritius was beautiful - the people are friendly and the weather just gorgeous and impossible to take a bad picture! Warm days and balmy nights - perfect.
2 out of 5
by dipak from austalia

on the beach

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: the only good things about it were the helpful and service provided by Nicolas at the La Faya and Nisha at the health spa
Cons: Rooms need upgrade, staff need to be better trained to respond to queries, food quality needs to improve, perhaps provide a twice daily shuttle servic
Location: it is a bit off the track and you have no choice but to get a taxi to get anywhere, perhaps provide shuttle service to major centres
the hotel is i bit outdated and needs a refurb, the customer service though is terrible and they really need to improve on their staff training. majority of staff just cant be bothered when asked and their reply is will find out and let you know. food service is below average and very very slow and extremely expensive for what is provided. Definately would not stay at this property again as there are much nicer hotels that offer better value for your money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stelfiu from Geneva

AMAZING HOTEL AND PEOPLE!!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The people, the kindness..The cousine, the chef are perfect!!!!
Location: It is in front of the beach. the hotel has a diving center, so it is possible to attend the PADI course. There is the taxi service and boat service.
We spent 7 days in the hotel. Since our arrival, we realized that there was something different that rendered the hotel and our stay in the hotel so special...the people. I travelled a lot in my life but I have never met people so kind, smiling and nice as I did in Mauritius. The hotel was super clean and tidy, the service was perfect!!All the rooms are in front of the sea. Every evening there is music live in the bar, but it ends at midnight not to disturb any one. Being in front of the beach, we walked every night on the beach looking at the wonderful sky. It is impressive how the staff takes care of the customers, anticipating his needs. You feel completely relaxed and comfortable. The hotel has four restaurants, they change the menu every day so even going to the same restaurant every day the menu is never the same. I am vegetarian and I thought to have some issues for eating, the menu always provides a choice for vegan and vegetarian and it is always indicated in the menu. The chefs are perfect, the pasta is home made as well as the bread, pizza and croissants. I was so impressed how a hotel so big can offer a such high level of cousine for all the guest. I will miss you a lot and I thank you so much, especially the Chef Melvin at la Faya Restaurant (he prepared the best tortellini, pasta home made with roquette honey parmisan and goat cheese) and Sailesh at guest relations. They made my trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Dubai

Beautiful island... nice hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014
We stayed here with our 2 children (4 and 6) for 4 nights. The room was great... heaps of space and kids were happy to share the sofa bed. We went all inclusive and it was great. Mostly buffet selections but the food was great... kids could order from the kids menu from any restaurant. Beach was nice.... a bit hard on the feet from the coral. Pool was lovely... kids enjoyed kids club. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful.... occassionally we dealt with an unhelpful staff member but the majority of them were lovely. The resort shops were unsurprisingly VERY overpriced, ie 800 MRU for a bottle of sun screen (approx $27 US or 19euro). So dont forget to pack essential items. The only disappointment was that there was no cash facility at the hotel. We arrived with a small amount of MRU (enough for taxi to/from the airport). There was no ATM at the resort. We wanted to do some of the chargeable water sports offerred on the beach however because they were offerred by an outside company we couldnt charge to the room (even though these companies are on the le meridien property and the staff wear a le meridien badge). We would have had to catch a taxi into port louis to get cash!!! Our flight wasnt until 6pm and we had to vacate the room by midday however the spa has changing rooms with great shower facilities so we were able to spend the afternoon by the pool and still shower before our flight. Overall, our stay was lovely and i would recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jan from Prague

Perfect location by the sea, with huge watersport

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Watersport facility, A la cart restaurant
Cons: Rooms condition, but they are remodelling rigth now the rooms.
We were pleasantly surprised by hotel service and amenities. The staff is very friendly - We greatly appreciate dinner in a la cart restaurant La Flaya and in Shell. Watersport team was very helpful. We went to snorkelling trip and used sailboat almost every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J and S Quessy from Australia

Nice resort

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful time and would recommend everyone to stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chrissie from London

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The location, the room size, staff and of course the food
Cons: The bathroom walls were in need of painting and could be a little updated
Location: Great location, definitely visit Grande Baie, Cap Malheureux, the Botannical gardens near Triolet and take the boat trip to Ile Benetier with a bbq
The Meridien hotel is very well situated on a lovely long strip of beach protected by the reef. Food was wonderful, and the buffets were beautifully presented and staff were always smiling and helpful. The beach staff were also very nice - offering waterskiing, snorkelling and glass bottom boat trips and kayaks/pedalos. Be careful during the day as the speedboats do not have spotters, so swim carefully!!! We rented a car for the holiday, which meant we could visit local sights, towns which was a huge plus and meant we saw a lot of the island. Otherwise you are obliged to take their taxis. The rooms were a great size and very comfortable, if not a little bit tired in places. Otherwise no complaints - a great holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Ocean View and awesome resort..loved it!

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Beautiful view from our room
Cons: service of staffs
Location: Nice location and quite happening for couples as well as family
Superb resort with an awesome view from every room of this resort (ocean view). This resort has good large pools and is quite happening for family as well as couples. I loved the room with the ocean view and was worth spending amount and my vacation. Different sit outs with different cuisine was nice, food quality and taste could have been a little better though! This big property has one great thing as every part of this resort has an exceptional beauty...Only thing that disappoints the most is the staff service, they are quite unattentive and are a little lethargic to answer your queries and issues. Property is great and worth visiting if you are fun freak and love to have great vacation. I would definitely visit it again only because of the beautiful view and awesome location!!!
3 out of 5
by Ale from Mexico

Ok Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: All inclusive package, the spa, the free activities.
Cons: Service, facilities, buy new towels and bathrobes! I could go on and on forever with this hotel.
Location: The country itself is very chaotic. People drive crazy, all cities and towns are underdeveloped. Dirty. We drove to the south, flic en flac was good.
We stayed at the Nirvana area, the common areas as the pool, and restaurant are in very good shape. But when it comes to the rooms, it is very disappointing, the wallpaper on the hallway is coming off. The furniture is very old as well as the curtains. The bathrobes are the old ones from a different hotel. Pool towels are old and smell funny. I was very surprised that this is a Meridien, Starwood standard's are too high for this hotel. If you think of it as just a 4 star hotel, then it is ok. But don't expect Starwood service or facilities. Spa is really good, a bit expensive. The hotel offers a lot of free activities which are good and the all inclusive package was the best option, food is good, service not so much. Breakfast starts at 7am, one day they were not ready at 7:40am. The Nirvana area is supposed to be exclusive but they have a better variety of food at 180 restaurant. We were having dinner at 180 restaurant and service was awful, they were so focused on honey mooners, they didn't pay attention to anyone else. A waiter even put the honey mooners' dirty plate on our table while attending them!! There was a cockroach next to the table, I didn't see it, my husband told me after we were back in the room no to ruin our dinner. The beach is not sooo great, there are lots of dead coral on the beach saddly. And lots of rocks, If you are looking for paradise then go to Seychelles or Maldives. We come from Mexico and our beaches are much better, no need to go so far.
3 out of 5
by Morne from Canada

3 star quality and overpriced

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: Lots of activities
Cons: The rooms and lack of staff
Location: Locations was good
I found this place to be a bit run down and short of staff. The rooms were ok but did not live up to the pictures on the website at all. I travel quite a bit and I feel that overall this all inclusive package was overpriced. I have spent a lot of money on a holiday that was 3 star quality. The high speed internet as advised is also a myth and made manageing my business on the holiday a nightmare. I am not sure re the quality of the other resorts in Mauritius but I would not recommend this to any of my friends .