Ratings based on 382 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing time at Ocean Coral

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: People who work there, pools, menus, location.
Cons: A lot of seaweeds on the beach, they can clean it better to improve beach experience
Location: Great location, 15-20 min to airport. Great things to do in the area, especially Chichen Itza
Extremely friendly workers, nice swimming pools, variety of foods, on the beach with plenty of entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great view. Need to spray rooms for bugs

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Nice front desk customer service. Food is good. Love that this hotel has lots of pools. The lobby is nicely decorated. Outdoor furniture was comfortable especially for sitting near the bar at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Dungeon

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Our room and the food were terrible. We nicknamed our room the dungeon. It smelled and now does all of our bags and clothes, like mildew. We had to dump our dehumidifier every 5 hours to avoid a really loud alarm going off. We were told we would get a different room but never did. The food was really bad, even in the restaurants. Spend the extra money and go to a nicer resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent All-inclusive

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: quiet, not over crowded, clean
Cons: service-need more waitors/bar tenders
Location: Not much to do nearby...there are some excursions but you have to travel We went snorkling with the hotel and it was ok
Overall the hotel was nice. It was clean and had that Mexican style and look It was quiet, not over crowded, which is why we chose to go to Playa instead of Cancun. The beach is not as pristine as the beaches in Cancun, there was a lot of seaweed piled up and they used a tractor that went by throughout the day to try to clean it up, which was noisy... The food at the buffets was ok, not the best, the pool closes really early..at 7pm...My biggest complaint was however, they did not reserve a King sized bed and when I told them this, they told me they could push our beds together...it took me talking to 4 different people and threatening to report them to expedia for them to give us what we reserved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City Ca

Nice right on beach.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Hotel is very nice.clean rooms ,good food, staff very friendly, good drinks ,4 nice pools,the thing I didn't like was the bathroom has no privacy when your with your family, ok if it's just you and spouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel Awesome family vacation!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Pool and beach also AC in rooms
Location: ATV, Zip line and swim excursion was fun 1/2 day
Entertainment staff was wonderful. Oscar and Denise made sure there was something for everyone. Really nice setup, pool with swim up bar and activities for over 18 crowd, separate pool for family entertainment, no swim up bar but Alba was excellent delivering drinks poolside. Only downside was lunch buffet restaurant had cloth seats and you had to be completely dry to enter restaurant. It took a long time to dry in the humidity! Must have been a great vacation if that was my big complaint. AC in room was awesome!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice family vacation spot.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Pricing appropriate for accommodations. Not a true "4 star" but pretty good.
Cons: They seem to be renovating areas, so keep it up!
Location: Took a 1 hour shuttle bus to XelHa park, swam with dolphins, scuba in amazing park all day, zip line into water, float down river in tubes, great time
Hotel is easy to get to. We reserved shuttle at Cancun airport for 2 way trip to avoid issues returning to airport at end of our stay. It was $146USD for private shuttle van for 4 people both ways. Took us directly to hotel, picked up and return to airport. No issues. Hotel staff was friendly. Checked-in right at 3pm, longer line to check-in, maybe 20 minutes to get checked-in. They could have more staff doing that. Check out Monday morning 9am was no wait at all. Quick. Hotel had activities at pools, water volleyball, dance lessons, bartending lessons. Bartenders fun and good attitudes. Decent drinks. Will make non-alcoholic drinks for kids. Also fruit smoothie bar for kids nice. 4 restaurant options. Japanese, show up 5:40pm, put name on list for 6pm, 7:30 or 9pm seating. Limited seating so get in line right around 5:30pm. Italian, same deal, put your name on list for outside seating early. Mexican restaurant, arrived right at 6pm when opening and no wait. Buffets same food daily, but for a few days you can deal. Typical variety, fruit, salad, desserts, chicken/beef/fish, enough variety. After 7pm filling up quickly. So you are better off eating earlier. Nightly music.dj at pool bar. Relaxing. Facilities clean. Called housekeeping for more towels, came quickly. Staff seemed responsive. Junior suite 1st floor faces "garden", no views, but room was ok for 2 adults and 2 teens, pull out couch and 2 queens. Bathroom large enough to share and move around. This was worth the $.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ocean City, MD, USA

Great family of 8 vacation

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: It would be nice to have a lanyard attached to the safe key. We would have liked restrooms to be closer to the pools and beach.
Location: The location is fine. We have vacationed in the Cancun/Riveria area 17 times at many hotels. This was about as good as it needs to get.
Its all good. Loved everything, especally the people. food and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

2nd visit

Posted Jul 5, 2014
This was my 2nd visit to Ocean Coral and it was better than the first time. The staff is incredibly friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

O.C.T Review

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The beach, service and our upgraded room!
Cons: Pillows, please do something about these, they were VERY uncomfortable and lumpy, also the mini fridge, luke warm drinks are not so great :(
Location: location and it's proximity to excursions were good
Had a wonderful time at OCT, upon our arrival they asked if we there celebrating anything and we told them it was our Anniversary, we were upgraded to an ocean view room in the Privilege section, the room was beautiful and the patio with the outdoor shower and Jacuzzi was a nice touch. My only complaint in regards to the rooms would be the pillows (awful) and the fact that your mini fridge never really got cold. The food overall was average for an All Inclusive, the Japanese and Mexican were our favorite. The beach was also wonderful, yes there was seaweed but being so close to the coral reef that is to be expected, water was very warm and felt great, so much so we never used any of the 4 pools on the property, we were content to stay on the beach. Drink service on the beach was excellent, our server was awesome and so nice. We took a snorkel excursion booked through the hotel and enjoyed it very much, we also went Deep Sea fishing through WOW excursions, there were three couples on the boat and we had such a good time with them we went back to the Marina where they prepared our catch along with chips, salsa, beans, homemade corn tortillas (amazing) they held our transportation over 2hrs since we wanted to eat what we had caught and we made some wonderful new friends through this experience! Overall I would recommend OCT especially for the value!