Ratings based on 1,401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Noisy...overpriced...uncomfortable...doesn't honour AAA rate on weekend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Outside construction

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Was close to our activities.
Cons: eliminated having so many flights of stairs Poor constructionThis was fine
Location: This was fine
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' we are in our late 70's and early 89;s, In order to get to the office to register we had to go down in a flight of stairs about 10-12 steps and then had to go back up them to get our luggage for our room which was on the 3rd floor which envoled going up stairs again.Wein our late 70-sToo many flights of stairs. I think they could accmodated older people on first floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Good value for $

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable beds, fine for an overnight stay
Cons: Breakfast understaffed and insufficient supplies on hand
All went well, room was in good condition, a little noise from young children but this is expected, parking was tight because it was sold out
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Ok but expected more for the money

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: It is badly in need of updating. Nicer towels, more extras like better shampoo, soap, etc. Really needs an elevator!
Location: Although it's on the edge of the city, it's fairly easy access to Canal Park via the interstate.
This hotel was clean enough and the staff was very helpful and friendly but I was disappointed that the room was so basic. The towels were skimpy, you only received two little bars of soap and one tiny bottle of shampoo. There also was no elevator which made carrying luggage very difficult up the stairs. All in all the hotel just is badly in need of updating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The beds were hard. I paid more at check out than I reserved it for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Not one I would recommend

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We are a family of six, they didn't put our rooms by each other. The second night the hotel had us switch rooms, long story. Very frustrating experience. Beds were horrible - caved in the middle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cottage Grove, MN

Not happy...

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We stayed for just one night. You can hear everything through the walls of this hotel. We were up most of the night listening to people walking around above us. Our queen sized bed was caving in in the center and the pillows were paper thin. Walking around barefoot in the room we would find a sticky substance on the bottom of our feet. Went to the pool and it was very crowded and there wasn't a pool towel to be found so we were not able to use this amenity even though we had two small children. I've stayed here a few times in the past and was extremely disappointed with my recent stay and will not be going back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Not the Taj Mahal but OK

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean room.
Cons: Parking! Breakfast (Yogurt please!) Handicap access (No elevators!)
Location: Perfect location away from busy Canal Park and Lake Walk, but easy, quick drive to attractions.
Wonderfully friendly staff (desk clerk and maids), clean room, nothing fancy, fairly quiet, but parking-- YIKES! Easy access to Canal Park and Lake Walk (where there is great, non-expensive parking). Budget-friendly (more $$$$$ to spend on shopping!)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wi

Worst hotel I EVER stayed at!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: You should have friendly staff, cleaner rooms, noise control, better breakfast, and more closet/drawer space.
Our room was right next to pool area so it was very loud and everyone slammed the gate upon entering & exiting the pool; when we went to the front desk they did not care and simply said "Well, the pool closes at 10." It was apparent they were not going to do anything about it so my nephew was constantly wrapping towels around the gate to minimize the constant banging but they kept falling off. The pool opens at 8am so no need for an alarm clock because every morning we woke up at 8am sharp to "BANG, BANG, BANG!" I was astonished at all of the screaming children running in the halls with NO parental supervision. There were 4 people in my group ( 2 adults & 2 teenagers) and we chose not to have the cleaning service in our room daily and it was difficult to get enough clean towels, apparently there is a limit of 1 towel per person per day...are you kidding! They advertise to have this wonderful continental breakfast, what a joke...their breakfast is waffles which you make yourself if you can handle standing in line for 20 minutes to get to the griddle, hard bagels, mini muffins, cold cereal, juice and coffee. The only cups available are about 6 ounces so expect to make several trips for coffee as there was never anywhere to sit in the breakfast area. The staff was rude and acted as if you were putting them out even if you merely had a question. Worst hotel stay of my life! Pay extra to stay anywhere but here! I could go on but unfortunately my space here is limited.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay Canada

Cheap, close to everything.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Room clean, not fancy but more than adequate.
Cons: Get elevator. Improve breakfast.
Location: Close to shopping, Wade Stadium, BlackBear, on I-35
No elevator, down 2flights of stairs to lobby, up 2 flights around corner down hall to room, not good for someone with bad back, bad knees and luggage. Room fine, but pine (look like home hewn) chairs, hard to sit on but look pretty. Breakfast not worth getting dressed for, go somewhere else, it was all sugar processed food, no toast, no eggs, no meat, out of milk, had some skim, but only small pitcher, very disappointing. Parking lot scary, sign says must have 4 wheel drive to park there in winter, good thing our stay was summer. Was told when checking out that there was a 2.10/day charge for safe, didn't use, so had removed from bill. HOWEVER, would stay again because of price and room.