Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VIntage Inn with convenient in town location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
A nice enough place. We had a "pet friendly" suite that consisted of 2 relatively cramped, typically Inn-noisy rooms with not a particularly comfortable place to sit in either -- which you might expect with a so-called suite. The 2 flat screen TVs the host bragged about seemed unnecessarily small, and not much larger than a computer monitor. The bar, restaurant and lobby had a nice, comfortably vintage feel to them. That was probably the best aspect of the Inn - at least given the room we had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Quirky and old

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Bar meals to complement the cordon bleu
Location: See above
The Kennebunk Inn is one of the places you stay if you don't like cloned motels. It was built in 1779 and has been retrofitted, so there are oddities - like the air conditioning piped out through a low and narrow window in our room. Ask when you book for a room with a full window. There are two flights of stairs and no lifts, so bear that in mind. And it can sometimes take 15 minutes for the shower to get hot. But you're not in any hurry, are you? We loved it. It smells of beeswax and furniture polish, with wooden floors and rambling corridors. It looks like a travel brochure illustration, white and clapboard, with a verandah with rocking chairs to watch the world go by. The food is high class, but pricy. Disappointingly, Kennebunk doesn't seem to have a diner where you can get a traditional heart attack breakfast, although there is a cafe next door with 10% discount for Inn guests. Get some muffins and bagels and enjoy them with free OJ and coffee in the morning room. Then get out into the countryside, particularly the beautiful wild beach. The much recommended Kennebunkport is actually a bit "Kiss-Me-Quick" (English for Boardwalk-fairground style) for our taste, but Kennebunk itself is actually a nice small town. You can imagine a production of Our Town here using the locals as cast. An Inn with history and soul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston ma

Fabulous spot!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet and cute
Cons: Nothing
Such a quant little spot! Very peaceful! Very close to kennebunkport for beautiful scenary drive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Beautiful Inn built in 1799.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We had a wonderful time. The bar, restaurant and Inn were excellent. They were so good to us on a holiday weekend. It made for the perfect escape for the weekend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amesbury, MA

Great restaurant; needed room change.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
We had to change our room after the first night due to terribly loud noises from the street below and the creeky wood floors (every time someone took a step; opened a door I was awoken). The staff readily helped us with room change however, there was no assistance with baggage upon check in/out or room change. The restaurant was very good!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlton,ma.

Very OLD Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Not a Thing
Cons: tear down ,build new nothing worth saving ..
Location: the only thing good about it wasthe location
Hotel is Very old ,with your door closed people passing down hall can see into rooms .the walls are paper thin ,need I say more !
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Historic place to eat, rooms tired!

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Interesting 200 year old inn, rooms a bit tired, convenient for the friendly port of Kennebunkport. Stayed mid September which is close to end of season so not much open (esp Sunday night). Free wifi, coverage not good in our room. Restaurant looked great to eat in but closed on Sunday we were there. Shame also because of new building work next door which started at 7am!! Could have been warned....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New haven county, Ct

Small town charm

Posted Sep 12, 2014
I have read many negative reviews on this Inn. I found that it had a small town charm to it. An Inn that built in 1800s. Yes the wallpaper was outdated, the bathroom was small - but it was expected. Staff was friendly & I would definitely stay there again. Oh, no worries about the Inn being haunted, was not much activity while we were there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as website shows

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It was downtown Kennebunk.
We like old. We like antiques. This was run down old. Would not recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com