Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

September 2014

Posted Sep 16, 2014
awesome place to stay the food is excellent. the staff are really friendly and helpful. rent a car if you want to go places the taxis charge way too much and no bus service from the hotel.go see the guy on the beach if you want to do excursions way cheaper than what the hotel offers.we will definitely go back to this hotel.the beach is not as nice as in Cancun but it was still great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Cons: clean the green weed on the beach, because a tractor comes and just moves it around but does not pick it up and it keeps accumulating.
all the employees were wonderful and alway trying to keep us busy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Very clean activities all day long. Worth the trip down to sunny Cancun. The entertainment staff is top notch. Would never stay anywhere but this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasing time at Ocean Coral

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: People who work there, pools, menus, location.
Cons: A lot of seaweeds on the beach, they can clean it better to improve beach experience
Location: Great location, 15-20 min to airport. Great things to do in the area, especially Chichen Itza
Extremely friendly workers, nice swimming pools, variety of foods, on the beach with plenty of entertainment.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great view. Need to spray rooms for bugs

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Nice front desk customer service. Food is good. Love that this hotel has lots of pools. The lobby is nicely decorated. Outdoor furniture was comfortable especially for sitting near the bar at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Dungeon

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Our room and the food were terrible. We nicknamed our room the dungeon. It smelled and now does all of our bags and clothes, like mildew. We had to dump our dehumidifier every 5 hours to avoid a really loud alarm going off. We were told we would get a different room but never did. The food was really bad, even in the restaurants. Spend the extra money and go to a nicer resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent All-inclusive

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: quiet, not over crowded, clean
Cons: service-need more waitors/bar tenders
Location: Not much to do nearby...there are some excursions but you have to travel We went snorkling with the hotel and it was ok
Overall the hotel was nice. It was clean and had that Mexican style and look It was quiet, not over crowded, which is why we chose to go to Playa instead of Cancun. The beach is not as pristine as the beaches in Cancun, there was a lot of seaweed piled up and they used a tractor that went by throughout the day to try to clean it up, which was noisy... The food at the buffets was ok, not the best, the pool closes really early..at 7pm...My biggest complaint was however, they did not reserve a King sized bed and when I told them this, they told me they could push our beds together...it took me talking to 4 different people and threatening to report them to expedia for them to give us what we reserved.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Union City Ca

Nice right on beach.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Hotel is very nice.clean rooms ,good food, staff very friendly, good drinks ,4 nice pools,the thing I didn't like was the bathroom has no privacy when your with your family, ok if it's just you and spouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel Awesome family vacation!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Pool and beach also AC in rooms
Location: ATV, Zip line and swim excursion was fun 1/2 day
Entertainment staff was wonderful. Oscar and Denise made sure there was something for everyone. Really nice setup, pool with swim up bar and activities for over 18 crowd, separate pool for family entertainment, no swim up bar but Alba was excellent delivering drinks poolside. Only downside was lunch buffet restaurant had cloth seats and you had to be completely dry to enter restaurant. It took a long time to dry in the humidity! Must have been a great vacation if that was my big complaint. AC in room was awesome!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice family vacation spot.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Pricing appropriate for accommodations. Not a true "4 star" but pretty good.
Cons: They seem to be renovating areas, so keep it up!
Location: Took a 1 hour shuttle bus to XelHa park, swam with dolphins, scuba in amazing park all day, zip line into water, float down river in tubes, great time
Hotel is easy to get to. We reserved shuttle at Cancun airport for 2 way trip to avoid issues returning to airport at end of our stay. It was $146USD for private shuttle van for 4 people both ways. Took us directly to hotel, picked up and return to airport. No issues. Hotel staff was friendly. Checked-in right at 3pm, longer line to check-in, maybe 20 minutes to get checked-in. They could have more staff doing that. Check out Monday morning 9am was no wait at all. Quick. Hotel had activities at pools, water volleyball, dance lessons, bartending lessons. Bartenders fun and good attitudes. Decent drinks. Will make non-alcoholic drinks for kids. Also fruit smoothie bar for kids nice. 4 restaurant options. Japanese, show up 5:40pm, put name on list for 6pm, 7:30 or 9pm seating. Limited seating so get in line right around 5:30pm. Italian, same deal, put your name on list for outside seating early. Mexican restaurant, arrived right at 6pm when opening and no wait. Buffets same food daily, but for a few days you can deal. Typical variety, fruit, salad, desserts, chicken/beef/fish, enough variety. After 7pm filling up quickly. So you are better off eating earlier. Nightly music.dj at pool bar. Relaxing. Facilities clean. Called housekeeping for more towels, came quickly. Staff seemed responsive. Junior suite 1st floor faces "garden", no views, but room was ok for 2 adults and 2 teens, pull out couch and 2 queens. Bathroom large enough to share and move around. This was worth the $.