Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and centrally located.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Proximity to concert venue
Cons: Free parking would be nice even if you bury it in the room cost. Hate $168 rooms and paying for parking,at least let me feel like something was free
Location: Excellent location
Nothing special, lots of food nearby. I am not too demanding a guest and aside from check in and out had no interaction with the staff. Short of the room did not use anything at the hotel. Was there for a concert at Lincoln Center .2 miles away. Was a birthday gift - chose this hotel for proximity, nothing else. Hotel still had the same address it had when I booked it - and my reservation was found - so I was happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mere from NC Coast

Girls getaway

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanliness
Cons: Refrigerators in the room
Great location! It was perfect for getting around downtown. Our only complaint was no refrigerator in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kel from Raleigh NC

Best of three for Downtown Raleigh.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Clean and well equipped. Fair pricing.
Cons: The parking is tight, but that is always the case in urban areas.
Location: Capital Building, Museums, restuarants, bars, outdoor music theater. Downtown Raleigh is one of the hottest places to visit in the Southeast US.
Downtown Raleigh has grown faster than the hotel industry can keep up. There are basically three hotels in Downtown that I would even consider, Marriot City Centre, H-Inn Glenwood South and Sheraton Downtown. I have stayed at all three multiple times and though they are all very nice, Marriott City Centre edges a win over the other two hotels. Pricing is comparable. The Marriott has a great gym overlooking the City's Memorial Auditorium. The gym is very well equiped and large enough for 10 or more people to work out. The bar and restaurant is top class. The lobby is large, open and very refreshing. A Starbucks and small service store are located in the lobby. There are also several large TVs that have games or the NEWS on them, and the furnishing is very nice. The location is perfect for everything downtown and if you don't won't to walk, the free "R Line" will pick up next to the hotel. There are dozens of bars, restaurants, night clubs, etc within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathy from ohio

close to festival

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: location, overall experience
Cons: microwave and refrigerator in the rooms.
We stayed at the hotel for the St. Patrick's Day parade/festivities. Easy walking distance for other activities/restaurants in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathryn from Boston

Nice hotel close to the Raleigh Convention Center

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Convenience to the Convention Center and easy to walk safely to downtown restaurants.
Cons: Did not get the double-bed we requested so my son had to sleep in a chair next to the bed.
Location: Lego Kids Fest at the Convention Center
I liked the convenience of this hotel as the central focus of our trip. Being out of town from Boston, and not having a car, the hotel served as our main base. It has easy covered access via underground tunnel to the Convention Center so we could avoid the cold temperatures or walk back easily above ground and cross the street back to the hotel when it got warmer. We were in a great location to easily walk in a safe area downtown to local restaurants. We also made use of the lobby and bar areas for family meetups and social visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

so convenient to the convention center!!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Cons: Only complaint was room service was a little slow. I do however understand the hotel was booked.
I was very clean, staff was amazing and so helpful. Food was good.
3 out of 5
by Melissa from Southport, NC

Over-priced with hidden fees

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The central location in Raleigh's City Center. Great spot.
Cons: Some sort of complimentary breakfast, at least some muffins and fruit. Also free wifi- this seems so obvious.
Location: Across the street are two great show venues, the DEPCA Memorial Auditorium and Lincoln Theater. Also lots of nearby restaurants and bars.
The pictures online were misleading; I thought the room included a guest room, or at least a pull out sofa but it was quite small with little by way of seating. Also when I called the front desk for the wifi password I was careful to ask if it was free to the guests- he incorrectly assured me it was and I received a "surprise bill" at the end. The breakfast is an additional $16 per guest, and at that rate I would expect fois gras and Bollinger. Needless to say I passed on that expense. The fitness room was lackluster, as was the lobby. The bar closes at midnight, which seems ridiculous. The only thing I can argue on this Marriott's behalf is that you cannot beat the location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over rated and pricey

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: Check-in fast, helpful, informative. five stars
Cons: Housekeeping! Lacked cream & sugar with coffee bar. Bathroom lacked washcloths.
Location: Excellent location .... across the street from concert, near State Capitol.
Arrived at hotel to attend a concert .... rapid and very helpful check-in, parking $12 not part of hotel, room average at best, lacked fully-stocked coffee bar, bathroom not fully prepared, . Would have been better off at a moderately priced motel further away that had breakfast and parking included!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joe Stanley from Callaway, VA

Incongruous Room and Service

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked a "deluxe king room." The hotel tried to put me in a double and persisted in getting a king. The room was hardly 300 square feet. The linens were ripped, and the side table was so rickety, I couldn't even set a drink on it. It was a hi day weekend but I was nonetheless disappointed for the premium rate I paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com