Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA

Historic Hotel large room- deep clawfoot tub

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: most everything, used their phone for local calls, no drop calls on cell,
Cons: availability of car or taxi service
Location: great shopping , good eats, sevices near by.....easy waking to most every thing in town and 4 miles or less to port with really great crafts & lodging
Was very happy with every thing. historic hotel with wonderful deep claw-foot tub = luxurious bathing... famous chef in kitchen... been to many restaurants in and out of town. ate in 3 meals in two days on site food at all price points did not choose expensive items yet delighted with items will go back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Needed a pet friendly inn

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: We did sleep well in the bed, comfortable
Location: Not much to do within walking distance
Very disappointed in our room and location. Not much to do in center of Kennebunk... but Kennebunkport just a 10 minutes ride away wit nice shops and eats. Our rom was et friendly, which I guess means 'run down' room. Floors were slanted, toilet not stable on the floor, old old plumbing. Room was small and I did not feel safe, as they leave the back door unlocked 24/7 and the only thing between us and a crime was an old fashioned door lock! Oh, and public skating rink with loud music 2 feet away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PhilipC from CT

"The Ice Man returns"

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived to check in prior to going back to spend the night but when we arrived back after 11:00 that evening the room felt uncomfortably cold ( the outside temperature was in the 20's). We try to turn on the radiator and after about a half hour Phil was finally able to turn the stuck knob. The heat never warmed the room until the next morning. I slept in flannel pj's, socks and a sweater---- not the romantic ambiance we had experienced staying there in the past. The "faux" down comforter was lacking any filling, so it was basically sleeping between three sheets!! There were no extra blankets in the room. Phil initially turn on the hot water in the tub to generate some heat. It took over 15 minutes for any hot water to be generated! When checking out the next morning, we related our frustration of the night before and the receptionist simply said "I'll tell them" ------ end of conversation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VIntage Inn with convenient in town location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
A nice enough place. We had a "pet friendly" suite that consisted of 2 relatively cramped, typically Inn-noisy rooms with not a particularly comfortable place to sit in either -- which you might expect with a so-called suite. The 2 flat screen TVs the host bragged about seemed unnecessarily small, and not much larger than a computer monitor. The bar, restaurant and lobby had a nice, comfortably vintage feel to them. That was probably the best aspect of the Inn - at least given the room we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England

Quirky and old

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Bar meals to complement the cordon bleu
Location: See above
The Kennebunk Inn is one of the places you stay if you don't like cloned motels. It was built in 1779 and has been retrofitted, so there are oddities - like the air conditioning piped out through a low and narrow window in our room. Ask when you book for a room with a full window. There are two flights of stairs and no lifts, so bear that in mind. And it can sometimes take 15 minutes for the shower to get hot. But you're not in any hurry, are you? We loved it. It smells of beeswax and furniture polish, with wooden floors and rambling corridors. It looks like a travel brochure illustration, white and clapboard, with a verandah with rocking chairs to watch the world go by. The food is high class, but pricy. Disappointingly, Kennebunk doesn't seem to have a diner where you can get a traditional heart attack breakfast, although there is a cafe next door with 10% discount for Inn guests. Get some muffins and bagels and enjoy them with free OJ and coffee in the morning room. Then get out into the countryside, particularly the beautiful wild beach. The much recommended Kennebunkport is actually a bit "Kiss-Me-Quick" (English for Boardwalk-fairground style) for our taste, but Kennebunk itself is actually a nice small town. You can imagine a production of Our Town here using the locals as cast. An Inn with history and soul.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from California

Comfortable Historic Inn.

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Nice historic pet friendly hotel. Good location to shopping and tourist attractions. Unfortunately the highly rated hotel restaurant was not open the time we were staying there. Our room was in the back of the hotel convenient to parking and we didnt need to enter/exit through the main lobby. Nice big comfortable bed, huge closet, fun bathtub. I would recommend staying at the inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Helen from Dover

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
A real traditional hotel. Rooms a good size and quiet, despite being right on the road. Located in the town centre with ample parking. Onsite restaurant and offers a discount at the nearby cafe. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stephen from Mass.

Not what we expected

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
When we booked our room, we were not told their restaurant is not open Sun & Mon. We were told days later there was plenty of restaurants close there isn't. Also told there were plenty of taxi's, there is but in other towns. So it cost $25 to get to Dock Square one way, not including tip. The Inn needs updates and pictures on the wall, there was none in our room. Maybe if the restaurant and bar was open, or it was summer it would have been better. Disappointed! Not terrible, but we will not be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Fabulous spot!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet and cute
Cons: Nothing
Such a quant little spot! Very peaceful! Very close to kennebunkport for beautiful scenary drive